All Atlantic Cape library pages have a new web address. Please update any bookmarks you may have.
Culinary Arts: Career and Business Opportunities
This is a guide to information resources in the field of culinary arts.
Atlantic Cape Career Advising
To find out more about a career in culinary arts, call (800) 645-CHEF, visit www.atlantic.edu/aca or email accadmit@atlantic.edu.
More Career and Business Sources
Job search
Real-Resumes for Restaurant Food Service and Hotel Jobs by Call Number: eBook Academic Collection (EBSCOhost)ISBN: 9781885288288Publication Date: 2002-09-01
No-Nonsense Cover Letters: The Essential Guide to Creating Attention-Grabbing Cover Letters That Get Interviews & Job Offers by
In today's competitive job market, if your cover letter doesn't grab the interviewer's attention, he or she may never even glance at your resume. No-Nonsense Cover Letters gives you the powerful, practical tools to write attention-grabbing cover letters that complement your resume and get you more interviews and job offers. In this companion to No-Nonsense Resumes authors and professional resume writers Wendy Enelow and Arnie Boldt share their insights from 35+ years of combined experience to help you prepare cover letters that will get you noticed. No-Nonsense Cover Letters begins with a thorough but easy-to-understand explanation of the key elements that are vital to creating attention-grabbing letters, including: -Why writing a cover letter is all about selling yourself -How to craft targeted cover letters -When to use bullets or paragraphs -Creating E-Letters for today's E-Search environment Subsequent chapters offer tips on creating winning letters for opportunities in virtually every profession: Administration & Clerical; Accounting, Banking & Finance; Government; Health Care & Social Services; Hospitality Management & Food Service; Human Resources & Training; Law Enforcement & Legal; Manufacturing & Operations; Sales, Marketing & Customer Service; Skilled Trades; and Technology, Science & Engineering. Each chapter includes sample letters contributed by leading resume writers and career consultants worldwide.
Call Number: eBook Academic Collection (EBSCOhost)ISBN: 9781564149060Publication Date: 2006-12-01
Starting Your Own Restaurant: From Concept to Opening Night and Beyond
The Restaurant Manager's Handbook by
The multiple award-winning Restaurant Manager's Handbook is the best-selling book on running a successful food service operation. This completely revised edition of this book includes cutting-edge material that you need to run your restaurant in the modern age. This edition includes case studies from professionals that cover topics such as restaurant branding, franchising, effective layout and remodeling, cost-effective menu planning, food sourcing options, food safety and IoT technology, smart phone apps to ease scheduling and communication hassles, digital marketing, recent trends in the restaurant business, managing online feedback, and innovative ways to promote your restaurant on the web. This book is an invaluable asset to any existing restaurant owner or manager as well as anyone considering a career in restaurant management or ownership. All existing chapters have new and updated information focusing on the progress and implementation of technology. You will find many additional tips to help restaurant owners and managers learn to handle labor and operational expenses, rework menus, earn more from better bar management, and introduce up-scale wines and even local, organic menu items for profit. Anyone in the food service industry will rely on this book for their everyday operations. Dozens of chapters cover the entire process of a restaurant start-up and ongoing management in an easy-to-understand way, pointing out methods to increase your chances of success and showing how to avoid the many mistakes arising from being uninformed and inexperienced that can doom a restaurateur's start-up. You will have at your fingertips profitable menu planning, sample restaurant floor plans and diagrams, successful kitchen management, equipment layout and planning, food safety, Hazardous and Critical Control Point (HACCP) information, and successful beverage management. Learn how to set up computer systems to save time and money and get brand new IRS tip-reporting requirements, accounting and bookkeeping procedures, auditing, successful budgeting and profit planning development. You will be able to generate high profile public relations and publicity, initiate low cost internal marketing ideas, and you will finally learn how to master the use of social media to increase your outreach and sales.
Call Number: ML TX911.3 .M27 B76 2019ISBN: 9781620232637Publication Date: 2019-10-04
Restaurant Concepts, management and operations by
Takes the reader from the initial idea to the grand opening. It features comprehensive, applications-based coverage of all aspects of developing, opening, and running a restaurant. This includes topics such as staffing, legal and regulatory concerns, cost control and general financing, marketing and promotion, equipment and design, the menu, sanitation, and concept. A one-stop guide to the restaurant business, the Eighth Edition of Walker's, Restaurant Concepts, Management, and Operations continues the success of previous editions, providing, in an easy-to-read way, all of the skills and information needed to master every challenge and succeed in this highly competitive and rewarding industry. Each chapter has been revised, updated, and enhanced with numerous industry examples, sidebars, charts, tables, photographs, and menus. All of this information will help restaurant owners make the decisions necessary to build a thriving business.
Call Number: ML TX911.3 .M27 W353 2018 (on Reserve)ISBN: 9781119326106Publication Date: 2017-09-01
- NJ Small Business Development CenterSearch available by New Jersey county
- Restaurant & Catering Starter KitHelp navigating NJ rules and regulations, and getting started with a food business in NJ. From the state government.
- Quick Start GuideA quick tip sheet with contact information for government offices and resources in the state of NJ.
The Restaurant: From Concept to Operation by
Restaurant owners will continue to turn to The Restaurant because it helps them gain the skills needed to master every challenge and succeed in this highly competitive and rewarding industry. Each chapter has been revised, updated, and enhanced with numerous industry examples, sidebars, charts, tables, photographs, and menus. Greater emphasis is placed on restaurant business plans, restaurant management, and restaurant operations. The themes of sustainability and sustainable restaurant management have been added throughout. New sections have also been included on purchasing meat, cocktails, and the early history of eating out. All of this information will help restaurant owners make the decisions necessary to build a thriving business.
Call Number: eBook Collection (Ebsco)ISBN: 9780470626436Publication Date: 2010-11-02
