Holocaust and Genocide Resources: Books - eBooks - Media
Encyclopedias / Reference Books
Off Campus access username and password can be found in Blackboard on the
Institution Page. Students: look for Student Tools to Stay Connected at Atlantic Cape. Faculty: look for Key information about Libraries and Tutoring. Or you can contact the library for username and password.
Documents on the Holocaust by
These 213 documents on the theory, planning, and execution of, and reaction and resistance to, the Nazi plan to exterminate European Jews date from the 1920s through the closing days of World War II and focus on the experience of eastern Europe. nbsp; The crystallization of the principles of Nazi anti-Semitism, the policies of the Third Reich toward the Jews, the period of segregation and enclosed ghettos, and the stages through which the ‘final solution’ were implemented are some of the topics covered. Other documents shed light on Jewish public activities and the organization of the Underground and Jewish self-defense. Many of the documents of Jewish origin were not published previously. This comprehensive collection is essential for understanding the history of the Holocaust.
Call Number: D 804.19 .D63 1999ISBN: 9780803259379Publication Date: 1999-10-01
The Holocaust Encyclopedia by
The Holocaust has been the subject of countless books, works of art, and memorials. Fifty-five years after the fact the world still ponders the enormity of this disaster. The Holocaust Encyclopedia is the only comprehensive single-volume work of reference providing both a reflective overview of the subject and abundant detail concerning major events, policy decisions, cities, and individuals. Up-to-date and designed for easy access, the encyclopedia presents information on the major aspects of the Holocaust in essays by scholars from eleven countries who draw on a number of sources--including recently uncovered evidence from the former Soviet bloc--to provide in-depth studies on the political, social, religious, and moral issues of the Holocaust as well as short entries identifying events, sites, and individuals. The book also has more than 250 photographs, many of them rare, and 19 maps. The volume includes: * Raul Hilberg on concentration camps and Gypsies * Ruth Bondy, Israel Gutman, and Dina Porat on major ghettoes * Roger Greenspun on the Holocaust in cinema and television * Richard Breitman on American policy * Michael Berenbaum on theological and philosophical responses * Saul Friedländer on Nazi policy * Michael Hagemeister on the Protocols of the Elders of Zion * Michael R. Marrus on historiography * Christopher R. Browning on the Madagascar Plan * Robert S. Wistrich on Holocaust denial * James E. Young on Holocaust literature
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780300084320Publication Date: 2001-03-29
Books
The Journey Back
DS135.N6 R44 1993 (CM)
Anne Frank, Beyond the Diary
DS135.N6 F738 1995 (CM, ML)
The Holocaust
D 804.3 .M395 2008 (CM, ML)
The Holocaust Chronicle: A History of Words and Pictures
D 804.25 .H654 2000 (CM)
Children During the Holocaust
D 804.48 .H43 2011 (ML)
We Remember the Holocaust
D 804.3 .A35 1989 (CM)
Portraits of Resilience: Holocaust Survivors of South Jersey
D 804.1 .H65 2008 (CM, ML, WO)
Blood and Soil
HV 6322.7 .K54 2007 (CM, ML)
Rwanda and Genocide in the Twentieth Century
DT 450.435 .D4713 1995 (ML
Worse Than War
HV 6322.7 .G65 2009 (CM, ML, WO)
eBooks
The Holocaust
This four-volume set provides reference entries, primary documents, and personal accounts from individuals who lived through the Holocaust
► Databases and eBooks can be accessed from Off Campus through the Off Campus Proxy Server ◄
Find the user name and password in Blackboard on the Institution page.
- Students: Look under Student Tools to Stay Connected at Atlantic Cape.
- Faculty: Look under Key information about Libraries and Tutoring.
or you can email library@atlanticcape.edu for username and password.
♦ Off-campus access is limited to current students, faculty and staff of Atlantic Cape Community College ♦
Media
- Ruth WestheimerBorn to a German Jewish family in 1928, Dr Ruth’s happy childhood was shattered when Adolf Hitler came to power and Jews were reduced to subhuman status. Her parents then made the ultimate sacrifice, sending their daughter to safety on the Kindertransport to Switzerland. They would die in the Holocaust. Dr Ruth is part of the fascinating BBC history series Extraordinary Women. This episode discovers how Dr Ruth's Jewish roots and experiences continue to shape her life. This is the story of one woman’s extraordinary capacity for re-invention and survival.
- Against All Odds: Surviving the HolocaustThis cinematic film focuses on Holocaust survivor stories outside the concentration camps and the living amongst the general population. Each day was uncertain, and Jews were hunted like animals.
From Academic Video Online - The Accidental Hero: Oskar SchindlerThis documentary on Oskar Schindler, the wartime rescuer of 1200 Jews, grapples with the moral ambiguity of a flawed hero. Schindler had joined the Nazi party early on and sympathized with their expansionist views. Personally, he was a gambler, adventurer, womanizer and drinker. How does such a person become the most significant savior of Jews during the war?
From Academic Video Online<.strong>
Off Campus access username and password can be found in Blackboard on the
Institution Page. Students: look for Student Tools to Stay Connected at Atlantic Cape. Faculty: look for Key information about Libraries and Tutoring. Or you can contact the library for username and password.