Skip to Main Content

Holocaust and Genocide Resources: Special Collection

About the Collection

Holocaust and Genocide Research Collection About the Collection The mission of the Holocaust and genocide research collection is to provide resources for learning and teaching about the Holocaust and genocide in a worldwide context, in order to promote throughout the region a culture that values pluralism, respects and values diversity, and encourages critical thinking about differences in society. The collection contains books, audio-visual media, and other printed and digital materials that support learning about the topics related to the Holocaust (1933-45) and to genocide and ethnic violence throughout history and around the world. Its purpose is to support the research of students at Atlantic Cape Community College, and to enrich the teaching and learning of educators and students throughout the community by providing access to resources that deal with historical, political, social, and moral dimensions of ethnic, racial and religious violence, intolerance, and suppression of civil liberties. At the college level, the collection supports research in the disciplines of history and government, sociology, psychology, and communication, education, religion and philosophy, literature and the arts. Since 1994, the State of New Jersey has mandated teaching about the Holocaust and genocide throughout the elementary and secondary school curriculum. Material in this collection also provides support to meet this mandate. Atlantic Cape Community College is dedicated to increasing the dialogue about genocide and prejudice reduction throughout our communities. We believe that teaching of tolerance must be made a priority if New Jersey's cultural diversity is to remain one of our state's strengths. The Holocaust and genocide research collection was established in 2010 through the joint efforts of Senior Adjunct Professor Robert F. Holden and the Academic Support Services Department. Atlantic Cape Community College would also like to thank the following individuals and organizations for their generous support of the collection: Senior Adjunct Professor Robert F. Holden Dr. Paul Winkler and the NJ Commission on Holocaust Education The Sara & Sam Schoffer Holocaust Research Center Richard Stockton College of New Jersey The Richard Stockton College Library, Richard Stockton College of New Jersey The Southern Poverty Law Center The Anti-Defamation League The Harriet and Kenneth Kupferberg Holocaust Resource Center & Archives Queensborough Community College Senior Adjunct Professor Neil Brandt Photo courtesy of US Holocaust Memorial Museum Photo Archives