All Atlantic Cape library pages have a new web address. Please update any bookmarks you may have.
Sociology : Getting to know your topic
Get background info about your topic
In order to get a better understanding of your topic, try gathering some background information first before getting into more serious research like scholarly articles. Check out the books and resources on this page to help you get a good, general understanding of your paper topic.
Reference Books
The library has reference books that provide overviews and general information on a variety of topics. Below you will find a sample of our reference books.
Encyclopedia of Sociology
Winner of the 1993 Dartmouth Medal, this classic reference has been updated to reflect many changes in society and in the field of sociology in recent years. Articles covering core issues such as race, poverty, violence, economics, pregnancy and abortion have been updated and expanded, and completely new articles have been written on topics such as the Internet, privacy and epidemiology.
Call Number: HM17.E5 ReferenceISBN: 9780028648538Publication Date: 2000-11-16
Off Campus access username and password can be found in Blackboard on the
Institution Page section for Student Tools to Stay Connected at Atlantic Cape or you can Contact the library for username and password.
Encyclopedia of Sociology Research by
This book presents current research and findings in the study of sociology. Topics discussed include social capital, entrepreneurial capital and economic growth; disruption of social development in children with autism spectrum disorders; children's social interactions in cultural context; everyday theorising and the construction of knowledge; participation, pedagogy and practice in design education; community participation in formulating sustainable forest policy; increasing the economic sustainability of online communities and a comparison between theoretical and naive definitions of community.
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781613246689Publication Date: 2011-09-01
Encyclopedia of Social Theory by
The Encyclopedia of Social Theory, two-volume set, is an indispensable reference source for anyone interested in understanding the roots of contemporary social theory. It examines the global landscape of all the key theories and the theorists behind them and presents them in the context needed to understand the strengths and weaknesses of all the key areas of the discipline. These include: -Structural fundamentalism; -Marxist theory; -Critical theory; -Phenomenology; -Ethnomethodology; -Exchange theory; -Rational choice; -Feminism; -Multiculturalism; -Postmodernism. The Encyclopedia of Social Theory draws together a team of international scholars led by the Editor, George Ritzer, one of the most prolific social theorists. This is a benchmark reference tool for understanding the development, achievements and prospects of social theory. Key features and benefits include: -Over 280 entries; -A master bibliography; -A complete Reader′s Guide; -Extensive biographical coverage of the major theorists; -Extensive cross-referencing.
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780761926115Publication Date: 2004-08-19
Encyclopedia of Social Problems by
From terrorism to social inequality and from health care to environmental issues, social problems affect us all. The Encyclopedia will offer an interdisciplinary perspective into these and many other social problems that are a continuing concern in our lives, whether we confront them on a personal, local, regional, national, or global level. The goal of the Encyclopedia of Social Problems is to provide a premier reference tool for students, scholars, and professionals with a wide range of specialties. Covering all of the major theories, approaches, and contemporary issues in social problems and their interconnectedness, the Encyclopedia will also provide insight into how social conditions get defined as social problems, and the ways different people and organizations view and try to solve them. The Encyclopedia will be organized in A-to-Z format with cross-referencing of entries around a series of broad themes. Contributors will come from many disciplines, including economics, geography, political science, psychology, sociology, and womenÆs studies.
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781412941655Publication Date: 2008-05-22
Encylopedia Brittanica
Off Campus access username and password can be found in Blackboard on the
Institution Page section for Student Tools to Stay Connected at Atlantic Cape or you can Contact the library for username and password.