Sociology : Research your topic
Do your research
- You now have a topic, and gained some general knowledge of the topic. It is now time to create your research question that you will present in your paper. A concise question will help you stay focused during your research. It can also help you create a solid thesis statement. It's always a good idea to contact your teacher to discuss the assignment or your topic BEFORE doing in-depth research
Use the resources on this page to gather the research materials from databases, books and the Internet.
Evaluating sources
Some guidelines to help evaluate your research materials for accuracy and usefulness
Search the catalog
Search Atlantic Cape eBook Collections
Off Campus access username and password can be found in Blackboard on the
Institution Page. Students: look for Student Tools to Stay Connected at Atlantic Cape. Faculty: look for Key information about Libraries and Tutoring. Or you can contact the library for username and password.
Sociology Internet resources
- Google Scholar
- This specialized Google search page focuses it searching to scholarly books, articles and documents from academic publishers, professional societies and universities.
- American Sociology Association
- The web site of the American Sociology Association
- ASA on the Issues
- Sociology Commons
- Open access to full text articles in sociology
- International Sociological Association
- SocioWeb
- A guide to sociology web sites
- Social Science Research Network
- SSRN is devoted to the rapid worldwide dissemination of research and is composed of a number of specialized research networks.All materials on SSRN are the copyright of Elsevier or are reproduced with permission from other copyright owners. All rights are reserved. The materials on this web site may be retrieved and downloaded solely for personal non-commercial use.
- New York Times - Sociology
- Multicultural Newspapers
Research Databases
Scholarly articles have been written by specialists in the field of study and have been reviewed by specialists before being published. These articles may also have references used by the author which can lead you to other relevant sources.
Off Campus access username and password can be found in Blackboard on the
Institution Page. Students: look for Student Tools to Stay Connected at Atlantic Cape. Faculty: look for Key information about Libraries and Tutoring. Or you can contact the library for username and password.
- ProQuest Science Database This link opens in a new window
An applied and general science database, with many full text articles. Subjects covered include:
- Physics
- Engineering
- Astronomy
- Biology
- Earth Science
- Chemistry
- additional content from the Proquest Publicly Available Research Database with links to full text articles from open access journals
