Sociology : Find a research topic
Select an Interesting Topic
Deciding on the right topic for your sociology research project takes time.
- Scan your textbook or lecture notes to spark ideas.
- Choose a topic that truly interests you or builds upon your life experiences, for example:
- Have you witnessed bullying or harassment in the workplace?
- Has social networking changed how you relate to family and friends?
Try this website : Topics in Sociology from the American Sociological Association
Discuss your topic ideas with your teacher or an Atlantic Cape librarian before you start writing.
Get Familiar with Basic Terms and Concepts
Read about basic sociological concepts in your textbook: Sociology: A Brief Introduction, by Richard Schaefer On reserve in the library
Glossary of Sociological Terms from the American Sociological Association
The Blackwell Dictionary of Sociology by
This new edition of Allan G. Johnson's one-volume sociology dictionary includes 75 new entries, as well as an expanded biographical section, extensive revisions and updates, and a more thorough cross-referencing. Written by a sociologist who is also an accomplished writer and teacher, it is aimed primarily at students, but will also be of use to professionals looking for an introduction to core concepts outside their area of expertise. Its combination of clear prose, engaging examples, a single author's voice, and its minimal assumptions about the average reader's prior knowledge of sociology and its related fields, makes this a unique and valuable reference work.
Call Number: HM17.B62 ReferenceISBN: 9780631216803Publication Date: 2000-06-30
Off Campus access username and password can be found in Blackboard on the
Institution Page. Students: look for Student Tools to Stay Connected at Atlantic Cape. Faculty: look for Key information about Libraries and Tutoring. Or you can contact the library for username and password.
The Max Weber Dictionary by
Max Weber is one of the world's most important social scientists, but he is also one of the most notoriously difficult to understand. This revised, updated, and expanded edition of The Max Weber Dictionary reflects up-to-the-moment threads of inquiry and introduces the most recent translations and references. Additionally, the authors include new entries designed to help researchers use Weber's ideas in their own work; they illuminate how Weber himself thought theorizing should occur and how he went about constructing a theory. More than an elementary dictionary, however, this work makes a contribution to the general culture and legacy of Weber's work. In addition to entries on broad topics like religion, law, and the West, the completed German definitive edition of Weber's work (Max Weber Gesamtausgabe) necessitated a wealth of new entries and added information on topics like pragmatism and race and racism. Every entry in the dictionary delves into Weber scholarship and acts as a point of departure for discussion and research. As such, this book will be an invaluable resource to general readers, students, and scholars alike.
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780804783415Publication Date: 2016-09-07
The Cambridge Dictionary of Sociology by
Providing an authoritative and comprehensive overview of the classical and the contemporary, this volume is an indispensable guide to the vibrant and expanding field of sociology. Featuring over 600 entries, from concise definitions to discursive essays, written by leading international academics, the Dictionary offers a truly global perspective, examining both American and European traditions and approaches. Entries cover schools, theories, theorists and debates, with substantial articles on all key topics in the field. While recognising the richness of historical sociological traditions, the Dictionary also looks forward to new and evolving influences such as cultural change, genetics, globalization, information technologies, new wars and terrorism. Most entries incorporate references for further reading and a cross-referencing system enables easy access to related areas. This Dictionary is an invaluable reference work for students and academics alike and will help to define the field of sociology in years to come.
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780521832908Publication Date: 2006-08-14
