Going Green: Resources for Research on the Environment and Society: Articles
Journals-Periodicals-Magazines-Books which to choose
- Journals
- Journals refer to scholarly publications. Articles from scholarly journals have been written by specialists in the field of study and have been reviewed by specialists (known as peer reviews) before they are published. They also contain references that were used by the author that can lead you to other relevant materials. Scholarly journals are the preferred source for academic research and writing.
- Periodicals
- Periodicals are publications that are issued in a series or periodically. Examples are newspapers, magazines, and journals. A periodical is a generic term used to categorize publications issued on a recurring schedule.
- Magazines
- Magazines are publications of business organizations, or news companies. These publications contain general interest news about current events or news and developments in a specific trade or industry. Magazines can be used to gain general knowledge or background information on news and industry activities.
- Books and eBooks
- Scholarly books contain in-depth, authoritative information with extensive accounts of research, historical data and views by experts on the subject.
- Use the Table of Contents for a general idea of the topics covered.
- Books will contain a bibliography of materials used by the author that may provide a guide to additional relevant sources on the subject.
- The index will list the specific subjects, events, dates and other detailed terms related to the contents of the book. The index is also a good place to see subject terms and keywords that might be helpful to refine your search.
- In some instances, books take considerable time to write and publish and are not always the best source for a current topic.
- Scholarly books contain in-depth, authoritative information with extensive accounts of research, historical data and views by experts on the subject.
Off Campus database access
► Databases and eBooks can be accessed from Off Campus through the Off Campus Proxy Server ◄
Find the user name and password in Blackboard on the Institution page.
- Students: Look under Student Tools to Stay Connected at Atlantic Cape.
- Faculty: Look under Key information about Libraries and Tutoring.
or you can email library@atlanticcape.edu for username and password.
♦ Off-campus access is limited to current students, faculty and staff of Atlantic Cape Community College ♦
Research Databases for Green Topics
Off Campus access username and password can be found in Blackboard on the
Institution Page. Students: look for Student Tools to Stay Connected at Atlantic Cape. Faculty: look for Key information about Libraries and Tutoring. Or you can contact the library for username and password.
News Sources
- Access World News This link opens in a new window
Newspapers from the United States and around the world.
Magazines and Business/Trade Publications
- Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Large interdisciplinary database that contains articles from over 17,000 scholarly journals, trade magazines, and popular magazines.
It offers broad subject coverage, including anthropology biology chemistry, computer science, ethnic and multicultural studies, food science, general science, geography, law, mathematics, music, physics, psychology, religion, women's studies, and many more.
- Business Source Elite This link opens in a new window
This business database provides full text for over 1,000 business publications. The rich collection of titles in Business Source Elite provides information dating back to 1985. More than 10,100 substantial company profiles from Datamonitor are also included.
View Points on Controversial Issues
- Points of View Reference Center This link opens in a new window
Covers controversial issues of many descriptions. Contains many core topics, each with an overview (objective background / description), point (argument), and counterpoint (opposing argument). Links to additional full-text articles. For best results, use the Browse Topics feature.
- Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center This link opens in a new window
A full-text databases providing differing points of view on current social issues, such as affirmative action, censorship, ecology, mental health, and many more. For best results, use the Browse Topics feature. All content requires critical thinking.
Environmental Articles
- GreenFILE This link opens in a new window
Greenfile covers the field of environmental studies, and contains many government reports and resources on environmental policy; some full text, some indexing and abstracting.
- SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Covers scholarly publications in sociology, social work, and related fields. Contains 2.3 million articles and other materials (64% in full text) with deep coverage from 1960 and some back to 1882.
Credits
This guide was developed by Leslie Murtha, Atlantic Cape Community College Libraries.
Published 2015.