Western Civilization II: Find Articles
Research Databases for History
Off Campus access username and password can be found in Blackboard on the
Institution Page. Students: look for Student Tools to Stay Connected at Atlantic Cape. Faculty: look for Key information about Libraries and Tutoring. Or you can contact the library for username and password.
Scholarly Articles
- Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Large interdisciplinary database that contains articles from over 17,000 scholarly journals, trade magazines, and popular magazines.
It offers broad subject coverage, including anthropology biology chemistry, computer science, ethnic and multicultural studies, food science, general science, geography, law, mathematics, music, physics, psychology, religion, women's studies, and many more.
- Making of America This link opens in a new window
Civil War and Reconstruction-era magazines from the collections of the University of Michigan. Free access.
- Military and Government Collection This link opens in a new window
Includes periodicals, academic journals, full-text books and pamphlets on military topics. Provides full text for nearly 300 periodicals and 245 pamphlets and indexes and abstracts nearly 400 titles. Some government publications are included in this database.
- European Views of the Americas: 1493 to 1750 This link opens in a new window
This bibliographic database is a valuable index of European works that relate to the Americas. This resource was created from “European Americana: A Chronological Guide to Works Printed In Europe Relating to The Americas, 1493-1750.” Contains more than 32,000 entries and is a comprehensive guide to printed records about the Americas written in Europe before 1750.
Consult a librarian before purchasing articles! - Arts and Humanities Commons This link opens in a new window
A free collection of research on arts and humanities. Includes peer-reviewed journal articles, book chapters, dissertations, working papers, conference proceedings, and other original scholarly work.
- Social and Behavioral Sciences Commons This link opens in a new window
A free collection of research on social and behavioral sciences. .Many articles, book chapters, and other materials can be downloaded free of charge.
- Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
A free multidisciplinary index to scholarly articles.
Consult a librarian before purchasing articles!
News Sources
- New York Times This link opens in a new windowA highly respected newspaper covering national, international, and regional news. The archive goes back to the 1850s.
- Wall Street Journal This link opens in a new window
The primary business-oriented newspaper in the United States. Published 6 days a week. Editorial policies tend toward the conservative. Opinion pieces on science topics are not always aligned with the established consensus of the scientific community. Through the library, students, faculty and staff can set up a personal account to access this resource. Set up your account
- Press of Atlantic City This link opens in a new window
Our local newspaper. Full text coverage 1988+; images available 2018+
- Philadelphia Inquirer This link opens in a new window
News from Philadelphia and the PA-NJ-DE tri-state area.
- Access World News This link opens in a new window
Newspapers from the United States and around the world.
Viewpoints and Controversies
(recent history only)
- Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center This link opens in a new window
A full-text databases providing differing points of view on current social issues, such as affirmative action, censorship, ecology, mental health, and many more. For best results, use the Browse Topics feature. All content requires critical thinking.
- Points of View Reference Center This link opens in a new window
Covers controversial issues of many descriptions. Contains many core topics, each with an overview (objective background / description), point (argument), and counterpoint (opposing argument). Links to additional full-text articles. For best results, use the Browse Topics feature.
Stanford University's HighWire Press
Visit Stanford's extensive online library of journal articles. Please note that many of the articles from HighWire may not be available in full text and most are not free. Try an Atlantic Cape Library database to find free, full text articles.