World Literature: Books - eBooks
Where are literature books
Call numbers tell you where a book is shelved.
The following call number ranges should help you locate world literature books more easily.
PE English Language
PN Literature (General)
PQ French literature - Italian literature - Spanish literature - Portuguese literature
PR English Literature
PS American Literature
PT German Literature
PZ Children's Literature
Search the catalog
Interlibrary Loan
Did you find an article not available in full text? How about a book not owned by Atlantic Cape or the Atlantic County Library System.
All is not lost. The library may be able to get your article or book from another library. The Interlibrary loan service is free to all current students, faculty and staff of Atlantic Cape.
- Don't wait too long to make your request. Books may take 7-10 days to arrive. Articles may take up to 7 days.
Please be sure to provide as complete a citation as possible, so the lending library can quickly locate your request.
Interlibrary Loan for Articles
- Loan periods are set by the lending library.
Reference Books
Reference books offer general information on a variety of topics. The following is a list of some of our reference books related to world literature topics.
Off Campus access username and password can be found in Blackboard on the
Institution Page. Students: look for Student Tools to Stay Connected at Atlantic Cape. Faculty: look for Key information about Libraries and Tutoring. Or you can contact the library for username and password.
- Gale Virtual Reference Library (GVRL) This link opens in a new window
Standard, academic reference sources on a variety of topics. Some sources in this collection are better for historic than for current information.
- Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Credo Reference provides access to a large number of encyclopedias, dictionaries, thesauri and other reference books. Subjects covered include art, biography, history, literature, music, religion, and science and technology. Includes a spider map of related subjects
- LiteratureEntry from the Encyclopedia Britannica
- Literary CriticismEntry from the Encyclopedia Britannica
African Literatures and Beyond by
This tribute collection reflects the wide range and diversity of James Gibbs's academic interests. The focus is on Africa, but comparative studies of other literatures also receive attention. Fiction, drama, and poetry by writers from Nigeria, Ghana, Sierra Leone, Eritrea, Malawi, Zimbabwe, South Africa, Ireland, England, Germany, India, and the Caribbean are surveyed alongside significant missionaries, scientists, performers, and scholars. The writers discussed include Wole Soyinka, Chinua Achebe, Kobina Sekyi, Raphael Armattoe, J.E. Casely Hayford, Michael Dei-Anang, Kofi Awoonor, Ayi Kwei Armah, John Kolosa Kargbo, Dele Charley, Ngugi wa Thiong'o, Okot p'Bitek, Jonathan Sajiwandani, Samuel E. Krune Mqhayi, A.S. Mopeli-Paulus, Kelwyn Sole, Anna Seghers, Raja Rao, and Arundhati Roy. Other essays treat the black presence in Ireland, anonymous rap artists in Chicago, the Jamaican missionary Joseph Jackson Fuller in the Cameroons, the African-American actor Ira Aldridge in Sweden, the Swedish naturalist Anders Sparrman in South Africa, and the literary scholar and editor Eldred Durosimi Jones in Sierra Leone. Interviews with the Afro-German Africanist Theodor Wonja Michael and the Irish-Nigerian dramatist Gabriel Gbadamosi are also included. Also offered are poems by Jack Mapanje and Kofi Anyidoho, short stories by Charles R. Larson and Robert Fraser, plays by Femi Osofisan and Martin Banham, and an account of a dramatic reading of a script written and co-performed by James Gibbs.Contributors: Anne Adams, Sola Adeyemi, Kofi Anyidoho, Awo Mana Asiedu, Martin Banham, Eckhard Breitinger, Gordon Collier, James Currey, Geoffrey V. Davis, Chris Dunton, Robert Fraser, Raoul J. Granqvist, Gareth Griffiths, C.L. Innes, Charles R. Larson, Bernth Lindfors, Leif Lorentzon, Jack Mapanje, Christine Matzke, Mpalive-Hangson Msiska, Femi Osofisan, Eustace Palmer, Jane Plastow, Lynn Taylor, and Pia Thielmann.Geoffrey V. Davis co-edits the series Cross/Cultures and the African studies journal Matatu. Recent publications include Narrating Nomadism and African Literatures: Post¬colonial Literatures in English: Sources and Resources (both co-ed. 2013). Bernth Lindfors, founding editor of the journal Research in African Literatures, is writing a bio¬graphy of Ira Aldridge (two volumes have so far appeared: The Early Years, 1807-1833 and The Vagabond Years, 1833-1852, both 2011).
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9789042037380Publication Date: 2013-01-01
Black American Literature and Humanism by
For Black writers, what is tradition? What does it mean to them that Western humanism has excluded Black culture? Seven noted Black writers and critics take up these and other questions in this collection of original essays, attempting to redefine humanism from a Black perspective, to free it from ethnocentrism, and to enlarge its cultural base. Contributors: Richard K. Barksdale, Alice Childress, Chester J. Fontenot, Michael S. Harper, Trudier Harris, George E. Kent, R. Baxter Miller
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780813114361Publication Date: 1981-12-30
The Arden Dictionary of Shakespeare Quotations by
Who said " Neither a lender nor a borrower be"? Who are the star-crossed lovers? Which Shakespearean lady protests "too much"? If you have ever been stuck trying to identify a Shakespearean quote then this is the book for you! With over 3,000 quotes from single lines to quite long extracts, organized by topic and by play, this is an essential book for anyone with an interest in Shakespeare. The key word index makes it easy to use and it also includes a glossary of unfamiliar terms and a brief biography of Shakespeare. The Dictionary is easy to dip into by word or theme (love, greed, disease, war etc) or by play, and the indexes allow readers to track down a half-remembered quote easily. An ideal companion for all students, teachers or performers of Shakespeare, this Dictionary is a useful and entertaining reference work.
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781408125076Publication Date: 2010-06-22
Key Terms in Literary Theory by
Students of literature, film and cultural studies need to understand key theoretical terms and concepts but often find it hard to get to grips with exactly what they mean. This book provides precise definitions of terms and concepts in literary theory, along with explanations of the major movements and figures in literary and cultural theory and an extensive bibliography. It is designed for the student who needs to know what a particular term means, how it is used, and where it comes from, and¿enables them to apply the terms and concepts to their own investigations. The three part structure provides clear definitions of key terms and ideas, introductions to major figures including biographical and historical overviews and an annotated guide to important works. This invaluable resource provides readers with an easily accessible and comprehensive reference¿guide to¿literary and cultural theory.
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780826442673Publication Date: 2012-05-31
Sisters of Tomorrow by
For nearly half a century, feminist scholars, writers, and fans have successfully challenged the notion that science fiction is all about "boys and their toys," pointing to authors such as Mary Shelley, Clare Winger Harris, and Judith Merril as proof that women have always been part of the genre. Continuing this tradition, Sisters of Tomorrow: The First Women of Science Fiction offers readers a comprehensive selection of works by genre luminaries, including author C. L. Moore, artist Margaret Brundage, and others who were well known in their day, including poet Julia Boynton Green, science journalist L. Taylor Hansen, and editor Mary Gnaedinger. Providing insightful commentary and context, this anthology documents how women in the early twentieth century contributed to the pulp-magazine community and showcases the content they produced, including short stories, editorial work, illustrations, poetry, and science journalism. Yaszek and Sharp's critical annotation and author biographies link women's work in the early science fiction community to larger patterns of feminine literary and cultural production in turn-of-the-twentieth-century America. In a concluding essay, the award-winning author Kathleen Ann Goonan considers such work in relation to the history of women in science and engineering and to the contemporary science fiction community itself.
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780819576231Publication Date: 2016-06-07
Some of our print books
The Oxford Companion to American Literature by
For more than half a century, James D. Hart's The Oxford Companion to American Literature has been an unparalleled guide to America's literary culture, providing one of the finest resources to this country's rich history of great writers. Now this acclaimed work has been completely revised andupdated to reflect current developments in the world of American letters.For the sixth edition, editors James D. Hart and Phillip Leininger have updated the Companion in light of what has happened in American literature since 1982. To this end, they have revised the entries on such established authors as Saul Bellow, Norman Mailer, and Joyce Carol Oates, and they haveadded more than 180 new entries on novelists (T. Coraghessan Boyle, Tim O'Brien, Louise Erdrich, Don De Lillo), poets (Rita Dove, Weldon Kees), playwrights (Wendy Wasserstein, August Wilson), popular writers (Stephen King, Louis L'Amour), historians (James M. McPherson, David Herbert Donald, WilliamManchester), naturalists (Aldo Leopold, Edward Abbey), and literary critics (Camille Paglia, Richard Ellmann). In addition, the Companion boasts more women's, African-American, and ethnic voices, with new entries on such luminaries as Charlotte Perkins Gilman, M.F.K. Fisher, William Least Heat-Moon,Ursula Le Guin, and Oscar Hijuelos, among many others.These additions represent only some of the revisions for the new edition. Of course, the basic qualities of the Companion that readers have grown to know and love over the years are as superb as ever. With over 5,000 total entries, The Oxford Companion to American Literature reflects a dynamicbalance between past and contemporary literature, surveying virtually every aspect of our national literature, from the Pulitzer Prize to pulp fiction, and from Walt Whitman to William F. Buckley, Jr. There are over 2,000 biographical profiles of important American authors (with informationregarding their styles, subjects, and major works) and influential foreign writers as well as other figures who have been important in the nation's social and cultural history. There are more than 1,100 full summaries of important American novels, stories, essays, poems (with verse form noted),plays, biographies and autobiographies, tracts, narratives, and histories. The new edition provides historical background and astute commentary on literary schools and movements, literary awards, magazines, newspapers, and a wide variety of other matters directly related to writing in America.Finally, the book is thoroughly cross-referenced and features an extensive and fully updated index of literary and social history.Ranging from Captain John Smith to John Updike, and from Anne Bradstreet to Anne Rice, the sixth edition of The Oxford Companion to American Literature is up to date, accurate, and comprehensive, a delight for both the casual browser and the serious student.
Call Number: PS 21 H3ISBN: 9780195065480Publication Date: 1995-10-12
Black Writers of America by
For courses focusing on African American Writers. These courses are offered in English Departments, Ethnic Studies Departments, and African-American Studies Departments. This comprehensive collection of Afro-American literature - from its beginnings to the 1970s - provides a generous selection of autobiographies, essays, speeches, letters, political pamphlets, histories, journals, and folk literature as well as poems, plays, and stories - all chosen for their artistic and social significance. A carefully structured organization and the scope and diversity of selections make the anthology suitable to a variety of approaches - chronological, by topic, by theme, or by genre.
Call Number: PS 508 .N3 B35 1972ISBN: 9780137793990Publication Date: 1997-07-22
Asian American Short Story Writers by
Asian America has produced numerous short-story writers in the 20th century. Some emerged after World War II, yet most of these writers have flourished since 1980. The first reference of its kind, this volume includes alphabetically arranged entries for 49 nationally and internationally acclaimed Asian American writers of short fiction. Each entry is written by an expert contributor and includes a biography, a discussion of major works and themes, a survey of the writer's critical reception, and primary and secondary bibliographies. Writers include Frank Chin, Sui Sin Far, Shirely Geok-lin Lim, Toshio Mori, and Bharati Mukherjee. An introductory essay provides a close examination of the Asian American short story, and the volume closes with a list of works for further reading.
Call Number: PS 153 .A84 A82 2003ISBN: 9780313322297Publication Date: 2003-06-30
Native American Literatures by
This book offers students, writers, and serious fans a window into some of the most popular topics, styles and periods in this subject. Authors studied include N. Scott Momaday, Leslie Marmon Silko, Louise Erdrich, James Welch, Linda Hogan, Gerald Vizenor and Sherman Alexie.
Call Number: PS 153 .I52 L86 2004ISBN: 9780826415981Publication Date: 2004-10-08
Encyclopedia of Latin American Literature by
A comprehensive, encyclopedic guide to the authors, works, and topics crucial to the literature of Central and South America and the Caribbean, the Encyclopedia of Latin American Literature includes over 400 entries written by experts in the field of Latin American studies. Most entries are of 1500 words but the encyclopedia also includes survey articles of up to 10,000 words on the literature of individual countries, of the colonial period, and of ethnic minorities, including the Hispanic communities in the United States. Besides presenting and illuminating the traditional canon, the encyclopedia also stresses the contribution made by women authors and by contemporary writers. Outstanding Reference Source Outstanding Reference Book
Call Number: PQ 7081 .A1 E56 1997ISBN: 9781884964183Publication Date: 1997-02-01
Shakespeare's World and Work by
The "Scribner Writers Series has set the standard for literary reference for more than 25 years. In addition to addressing the lives and careers of important writers, the articles discuss the themes and a styles of major works and place them in pertinent historical, social and political concerns for today's readers. Novelists, playwrights, essayists, poets, short story writers, and more recently, genre writers in science fiction and mystery, are all expertly discussed in the more than 17 sets comprising this series. To see listings of writers for any volume in this section, go to the "Scribner Writers Series section online at www.gale.com/scribners. Specifically tailored for school and public libraries serving middle and high school students, this one-stop resource includes information on everyday life in Shakespeare's time; his life and career; analysis of his plays, poetry and dramatic techniques; and his enduring influence across four centuries. The articles, ranging from "Actors and Acting" to "Food and,Banquets" to "Science and Invention," have been edited by John F. Andrews, a former director of the Folger Institute in Washington, D.C., and one of the world's greatest Shakespeare promoters and enthusiasts.
Call Number: PR 2892 .S56 2001ISBN: 9780684806297Publication Date: 2001-03-08
The Illustrated Library of World Poetry by
Arranged by category from friendship and humor to religion and tragedy, this popular collection represents the work of familiar poets including Longfellow, Shelley, Browning, Shakespeare, Whittier, and hundreds more. Black and white woodcut engravings and facsimile manuscripts enhance the charm of this volume.
Call Number: PN 6101 .L5 1994ISBN: 9780517118924Publication Date: 1995-02-14- The Penguin Encyclopedia of Horror and the Supernatural by In 50 essays and 600 alphabetically arranged entries, the field of supernatural fiction is covered in relation to authors, artists, and important films.Call Number: BF1407 .P46 1986ISBN: 9780670809028Publication Date: 1986-07-28
- The Science Fiction Source Book byCall Number: PN 3433.4 .S35 1984ISBN: 9780442292553Publication Date: 1984-01-01
- Chambers Dictionary of Literary Characters by This new edition of Chambers Dictionary of Literary Characters has been revised and expanded to bring it thoroughly up to date. More than 6,500 entries provide a guide to the wealth of characters created by writers in English -- from the Wife of Bath to Bertie Wooster, from Tom Sawyer to Harry Potter. New features include concise biographies of the authors, entertaining essays on such topics as "The Detective in Fiction" and "The Characters of Charles Dickens," andan appendix of literary awards.Call Number: PR 19 .D53 2004ISBN: 9780550101273Publication Date: 2004-10-15
The Johns Hopkins Guide to Literary Theory and Criticism by
Postmodernism. Feminism. Bakhtin. New Historicism. Kristeva. Hermeneutics. Cultural Studies. Said. Deconstruction. Semiotics. Over the past generation, literary theory and criticism have become the focus of intellectual activity in the humanities and social sciences--often sparking interest and debate beyond university classrooms in discussions of "political correctness," multiculturalism, and educational reform. The Johns Hopkins Guide to Literary Theory and Criticism is a major new reference book designed to serve as an international, encyclopedic guide to the important figures, schools, and movements in this influential and expanding area of study. While concentrating on the explosion of contemporary critical and theoretical works, the Guide provides a comprehensive historical survey of ideas and individuals ranging from Plato and Aristotle to twentieth-century scholars. It includes nearly 200 alphabetically arranged entries on critics and theorists, critical schools and movements, and the critical and theoretical innovations of specific countries and historicalperiods. It also examines developments in other disciplines which have shaped literary theory and criticism. Also available in an online edition. Go to http://www.press.jhu.edu/books/groden/ for subscription information.
Call Number: PN 81 .J554 1994ISBN: 9780801845604Publication Date: 1993-12-01
eBooks
Off Campus access username and password can be found in Blackboard on the
Institution Page. Students: look for Student Tools to Stay Connected at Atlantic Cape. Faculty: look for Key information about Libraries and Tutoring. Or you can contact the library for username and password.
A sample of titles from our ebook collection
Notable Latino Writers by
Novelists, poets, playwrights and short-story writers The description ""Latino"" is often limited to those born in the United States of Spanish-speaking parents, or who have migrated to the United States from a Spanish-language country Salem uses the term ""Latino"" in its larger sense, to refer to authors living in the Americas who speak - or descend from those who spoke - any romance language, as well as those of Latin American descent living in the United States, who often may speak only English. The term is deliberately inclusive, allowing coverage here of many Latin American authors (such as the Brazilian Jorge Amado, the Colombian Gabriel Garcia Marquez, or the Peruvian/Chilean Isabel Allende) whose works have been routinely translated into English and studied as part of the Latino heritage. The term also, of course, includes U.S.-born writers of Latino descent - Mexican American, Puerto Rican, Cuban and Cuban American, Dominican American, from Julia Alvarez to Richard Rodriguez to Gary Soto. CONTENTS Notable Latino Writers compiles 120 essays on great novelists, poets, playwrights and short-story writers of the Western Hemisphere who are considered ""Latino"" in the broad sense of the term. Literature covered includes works originally written in English and those Spanish and Portuguese works that have been translated into English. For each there is a comprehensive overview of the author's biography and literary career as well as ready-reference listings of their major works in all genres. FORMAT Each essay opens with a brief quotation from the author accompanied in most cases by a photograph or portrait; the author's nationality or ethnicity and major genre are identified. A full listing of birth and death dates and places follows, plus chronological listings of the author's works by genre: Foreign-language (original) title first if appropriate, then date of publication, then English title-in-publication and its date. The text of each essay introduces the author with a pronunciation for his or her name, a brief biographical sketch and a synopsis of the literary career. At the end of every essay is an up-to-date annotated bibliography, ""Learn More,"" which suggests secondary sources for further study.
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781587652431Publication Date: 2005-10-01
Bound by the City by
Explores the connections between sexual difference and political structure in ancient Greek tragedy.
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781438427119Publication Date: 2009-08-06
Virgil's Gaze by
Virgil's Aeneid invites its reader to identify with the Roman nation whose origins and destiny it celebrates. But, as J. D. Reed argues in Virgil's Gaze, the great Roman epic satisfies this identification only indirectly--if at all. In retelling the story of Aeneas' foundational journey from Troy to Italy, Virgil defines Roman national identity only provisionally, through oppositions to other ethnic identities--especially Trojan, Carthaginian, Italian, and Greek--oppositions that shift with the shifting perspective of the narrative. Roman identity emerges as multivalent and constantly changing rather than unitary and stable. The Roman self that the poem gives us is capacious--adaptable to a universal nationality, potentially an imperial force--but empty at its heart. However, the incongruities that produce this emptiness are also what make the Aeneid endlessly readable, since they forestall a single perspective and a single notion of the Roman. Focusing on questions of narratology, intertextuality, and ideology, Virgil's Gaze offers new readings of such major episodes as the fall of Troy, the pageant of heroes in the underworld, the death of Turnus, and the disconcertingly sensual descriptions of the slain Euryalus, Pallas, and Camilla. While advancing a highly original argument, Reed's wide-ranging study also serves as an ideal introduction to the poetics and principal themes of the Aeneid.
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780691127408Publication Date: 2007-01-22
African Spiritual Traditions in the Novels of Toni Morrison by
"Addresses a real need: a scholarly and ritually informed reading of spirituality in the work of a major African American author. No other work catalogues so thoroughly the grounding of Morrison's work in African cosmogonies. Zauditu-Selassie's many readings of Ba Kongo and Yoruba spiritual presence in Morrison's work are incomparably detailed and generally convincing."--Keith Cartwright, University of North Florida Toni Morrison herself has long urged for organic critical readings of her works. K. Zauditu-Selassie delves deeply into African spiritual traditions, clearly explaining the meanings of African cosmology and epistemology as manifest in Morrison's novels. The result is a comprehensive, tour-de-force critical investigation of such works as The Bluest Eye, Sula, Song of Solomon, Tar Baby, Paradise, Love, Beloved, and Jazz. While others have studied the African spiritual ideas and values encoded in Morrison's work, African Spiritual Traditions in the Novels of Toni Morrison is the most comprehensive. Zauditu-Selassie explores a wide range of complex concepts, including African deities, ancestral ideas, spiritual archetypes, mythic trope, and lyrical prose representing African spiritual continuities. Zauditu-Selassie is uniquely positioned to write this book, as she is not only a literary critic but also a practicing Obatala priest in the Yoruba spiritual tradition and a Mama Nganga in the Kongo spiritual system. She analyzes tensions between communal and individual values and moral codes as represented in Morrison's novels. She also uses interviews with and nonfiction written by Morrison to further build her critical paradigm.
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780813033280Publication Date: 2009-03-01
A Comparative History of Literatures in the Iberian Peninsula by
A Comparative History of Literatures in the Iberian Peninsula is the second comparative history of a new subseries with a regional focus, published by the Coordinating Committee of the International Comparative Literature Association. As its predecessor for East-Central Europe, this two-volume history distances itself from traditional histories built around periods and movements, and explores, from a comparative viewpoint, a space considered to be a powerful symbol of inter-literary relations. Both the geographical pertinence and its symbolic condition are obviously discussed, when not even contested. Written by an international team of researchers who are specialists in the field, this history is the first attempt at applying a comparative approach to the plurilingual and multicultural literatures in the Iberian Peninsula. The aim of comprehensiveness is abandoned in favor of a diverse and extensive array of key issues for a comparative agenda. A Comparative History of Literatures in the Iberian Peninsula undermines the primacy claimed for national and linguistic boundaries, and provides a geo-cultural account of literary inter-systems which cannot otherwise be explained.
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9789027234575Publication Date: 2010-05-26
Shakespeare's Politics by
Shakespeare's Politics is an invaluable introduction to the political world of Shakespeare's plays. It includes passages from the plays together with extracts from contemporary historical and political documents. The clear, jargon-free narrative introduces and explains the extracts and provides an overview of the key political issues that were debated in late Elizabethan and early Stuart England. The introduction outlines the historical context in which Shakespeare wrote and explains the intellectual principles that informed early modern thinking about politics. By reading Shakespeare alongside contemporary documents students will be able to develop their own informed critical interpretations of the plays. Shakespeare's Politics is essential for anyone studying Shakespeare while tutors and postgraduate students will find the book's up-to-date survey of modern Shakespeare criticism useful and provocative.
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780826493064Publication Date: 2009-03-06
The World's Major Languages by
This volume features over 50 of the world's languages and language families. The featured languages have been chosen based on the number of speakers, their role as official languages and their cultural and historical importance. Each language is looked at in depth, and the chapters provide information on both grammatical features and on salient features of the language's history and cultural role. This second edition has been updated and revised. Two new languages, Amharic and Javanese, have been included. This accessible volume will appeal to anyone with an interest in linguistics. Key features: Attention is paid to both grammatical and sociolinguistic features Attention is concentrated on the world's major languages Designed to be accessible to all readers with an interest in language.
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780415609029Publication Date: 2011-02-24
Search Atlantic Cape eBook Collections
Off Campus access username and password can be found in Blackboard on the
Institution Page. Students: look for Student Tools to Stay Connected at Atlantic Cape. Faculty: look for Key information about Libraries and Tutoring. Or you can contact the library for username and password.