Education: Books - eBooks
Gale Virtual Reference Library
Off Campus access username and password can be found in Blackboard on the
Institution Page. Students: look for Student Tools to Stay Connected at Atlantic Cape. Faculty: look for Key information about Libraries and Tutoring. Or you can contact the library for username and password.
Education: Meeting America's Needs? by
Call Number: eBook
Reference books
Encyclopedia of Education
This fully-revised second edition offers a complete view of the institutions, people, processes, roles and philosophies found in educational practice in the United States and throughout the world. Features include 140 biographies of influential educators; profiles of historic colleges and universities; profiles of organizations active in the field; and an appendix of full-text primary source documents including education-related legislation, international treaties and testing methods.
Call Number: REF LB15 .E47 2003ISBN: 9780028655949Publication Date: 2002-11-14
Bilingual Education by
Focuses on the purposes of bilingual education programs in schools and their historical development from the 1960s to the present. In this timely resource, educator Rosa Castro Feinberg surveys the developing field of bilingual education--its history, its theories, its practices, and the conflicts that swirl around it. She begins with an annotated chronology that describes influential people and events and traces themes in bilingual education from precolonial times to the present. In three detailed chapters, Feinberg summarizes the widely varied state and local policies and bilingual programs across the country, and demonstrates the profound impact of federal legislation, policies, and court decisions. She also examines the political challenge to linguistic diversity by anti-immigration groups and the common myths about bilingual education that have grown out of the media's handling of identity politics. * Charts the evolution of bilingual education from 1565 to the present day * Presents excerpts from state and local bilingual education policies to help analyze the complex issues surrounding these policies
Call Number: REF LC3731 .F45ISBN: 9781576071250Publication Date: 2002-03-01
Encyclopedia of American Education by
Extensively revised and updated, the Encyclopedia of American Education covers the entire span of American education from the colonial period to the present. Containing more than 2,000 entries, this three-volume work provides a wealth of information on virtually every aspect of education, from the evolution of school curriculum, education funding, and church-state controversies to the latest debates on multiculturalism, prayer in school, and sex education. Updated appendixes, including an extensive bibliography for each subject area; a general chronology of American education since 1607; a summary of significant federal education legislation since 1787; a listing of every major U.S. Supreme Court decision affecting education - including eight new rulings handed down since the first edition was published; and a listing of graduate school offerings in education, undergraduate education majors, and undergraduate majors at American colleges greatly enhance the reference value of this resource. Coverage Includes: Education and reform movements; Legal issues and landmarks; Key education theories; The role of computers and technology in education; Bilingual education; Violence and crime in schools; Up-to-date entries on the history, trends, and quality of education in each of the fifty states. New and revised entries include: American Sign Language; Athletic Scholarships; Autism; Board of Regents vs. Southworth; Boys Town; Children's Aid Society; Disabilities Education Act; Distance Learning; Hazing; Mitchell vs. Helms; Orton Gillingham Method; Veronia Schools District 47J vs. Acton.
Call Number: REF LB17 .U54 2001ISBN: 9780816043446Publication Date: 2001-10-01
Off Campus access username and password can be found in Blackboard on the
Institution Page. Students: look for Student Tools to Stay Connected at Atlantic Cape. Faculty: look for Key information about Libraries and Tutoring. Or you can contact the library for username and password.
Multicultural Education by
Multicultural education is a set of strategies and materials in education, developed to assist teachers in promoting democracy while responding to the many issues created by the rapidly changing demographics of their students. Multicultural education means to ensure the highest levels of academic achievement for all students: it helps students develop a positive self-concept by providing knowledge about the histories, cultures, and contributions of diversity groups. Multicultural Education: From Theory to Practice - which includes the contributions of academics and researchers from two continents and 14 culturally-challenged countries - aims to provide a platform for multicultural education researchers to present new research and developments in the area. The contributors to the book approach the foundations of multicultural education, the political context of multicultural education, classroom practices in multicultural education, and language education in a multicultural context. This volume will appeal to a wide range of academic readership, including educators, researchers, social students, teacher trainers, and teachers of all subjects and of all levels, who wish to develop personally and professionally. It will also be useful to all those who interact, one way or another, with both students and teachers in a multicultural context.
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781443847407Publication Date: 2013-06-01
Ethics and Research in Inclusive Education by
The recent move towards inclusive education has radically influenced the way educational research is conducted. Students need to become aware of the critical legal and ethical responsibilities that arise from investigation in this new and expanding area. Written from the standpoint of inclusive education, rather than 'special education', this carefully edited collection of readings from a wide variety of sources, will develop the student's ability to: * identify and respond to ethical dilemmas that occur within their particular research methodologies and settings. * respond appropriately to the myriad of complex legal issues that are pertinent to their own work The contributions to this book draw upon examples of inclusive practices from around the world. Students taking postgraduate courses or diplomas in Inclusive education will find this an invaluable read.
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780415352055Publication Date: 2005-01-07
The Future of Learning and Teaching in Next Generation Learning Spaces by
Typically New Generation Learning Spaces (NGLS) across the international higher education sector are being designed to support a more student-centred approach to teaching, through more active and collaborative learning opportunities, often using new technology (Keppell et al. 2012). However, the promise of NGLS appear to remain unfulfilled. This book takes a futuristic perspective on these unfulfilled promises, bringing to the fore the key elements of learning, teaching, professional development and design. The book addresses the compelling questions of the decade in an effort to help senior university managers think beyond the pedagogies of yesterday in order to maximize the use and design of physical learning spaces for the future. The book is written in four sections: 1) The future of learning spaces in Universities; 2) The future for learning and teaching in NGLS; 3) The future of professional development for teaching in NGLS; and 4) The future for design in learning environments and spaces.
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781783509867Publication Date: 2014-07-16
Encyclopedia of Educational Theory and Philosophy by
Education is a field sometimes beset by theories-of-the-day and with easy panaceas that overpromise the degree to which they can alleviate pressing educational problems. The two-volume Encyclopedia of Educational Theory and Philosophy introduces readers to theories that have stood the test of time and those that have provided the historical foundation for the best of contemporary educational theory and practice. Drawing together a team of international scholars, this invaluable reference examines the global landscape of all the key theories and the theorists behind them and presents them in the context needed to understand their strengths and weaknesses. In addition to interpretations of long-established theories, this work offers essays on cutting-edge research and concise, to-the-point definitions of key concepts, ideas, schools, and figures.Features: Over 300 signed entries by trusted experts in the field are organized into two volumes and overseen by a distinguished General Editor and an international Editorial Board. Entries are followed by cross references and further reading suggestions. A Chronology of Theory within the field of education highlights developments over the centuries; a Reader's Guide groups entries thematically, and a master Bibliography facilitates further study. The Reader's Guide, detailed index, and cross references combine for strong search-and-browse capabilities in the electronic version. Available in a choice of print or electronic formats, Encyclopedia of Educational Theory and Philosophy is an ideal reference for anyone interested in the roots of contemporary educational theory.
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781452230894Publication Date: 2014-06-06
Books
The American School by
This current, comprehensive history of American education is designed to stimulate critical analysis and critical thinking by offering alternative interpretations of each historical period. In his signature straight-forward, concise style, Joel Spring provides a variety of interpretations of American schooling, from conservative to leftist, in order to spark the reader's own critical thinking about history and schools. This tenth edition follows the history of American education from the seventeenth century to the integration into global capitalism of the twenty-first century to the tumultuous current political landscape. In particular, the updates focus on tracing the direct religious links between the colonial Puritans and the current-day Trump administration. Chapters 1 and 2 have been rewritten to take a closer look at religious traditions in American schools, leading up to the educational ideas of the current U.S. Secretary of Education Betsy DeVos. An updated Chapter 15 further links traditional religious fundamentalist ideas and the twentieth century free market arguments of the Chicago school of economists to President Trump's administration and the influence of the Alt-Right.
Call Number: LA205 .S64 2018 (ML)ISBN: 9781138502925Publication Date: 2018-02-26
Teaching Literature in the Online Classroom by
Keep students engaged in online literature classes. This volume considers the challenges and opportunities of online literature classes and suggests instructional strategies that ensure students are engaged in the virtual classroom. The ideas shared hereare grounded in research, practice, critical self-reflection, and collaboration. Reflecting a diverse collection of practical tips and experiences from colleagues teaching at a variety of institutions, the essays offer readers the chance to inhabit others' classrooms. Contributors discuss building an interactive and inclusive classroom and using hypertext, video lectures, and other asynchronous and synchronous tools in classes whose subjects include, among others, Shakespeare, the Chinese novel, early American literature, speculative fiction, and contemporary American poetry.
Call Number: LB1028.3 .T434 2022ISBN: 9781603294140Publication Date: 2022-10-26
Radical Reimagining for Student Success in Higher Education by
Co-published with the Association for State Colleges and Universities (AASCU), which sponsored the project from which the book emerged. This book answers the question "What would your institution look like if students really mattered?" The authors argue that really putting student success at the center of attention will require a radical reimagining of higher education. Much of what is presented here is grounded in the findings of the American Association of State Colleges and Universities' (AASCU's) Re-Imagining the First Year (RFY) initiative, which brought together 44 member institutions over a three-year period to identify and test programs, strategies, and tools aimed at improving retention rates for first-year students. The book makes a provocative set of arguments about what is possible if campuses radically reimagine their culture, practices, structures, and rules with the primary purpose of helping students succeed in college and beyond.
Call Number: LA227.4 .R34 2023ISBN: 9781642671537Publication Date: 2023-04-27
Universal Design for Transition by
For students with disabilities from historically marginalized backgrounds, inequities in education and support services often lead to negative post-school outcomes. Promote successful adult lives for all students with disabilities--including historically marginalized culturally and linguistically diverse learners--with the new edition of this guide to the universal design for transition (UDT) framework. Like the popular first edition, this important text prepares teachers, transition coordinators, and principals of Grades 6-12 to apply the principles of universal design for learning to transition planning for all learners with disabilities. This reimagined guide adds an equity lens, so that educators can understand the needs of historically marginalized racially and ethnically diverse students and create culturally responsive and sustaining instruction, supports, and services as students approach transition age. Practical tips, examples, and downloadable tools help teachers apply the UDT framework successfully, and the voices of experienced educators provide guidance and insight throughout. Equally useful as a textbook and an in-service resource, this new edition will get educators ready to help all students with disabilities build fulfilling adult lives that reflect their goals and dreams. EDUCATORS WILL LEARN HOW TO: Reduce student opportunity gaps related to academic achievement and transition planning Incorporate the rich cultural heritage of historically marginalized students when planning their academic and transition curriculum Master the components of UDT, including multiple means of assessment, student self-determination, multiple life domains, and use of multiple resources and perspectives when making decisions Prepare students for key aspects of adult life: employment, postsecondary education, community living, and social inclusion and engagement Create culturally sustaining IEPs that honor the complexities of diverse students and families Promote equitable access to and use of technology with a UDT approach WHAT'S NEW: New focus on culturally responsive practices and supports Updated research throughout New and expanded coverage of key topics such as community living options, use of technology and multimedia resources, and weaving social outlets and leisure activities into UDT All-new examples, resources, teaching tips, vignettes, and case studies.
Call Number: LC3965 .U54 2024ISBN: 9781681256023Publication Date: 2023-10-01
Search the catalog
Search Atlantic Cape eBook Collections
Off Campus access username and password can be found in Blackboard on the
Institution Page. Students: look for Student Tools to Stay Connected at Atlantic Cape. Faculty: look for Key information about Libraries and Tutoring. Or you can contact the library for username and password.
Where are the books
Books in the Atlantic Cape libraries use the Library of Congress Classification System to arrange the books on the shelves. Here are some general call numbers for books on education.
L Education (General)
LA History of education
LB Theory and practice of education
LC Special aspects of education
LD Individual institutions - United States
Need help locating materials? Ask a librarian
Interlibrary Loan
Did you find an article not available in full text? How about a book not owned by Atlantic Cape or the Atlantic County Library System.
All is not lost. The library may be able to get your article or book from another library. The Interlibrary loan service is free to all current students, faculty and staff of Atlantic Cape.
- Don't wait too long to make your request. Books may take 7-10 days to arrive. Articles may take up to 7 days.
Please be sure to provide as complete a citation as possible, so the lending library can quickly locate your request.
Interlibrary Loan for Articles
- Loan periods are set by the lending library.
Sample Books - eBooks
Teaching and the Art of Successful Classroom Management by Call Number: LB1607 .K73 1996
Raising the Grade: how secondary school reform can save our youth and the nation by Call Number: LA 222 .W57 2008
Special Education in Contemporary Society: an introduction to exceptionality by Call Number: LC 3981 .G37 2009
Common Schools/Uncommon Identities: national unity and cultural difference by Call Number: LC191.4 .F45 1998
Off Campus access username and password can be found in Blackboard on the
Institution Page. Students: look for Student Tools to Stay Connected at Atlantic Cape. Faculty: look for Key information about Libraries and Tutoring. Or you can contact the library for username and password.
The Online Classroom by
"Researchers estimate that more than 2 million K-12 students were enrolled in some form of online school, district, or state virtual course over the 2015-2016 school year (Evergreen Education Group, 2015). Today's middle level learners are logging into virtual classrooms at a rapidly growing rate. As of 2015, middle level students represent 14% of learners taking virtual courses to supplement their current coursework, and 28% of full-time virtual school students. As a result, it is essential that teachers identify the unique needs of today's virtual middle level students and find ways to address these needs within this digital context. This book volume will explore resources centered on the growing world of virtual education and its implications for the middle level learner, middle level classroom, and middle level educator. It is our aim to provide virtual teachers and teacher educators the tools and information necessary to address the needs of middle level learners within blended or virtual classrooms. We invite researchers and teachers to share tips, strategies, guidance, and stories in working with middle level students in a blended, hybrid, or fully-online classroom setting"--
Call Number: ebookISBN: 9781641134590Publication Date: 2019-02-01
Teaching in the Digital Age for Preschool and Kindergarten by
Across the curriculum, Teaching in the Digital Age for Preschool and Kindergarten will guide teachers toward integrating technology so it has an authentic, meaningful, and developmentally appropriate impact on children's exploration and learning. By discipline---including science, math, literacy, art, social studies, health and safety, physical education, and music---it will motivate teachers to dig deeper into each content area to see the various ways technology and digital media can support and strengthen children's learning, as well as documentation and assessment.
Call Number: ebookISBN: 9781605542942Publication Date: 2018-04-03
Responding to Learner Difference and Learner Difficulties by
"Caribbean Discourse in Inclusive Education Volume II "Responding to Learner Diversity and Difficulties" shares selected critical reflections and recommendations on the way educational communities respond to student diversity and difficulties learning. These contexts include the Caribbean, the Diaspora, and beyond. Authors explore issues and strategies for realizing and sustaining the agenda of education for all within primarily, but not limited to, the Caribbean. While the authors are aware of the ongoing debate between the terms 'education for all' and 'inclusive education', we use these terms interchangeably. We hold the position that inclusive education is about commitment to removing barriers to optimum learning for all learners regardless of age, ability, ethnicity, gender, geography, race, religion, sexual orientation or other differences. 'Responding to Learner Diversity and Difficulties' extend the discourse to include stakeholders committed to sharing their experiences and strategies for overcoming barriers to inclusive education. This second volume presents research that examines how teachers can respond to students with disabilities and difficulties learning, teach challenging curriculum content in mathematics and literacy, build citizenship through student voice, improve teacher practice via co-teaching and critical reflection, promote inclusive practice through leadership and advocacy. It can be used as a core text or companion reader for students at the undergraduate and graduate levels, lecturers, practitioners, researchers and policy makers"--
Call Number: ebookISBN: 9781641133326Publication Date: 2018-10-01
Common Core by
The Common Core State Standards Initiative is one of the most controversial pieces of education policy to emerge in decades. Detailing what and when K-12 students should be taught, it has led to expensive reforms and displaced other valuable ways to educate children. In this nuanced and provocative book, Nicholas Tampio argues that, though national standards can raise the education bar for some students, the democratic costs outweigh the benefits. To make his case, Tampio describes the history, philosophy, content, and controversy surrounding the Common Core standards for English language arts and math. He also explains and critiques the Next Generation Science Standards, the Advanced Placement US History curriculum framework, and the National Sexuality Education Standards. Though each set of standards has admirable elements, Tampio asserts that democracies should disperse education authority rather than entrust one political or pedagogical faction to decide the country's entire philosophy of education. Ultimately, this lively and accessible book presents a compelling case that the greater threat to democratic education comes from centralized government control rather than from local education authorities.
Call Number: ebookISBN: 9781421424637Publication Date: 2018-03-01
Experience and Education by
Experience and Education is the best concise statement on education ever published by John Dewey, the man acknowledged to be the pre-eminent educational theorist of the twentieth century. Written more than two decades after Democracy and Education (Dewey's most comprehensive statement of his position in educational philosophy), this book demonstrates how Dewey reformulated his ideas as a result of his intervening experience with the progressive schools and in the light of the criticisms his theories had received. Analyzing both "traditional" and "progressive" education, Dr. Dewey here insists that neither the old nor the new education is adequate and that each is miseducative because neither of them applies the principles of a carefully developed philosophy of experience. Many pages of this volume illustrate Dr. Dewey's ideas for a philosophy of experience and its relation to education. He particularly urges that all teachers and educators looking for a new movement in education should think in terms of the deeped and larger issues of education rather than in terms of some divisive "ism" about education, even such an "ism" as "progressivism." His philosophy, here expressed in its most essential, most readable form, predicates an American educational system that respects all sources of experience, on that offers a true learning situation that is both historical and social, both orderly and dynamic.
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780684838281Publication Date: 1997-07-01
