Psychology: Research your topic
Do your research
- You now have a topic, gained some general knowledge of the topic, and have decided on a position or thesis statement for your research paper.
Use the resources on this page to gather the research materials needed to support your thesis.
Evaluating sources
Some guidelines to help evaluate your research materials for accuracy and usefulness
Research Databases
Scholarly articles have been written by specialists in the field of study and have been reviewed by specialists before being published. These articles may also have references used by the author which can lead you to other relevant sources.
Off Campus access username and password can be found in Blackboard on the
Institution Page section for Student Tools to Stay Connected at Atlantic Cape or you can Contact the library for username and password.
- ProQuest Science Database This link opens in a new window
An applied and general science database, with many full text articles. Subjects covered include:
- Physics
- Engineering
- Astronomy
- Biology
- Earth Science
- Chemistry
- additional content from the Proquest Publicly Available Research Database with links to full text articles from open access journals
- PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
The PsycINFO database is the American Psychological Association’s (APA) renowned resource for abstracts of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations,. It is the largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed articles in behavioral science and mental health.
Included are citations and summaries dating as far back as the 1600s. Journal coverage dates from the 1800s to present and includes international material selected from around 2,400 periodicals in dozens of languages.
Selected linked full-text articles available. - Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Large interdisciplinary database that contains articles from over 17,000 scholarly journals, trade magazines, and popular magazines.
It offers broad subject coverage, including anthropology biology chemistry, computer science, ethnic and multicultural studies, food science, general science, geography, law, mathematics, music, physics, psychology, religion, women's studies, and many more.
Search Atlantic Cape eBook Collections
Additional Resources
- PsycPort Psychology News WireThe news site of the American Psychological Association
- Association for Psychological Science NewsThe news site for the Association for Psychological Science, a professional association that emphasizes the empirical side of psychological scholarship
- PsychCentral Psychology NewsPsych Central is the Internet’s largest and oldest independent mental health online resource. Since 1995, our award-winning website has been run by mental health professionals offering reliable, trusted information and over 250 support groups to individuals struggling with a problem in their lives. From PsychCentral website
Off Campus access username and password can be found in Blackboard on the
Institution Page section for Student Tools to Stay Connected at Atlantic Cape or you can Contact the library for username and password.
- Annual Review of PsychologyLink to Academic Search Premier. Contains some full text.
The articles in this journal provide critical reviews that synthesize the state of knowledge and recent advances concerning important topics in the field of psychology. - Psychology TodayFull text from Academic Search Premier
Psychology Today is a popular magazine for people with an interest in psychology. Articles are tailored for a general audience, and cannot be relied upon for accuracy, but are a moderately good source of information about research developments that are of interest to nonspecialists.
Search the catalog
