All Atlantic Cape library pages have a new web address. Please update any bookmarks you may have.
Psychology: Books - eBooks
Search the catalog
Books - eBooks
Books at the libraries of Atlantic Cape are arranged using the Library of Congress Classification system. This system uses letters and numbers that places books on the same topic together on the shelves.
Books on psychology can be found at these call numbers:
- BF 173-175 Psychoanalysis
- BF 180-205 Experimental Psychology
- BF 309-499 Cognition, Intelligence, Memory, Genius, Learning, Attention
- BF 501-593 Motivation, Emotion, Feeling, Affection
- BF 721-723 Child Psychology
Your course textbook may be on reserve. You can use this book while in the library. Your school ID is your library card. Reserve books are held at the circulation desk.
Off Campus access username and password can be found in Blackboard on the
Institution Page section for Student Tools to Stay Connected at Atlantic Cape or you can Contact the library for username and password.
Psychology by
Provides the essential foundation for psychology students, this is a revised and updated version of the most trusted introduction written by the bestselling psychology author Richard Gross. Psychology: The Science of Mind and Behaviour has helped over half a million students worldwide. It is the essential introduction to psychology, covering all students need to know to understand and evaluate classic and contemporary topics.
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781471829734Publication Date: 2015-06-15
Engendering Psychology by
Engendering Psychology's treatment of issues is based solidly on scientific evidence and presented in a balanced manner. The text combines a developmental and topical approach. Denmark, Rabinowitz, and Sechzer explore the concept of gender as a social construction across the lines of race, ethnicity, class, age, and sexual orientation, pulling from the exciting new scholarship that has emerged over the last few years. Thoughtful discussion questions emphasize critical thinking skills, as well as encourage students to open a dialogue with both their professors and their peers. This text will help readers understand the concept of gender as a social construct in contrast to the concept of sex, which denotes biological differences. Upon completing this text, readers will have a deeper understanding of women and the knowledge that "woman" is a diverse and multifaceted category.
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781138428904Publication Date: 2017-08-09
Punished by Rewards by
The basic strategy we use for raising children, teaching students, and managing workers can be summarized in six words: Do this and you'll get that. We dangle goodies (from candy bars to sales commissions) in front of people in much the same way we train the family pet. Drawing on a wealth of psychological research, Alfie Kohn points the way to a more successful strategy based on working with people instead of doing things to them. "Do rewards motivate people?" asks Kohn. "Yes. They motivate people to get rewards." Seasoned with humor and familiar examples, Punished By Rewards presents an argument unsettling to hear but impossible to dismiss.
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780618001811Publication Date: 1999-09-30
The Socratic Method of Psychotherapy by
As the field of psychotherapy focuses more on treatment manuals and the regimented nature of clinical research, the practice risks losing the subtle nuances that guide the interactive fluidity of therapy sessions. Can clinicians combat this loss by incorporating ideals from ancient philosophy into contemporary psychotherapy? In The Socratic Method of Psychotherapy, James Overholser approaches cognitive therapy through the interactive dialogues of Socrates, aiming to reduce the gap between theory and practice. Clinicians and students will appreciate the flexibility and creativity that underlie effective psychotherapy sessions when guided by the Socratic method as an innovative approach to self-exploration.
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780231183284Publication Date: 2018-10-30
Interlibrary Loan
Did you find an article not available in full text? How about a book not owned by Atlantic Cape or the Atlantic County Library System.
All is not lost. The library may be able to get your article or book from another library. The Interlibrary loan service is free to all current students, faculty and staff of Atlantic Cape.
- Don't wait too long to make your request. Books may take 7-10 days to arrive. Articles may take up to 7 days.
Please be sure to provide as complete a citation as possible, so the lending library can quickly locate your request.
Interlibrary Loan for Articles
- Loan periods are set by the lending library.
Search Atlantic Cape eBook Collections
Reference books
- Encyclopedia of Psychology by "The American Psychological Association, under the editorial direction of Alan Kazdin, has produced an exceptional multidisciplinary and multicultural encyclopedia."--"Outstanding Reference Sources," American Libraries, May 2001.Call Number: Ref BF31 .E52 2000ISBN: 9781557986504Publication Date: 2000-01-01
A Dictionary of Psychology by
From amnesia to Freudian, aggression to unconscious, this new work is an authoritative and accessible guide to psychology. Ideal for students of psychology and professional psychologists, as well as the general reader, it contains 12,000 entries and provides clear and concise definitions of awide range of terms and concepts in psychology, psychiatry, and psychoanalysis.-- Distinguished team of consultant editors-- Wide coverage of topics, including sensation and perception, cognition, learning and skills, mental disorders, research methods and statistics-- 75 illustrations
Call Number: BF31 .C65 2001ISBN: 9780198662112Publication Date: 2001-08-02
Biographical Dictionary of Psychology by
First published in 2002. Routledge is an imprint of Taylor & Francis, an informa company.
Call Number: Ref BF109.A1 B56 1997ISBN: 9780415099974Publication Date: 1997-06-23
Off Campus access username and password can be found in Blackboard on the
Institution Page section for Student Tools to Stay Connected at Atlantic Cape or you can Contact the library for username and password.
A Comprehensive Guide to Intellectual and Developmental Disabilities, Second Edition by
The trusted core disability text book gets a comprehensive update in this second edition, now thoroughly revised to include all the critical topics today's professionals need to know about as they work with people who have intellectual and developmental disabilities. Brought to you by a new team of world-renowned experts and contributors, this volume fully prepares future educators, social workers, researchers, and clinicians to provide the best services and supports to children and adults across the life span. Tomorrow's professionals will discover what to do and how to do it as they prepare for their important work, and they'll refer to this user-friendly compendium year after year for information, insights, and answers. A cornerstone text for any course focused on intellectual and developmental disabilities, and an essential reference for every in-service professional's library. This ideal core text for intellectual and developmental disabilitiy courses is: broad and deep, with thorough, up-to-date information on intervention, education, family roles, health issues, specific disabilities, and much more; life span-focussed, with topics ranging from genetics and development to issues related to aging; multidisciplinary, blending research and personal experiences of more than 70 esteemed authors from diverse fields; immediately applicable, presenting both the facts and practical; and student friendly. The new edition has extensively updated chapters on critical topics, including AAC and technology, autism spectrum disorder, advocacy and self-advocacy, communication challenges, family issues, human development and genetics, legal and ethical considerations, and psychopharmacology.
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781598576023Publication Date: 2017-01-16
Handbook of Evidence-Based Interventions for Children and Adolescents by
This comprehensive handbook for evidence-based mental health and learning interventions with children and adolescents is distinguished by its explicit yet concise guidance on implementation in practice. With a compendium of proven strategies for resolving more than 40 of the most pressing and prevalent issues facing young people, the book provides immediate guidance and uniform step-by-step instructions for resolving issues ranging from psychopathological disorders to academic problems. Busy academics, practitioners, and trainees in schools and outpatient clinical settings will find this resource to be an invaluable desktop reference for facilitating well-informed decision making. Unlike other volumes that ignore or merely reference the evidence base of various interventions, this book focuses on providing immediate, empirically supported guidance for putting these strategies into direct practice. Issues covered include crisis interventions and response, social and emotional issues, academic/learning issues, psychopathological disorders, neuropsychological disorders, and the behavioral management of childhood health issues. Each chapter follows a consistent format including a brief description of the problem and associated characteristics, etiology and contributing factors, and three evidence-based, step-by-step sets of instructions for implementation. Additionally, each chapter provides several websites offering further information about the topic. Featuring contributions from leading scholars and practitioners on each issue covered, this book will be a valuable resource for school and child clinical psychologists, counselors, social workers, and therapists as well as other health and mental health professionals whose primary practice is with children and adolescents. KEY FEATURES: Demonstrates step-by-step, evidence-based interventions for more than 40 common childhood issuesProvides treatment procedures that can be immediately put into practiceCovers a wide range of mental health and academic/learning issues for children and adolescentsRelevance for both school-based and clinically based practiceIncludes contributions by noted experts in the field
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780826127945Publication Date: 2016-07-28
Understanding Human Behavior by
Human behavior is of fundamental importance not only to the individual, but to the community and all of humanity. Now that humans have acquired the capability of interfering with or destroying living systems, it is of great consequence to the planet itself. With this in mind, the book Understanding Human Behavior: Theories, Patterns, and Developments is the result of inviting several leading innovative thinkers to consider how they could contribute to a discussion of understanding human behavior. Their perspectives differ in approach and focus, but they all confirm the great complexity of the topic, and they show that science has hardly scratched its surface. The eight chapters of this volume are dominated by considerations of how the behavior of humans began and developed in the distant past, during the evolution of early humans. In human sociology, the term behavior refers to the range of physical action/reaction and observable emotion associated with individuals today, as well as human society as a whole. But this describes only effects or symptoms of a condition pertaining to today, without considering how it came about, i.e., its original causes. This is examined in several chapters of this book, together with apparent historical trajectories of human behavior in an attempt to explore its etiology. Other contributions investigate more specific aspects of human behavior, including those recorded in history and even in modern times. In summary, this volume provides a well-rounded investigation into current cutting-edge understanding of the origins and nature of human behavior.
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781634851749Publication Date: 2016-01-01
The "Go To" Book for Mental Health Information
Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders (DSM-5) by Call Number: Reserve AND on Reference Shelf RC455.2.C4 D53 2000ISBN: 9780890425541Publication Date: 2013-05-22
- DSM-5 Related eBooksHere is a link to titles in our Ebscohost ebook collections for DSM-5 related titles many published by the American Psychiatric Association Publishing including study guides, pocket guides and case studies.