All Atlantic Cape library pages have a new web address. Please update any bookmarks you may have.
Business: Books - eBooks - Media
Books, periodicals and online databases supporting the business area.
Search the catalog
Databases
ReferenceUSA contains detailed information on 55 million U.S. and Canadian businesses, U.S. residents and health care providers, updated weekly.
Media
- Ruthless: Monopoly's Secret HistoryFrom Films On Demand (Runtime: 52:53)
For generations, Monopoly has been America’s favorite board game, a love letter to unbridled capitalism and--for better or worse--the impulses that make our free-market society tick. But behind the myth of the game’s creation is an untold tale of theft, obsession and corporate double-dealing. Ruthless: Monopoly’s Secret History presents the fascinating true story behind America’s favorite game. Distributed by PBS Distribution.
Reference
Here are some reference books from the Atlantic Cape collection
Encyclopedia of American Business by Call Number: HF1001.E463 2004ISBN: 9780816046430Publication Date: 2004-01-01
A Dictionary of Business by Call Number: HF1001.C63 2003ISBN: 9780198607557Publication Date: 2004-05-27
Guide to Business Ethics by Call Number: HF5387.B55 2002ISBN: 9780631221227Publication Date: 2002-02-25
The Routledge Dictionary of Business Management by Call Number: HD30.15.S73 2004ISBN: 9780415328197Publication Date: 2004-08-06
Off Campus access username and password can be found in Blackboard on the
Institution Page section for Student Tools to Stay Connected at Atlantic Cape or you can Contact the library for username and password.
Encyclopedia of Management Theory by
In discussing a management topic, scholars, educators, practitioners, and the media often toss out the name of a theorist (Taylor, Simon, Weber) or make a sideways reference to a particular theory (Bureaucracy, Total Quality Management, Groupthink, etc.) and move on, as if assuming their audience possesses the necessary background to appreciate and integrate the reference. This is often far from the case. Individuals are frequently forced to seek out a hodgepodge of sources varying in quality and presentation to provide an overview of a particular idea. And reference librarians often find it difficult to guide readers to an informed, one-stop resource with just the basics--the "who, what, where, how, when, and why." In response, SAGE Reference plans to publish the two-volume Encyclopedia of Management Theory, available in both print and electronic formats. This work is designed to serve as a core reference for anyone interested in the essentials of contemporary management theory. Drawing together a team of international scholars, it examines the global landscape of the key theories and the theorists behind them, presenting them in the context needed to understand their strengths and weaknesses to thoughtfully apply them. In addition to interpretations of long-established theories, it also offers essays on cutting-edge research as one might find in a handbook. And, like an unabridged dictionary, it provides concise, to-the-point definitions of key concepts, ideas, schools, and figures. Features and Benefits: · Two volumes containing 335-350 signed entries provide users with the most authoritative and thorough reference resources available on management theory, both in terms of breadth and depth of coverage. · To ease navigation between and among related entries, a Reader′s Guide groups entries thematically and each entry is followed by Cross-References. · In the electronic version, the Reader′s Guide combines with the Cross-References and a detailed Index to provide robust search-and-browse capabilities. · An appendix with a Chronology of Management Theory allows students to easily chart directions and trends in thought and theory from early times to the present. · Suggestions for Further Reading at the end of each entry guide readers to sources for more detailed research and discussion.
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781412997829Publication Date: 2013-03-28
Historical Encyclopedia of American Business by
This set addresses the full breadth of American business history. There are overviews on different sectors of the economy, such as agriculture and banking; individual industries such as advertising and electronics; and general topics like business cycles, consumer boycotts, and outsourcing. There are also overviews on general legal topics such as bankruptcy and patent laws.
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781587655180Publication Date: 2009-04-16
Historical Dictionary of Organized Labor by
Organized labor is about the collective efforts of employees to improve their economic, social, and political position. It can be studied from many different points of view-historical, economic, sociological, or legal-but is fundamentally about the struggle for human rights and social justice. As a rule, organized labor has tried to make the world a fairer place. Even though it has only ever covered a minority of employees in most countries, its effects on their political, economic, and social systems have been generally positive. History shows that when organized labor is repressed, the whole society suffers and is made less just. The Historical Dictionary of Organized Labor looks at the history of organized labor to see where it came from and where it has been. This is done through a chronology, an introductory essay, appendixes, a glossary of terms, and an extensive bibliography. The dictionary section has over 400 cross-referenced entries on most countries, international as well as national labor organizations, major labor unions, leaders, and other aspects of organized labor such as changes in the composition of its membership. This is an essential reference for students and scholars, this work will also be of interest to labor economists, lawyers, sociologists, human rights activists, and historians.
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780810861961Publication Date: 2012-06-14
Managing Customer Relationships by
MANAGING CUSTOMER RELATIONSHIPS A Strategic Framework Praise for the first edition: "Peppers and Rogers do a beautiful job of integrating actionable frameworks, the thinking of other leaders in the field, and best practices from leading-edge companies. "-Dr. Hugh J. Watson, C. Herman and Mary Virginia Terry Chair of Business Administration, Terry College of Business, University of Georgia "Peppers and Rogers have been the vanguard for the developing field of customer relationship management, and in this book, they bring their wealth of experience and knowledge into academic focus. This text successfully centers the development of the field and its theories and methodologies squarely within the broader context of enterprise competitive theory. It is a must-have for educators of customer relationship management and anyone who considers customer-centric marketing the cornerstone of sound corporate strategy." -Dr. Charlotte Mason, Department Head, Director, and Professor, Department of Marketing and Distribution, Terry College of Business, University of Georgia "Don and Martha have done it again! The useful concepts and rich case studies revealed in Managing Customer Relationships remove any excuse for those of us responsible for actually delivering one-to-one customer results. This is the ultimate inside scoop!" -Roy Barnes, Formerly with Marriott, now President, Blue Space Consulting "This is going to become the how-to book on developing a customer-driven enterprise. The marketplace is so much in need of this road map!" -Mike Henry, Leader for Consumer Insights at Acxiom Praise for the second edition: "Every company has customers, and that's why every company needs a reference guide like this. Peppers and Rogers are uniquely qualified to provide us with the top textbook on the subject, and the essential tool for the field they helped to create." -David Reibstein, William Stewart Woodside Professor of Marketing, The Wharton School, University of Pennsylvania
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780470930151Publication Date: 2010-12-28
Books - eBooks
- An Illustrated Business History of the United States byCall Number: HF3021 .V35 2021ISBN: 9780812252897Publication Date: 2021-05-21From Benjamin Franklin, Robert Morris, and Cornelius Vanderbilt to Steve Jobs, Oprah Winfrey, and Bill Gates, with Madam C.J. Walker, Martha Stewart, Jay-Z, and many more in-between, An Illustrated Business History of the United States is a sweeping, lively, and highly approachable history of American business from the nation's founding to the twenty-first century. Author Richard Vague divides this history into fourteen eras, with each era featuring lists of the wealthiest individuals, notable inventions, and companies founded, and the largest organizations, banks, and insurance companies. Much of the data to create these lists stems from original research, and the book contains a wealth of primary business information extended and supplemented on a companion website. Major themes include the nation's business beginnings in land and real estate, the pivotal place of financial institutions from the nation's earliest days, America's emergence as an industrial powerhouse, its outsized innovations, the dominance of its railways, automobiles, and other transportation companies, and the ever-changing role of government. As the book moves to the contemporary era, it highlights the merchandising of comfort, entertainment, and controversy, and looks to the future as it touches on the potential of emerging industries such as genetic engineering, green energy, and virtual reality. A must read for any student of American history, the book covers both catastrophe and triumph, innovation and failure, and provides a crucial context for a better understanding of the nation's political and social history. Lushly illustrated with 300 color images, it is equally rewarding for those who want to read it cover to cover and those who prefer to focus on select eras of special interest.
Off Campus access username and password can be found in Blackboard on the
Institution Page section for Student Tools to Stay Connected at Atlantic Cape or you can Contact the library for username and password.
Economics in One Virus : An Introduction to Economic Reasoning Through COVID-19 by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781952223075Publication Date: 2021
Interlibrary Loan
Did you find an article not available in full text? How about a book not owned by Atlantic Cape or the Atlantic County Library System.
All is not lost. The library may be able to get your article or book from another library. The Interlibrary loan service is free to all current students, faculty and staff of Atlantic Cape.
- Don't wait too long to make your request. Books may take 7-10 days to arrive. Articles may take up to 7 days.
Please be sure to provide as complete a citation as possible, so the lending library can quickly locate your request.
Interlibrary Loan for Articles
- Loan periods are set by the lending library.