Black Lives Matter!: More Reference Sources
Print Reference Books
Race and Racism in the United States. 4 vols. by
How is race defined and perceived in America today, and how do these definitions and perceptions compare to attitudes 100 years ago... or 200 years ago? This four-volume set is the definitive source for every topic related to race in the United States. In the 21st century, it is easy for some students and readers to believe that racism is a thing of the past; in reality, old wounds have yet to heal, and new forms of racism are taking shape. Racism has played a role in American society since the founding of the nation, in spite of the words "all men are created equal" within the Declaration of Independence. This set is the largest and most complete of its kind, covering every facet of race relations in the United States while providing information in a user-friendly format that allows easy cross-referencing of related topics for efficient research and learning. The work serves as an accessible tool for high school researchers, provides important material for undergraduate students enrolled in a variety of humanities and social sciences courses, and is an outstanding ready reference for race scholars. The entries provide readers with comprehensive content supplemented by historical backgrounds, relevant examples from primary documents, and first-hand accounts. Information is presented to interest and appeal to readers but also to support critical inquiry and understanding. A fourth volume of related primary documents supplies additional reading and resources for research.
Call Number: ML REF E184.A1 R254 2014ISBN: 9781440803451Publication Date: 2014-06-24
African Americans and Criminal Justice by
Does justice exist for Blacks in America? This comprehensive compilation of essays documents the historical and contemporary impact of the law and criminal justice system on people of African ancestry in the United States. African Americans and Criminal Justice: An Encyclopedia comprises descriptive essays documenting the ways in which people of African descent have been victimized by oppressive laws enacted by local, state, and federal authorities in the United States. The entries also describe how Blacks became disproportionately represented in national crime statistics, largely through their efforts to resist legalized oppression in early American history, and present biographies of famous and infamous Black criminal suspects and victims throughout early American history and in contemporary times. Providing coverage of law and criminal justice practices from the precolonial period, including the introduction of African slaves, up to practices in modern-day America, this encyclopedia presents a frank and comprehensive view of how Americans of African descent have come to be viewed as synonymous with criminality. This book represents an essential learning resource for all American citizens, regardless of race or age. * 120 A-Z entries on race and criminal justice and famous or infamous African American crime perpetrators or victims * Contributions from more than 50 distinguished scholars from many criminal justice/criminology academic programs across the country * An index of key persons, events, and legislation
Call Number: CM REF HV 9950 .A356 2014ISBN: 9780313357169Publication Date: 2014-07-15
Encyclopedia of African American Society by Call Number: REF E185 .E546 2005ISBN: 9780761927648Publication Date: 2005-02-01
Online Reference Solurces
Off Campus access username and password can be found in Blackboard on the
Institution Page. Students: look for Student Tools to Stay Connected at Atlantic Cape. Faculty: look for Key information about Libraries and Tutoring. Or you can contact the library for username and password.
Crime and Punishment in America by Call Number: Gale Virtual Reference LibraryISBN: 9781610699273Publication Date: 2016-12-05
Culture Wars in America: An Encyclopedia of Issues, Viewpoints, and Voices, 2nd ed. by
The term "culture wars" refers to the political and sociological polarisation that has characterised American society the past several decades. This new edition provides an enlightening and comprehensive A-to-Z ready reference, now with supporting primary documents, on major topics of contemporary importance for students, teachers, and the general reader. It aims to promote understanding and clarification on pertinent topics that too often are not adequately explained or discussed in a balanced context. With approximately 640 entries plus more than 120 primary documents supporting both sides of key issues, this is a unique and defining work, indispensable to informed discussions of the most timely and critical issues facing America today.
Call Number: Credo ReferenceISBN: 0765683024Publication Date: 2013
Encyclopedia of African American Politics by Call Number: Credo ReferenceISBN: 0816044759Publication Date: 2003-05-01- Encyclopedia of African American Society by Call Number: eBook Academic Collection (EBSCOhost)ISBN: 9780761927648Publication Date: 2005-02-01
Encyclopedia of American Social Movements by Call Number: eBook Academic Collection (EBSCOhost)ISBN: 9780765680457Publication Date: 2004-08-31
Encyclopedia of American Studies by Call Number: Credo ReferenceISBN: 0717292223Publication Date: 2001-09-01
Encyclopedia of Black Studies by Call Number: eBook Academic Collection (EBSCOhost)ISBN: 9780761927624Publication Date: 2004-12-09
Encyclopedia of Criminology and Criminal Justice by
***Selected as a 2015 Outstanding Reference Source by Reference and User Services Association, a division of the American Library Association*** "An excellent introduction to topics under the criminology umbrella for those unschooled in the field and a state-of-the-art refresher for those who are." - Choice Offers wide-ranging and comprehensive coverage spanning 15 substantive areas within criminology and criminal justice, including criminal law, juvenile justice, education and professionalism, history of crime, and victimization Combines state-of-the-art coverage of developments in areas such as homeland security and forensic science, with the core topics within criminology and criminal justice Edited by one of criminology's leading authorities, and peer reviewed by a team of 14 associate editors, all of whom are renowned in their fields Brings together an international team of contributors from ten countries to offer a uniquely global perspective on topics such as transnational crime 5 Volumes www.encyclopediaofcriminology.com
Call Number: Credo ReferenceISBN: 9780470670286Publication Date: 2014-01-28
Encyclopedia of Diversity and Social Justice - A-H by
The Encyclopedia of Diversity and Social Justice contains over 300 entries alphabetically arranged for straightforward and convenient use by scholars and general readers alike. This reference is a comprehensive and systematic collection of designated entries that describe, in detail, important diversity and social justice themes. Thompson, assisted by a network of contributors and consultants, provides a centralized source and convenient way to discover the modern meaning, richness, and significance of diversity and social justice language, while offering a balanced viewpoint. This book reveals the unique nature of the language of diversity and social justice and makes the connection between how this language influences--negatively and positively--institutions and society. The terms have been carefully chosen in order to present the common usage of words and themes that dominate our daily conversations about these topics. Entries range from original research to synopses of existing scholarship. These discussions provide alternative views to popular doctrines and philosophical truths, and include many of the most popular terms used in current conversations on the topic, from ageism to xenophobia. This reference covers cultural, social, and political vernacular to offer an historical perspective as well. With contributions from experts in various fields, the entries consist of topics that represent a wider context among a diverse community of people from every walk of life.
Call Number: Credo ReferenceISBN: 9781442216044Publication Date: 2014-12-18
Encyclopedia of Race and Crime by Call Number: Ebsco eBook Academic CollectionISBN: 9781412950855Publication Date: 2009-04-14
Encyclopedia of Race and Racism, 2nd ed. by
"In more than 1,800 pages of alphabetical entries, each ranging from 500 to 1,2000 words, The Encyclopedia Of Race And Racism, 2nd Edition provides critical information and context on the underlying social, economic, geographical, and political conditions that, gave rise and continue to foster racism. Religion, political economy, social activism, health, concepts, and constructs are explored. Given the increasingly diverse population of the US and the rapid effects of globalization, as well as mass and social media, the issue of race in world affairs, history, and culture is of preeminent importance, and this work is designed to bring vetted and accessible facts and analysis to experts and students as well as lay readers. "
Call Number: Credo ReferenceISBN: 9780028661742Publication Date: 2013-02-15
Dictionary of Race, Ethnicity and Culture by Call Number: Credo ReferenceISBN: 9780761969006Publication Date: 2002-12-26
Encyclopedia of Social Problems by
Social problems affect everyone. Because so many actual and potential problems confront us, it is often difficult to decide which ones affect us most severely. Is it the threat of death or injury during a terrorist attack? Is it the threat caused by industrial pollution that may poison us or destroy our physical environment? Or does quiet but viciously damaging gender, age, class, racial, or ethnic discrimination have the most far-reaching effect? Do the problems of cities affect us if we live in the suburbs? Do poorer nations' problems with overpopulation affect our quality of life? The Encyclopedia of Social Problems offers an interdisciplinary perspective into many social issues that are a continuing concern in our lives, whether we confront them on a personal, local, regional, national, or global level. With more than 600 entries, these two volumes cover all of the major theories, approaches, and contemporary issues in social problems and also provide insight into how social conditions get defined as social problems, and the ways different people and organizations view and try to solve them. Key Features · Provides as comprehensive an approach as possible to this multifaceted field by using experts and scholars from 19 disciplines: anthropology, biology, business, chemistry, communications, criminal justice, demography, economics, education, environmental studies, geography, health, history, languages, political science, psychology, social work, sociology, and women's studies · Presents a truly international effort with contributors from 17 countries: Argentina, Australia, Canada, England, France, Germany, Greece, Hong Kong, India, Ireland, Italy, Kenya, New Zealand, Romania, Scotland, Turkey, and the United States · Addresses social problems that are fairly new, such as computer crimes and identity theft, and others that are centuries old, such as poverty and prostitution · Exam
Call Number: Ebsco eBook Academic CollectionISBN: 9781412941655Publication Date: 2008-05-22
Encyclopedia of Violence, Peace, and Conflict by
The 2nd edition of Encyclopedia of Violence, Peace and Conflict provides timely and useful information about antagonism and reconciliation in all contexts of public and personal life. Building on the highly-regarded 1st edition (1999), and publishing at a time of seemingly inexorably increasing conflict and violent behaviour the world over, the Encyclopedia is an essential reference for students and scholars working in the field of peace and conflict resolution studies, and for those seeking to explore alternatives to violence and share visions and strategies for social justice and social change. Covering topics as diverse as Arms Control, Peace Movements, Child Abuse, Folklore, Terrorism and Political Assassinations, the Encyclopedia comprehensively addresses an extensive information area in 225 multi-disciplinary, cross-referenced and authoritatively authored articles. In his Preface to the 1st edition, Editor-in-Chief Lester Kurtz wrote: "The problem of violence poses such a monumental challenge at the end of the 20th century that it is surprising we have addressed it so inadequately. We have not made much progress in learning how to cooperate with one another more effectively or how to conduct our conflicts more peacefully. Instead, we have increased the lethality of our combat through revolutions in weapons technology and military training. The Encyclopedia of Violence, Peace, and Conflict is designed to help us to take stock of our knowledge concerning these crucial phenomena." Ten years on, the need for an authoritative and cross-disciplinary approach to the great issues of violence and peace seems greater than ever.
Call Number: Credo ReferenceISBN: 9780123695031Publication Date: 2008-08-28
Handbook of Race, Ethnicity, Crime, and Justice by Call Number: Credo ReferenceISBN: 9781119114017Publication Date: 2018-09-12
Key Concepts in Race and Ethnicity by
"A conceptually power-packed volume that is at once erudite and accessible, expansive and focused, true to sociological traditions yet stimulatingly exploratory. Scholars and students will be served very well by this absorbing, far-reaching enquiry into ethnicity and race." - Raymond Taras, Tulane University "[W]hat Meer offers with this distinctive new volume is a brief survey of the academic approach to key subjects in this area. For example, the entry titled 'Racialisation' opens with the provenance of the subject in the works of W. E. B. Du Bois and Frantz Fanon; then Meer traces debates about whether the concept can be projected back upon history... Meer offers in-depth coverage of 28 concepts, including 'Citizenship,' 'Hybridity,' 'Intersectionality,' 'Post-colonialism,' 'Transnationalism,' and more... Students wanting a guide into the deeper realms of academic theorizing on race and ethnicity will be well served." - G. A. Lancaster, Choice This book offers an accessible discussion of both foundational and novel concepts in the study of race and ethnicity. Each account will help readers become familiar with how long standing and contemporary arguments within race and ethnicity studies contribute to our understanding of social and political life more broadly. Providing an excellent starting point with which to understand the contemporary relevance of these concepts, Nasar Meer offers an up-to-date and engaging consideration of everyday examples from around the world. This is an indispensable guide for both students and established researchers interested in the study of race and ethnicity.
Call Number: Credo ReferenceISBN: 9780857028679Publication Date: 2014-09-24
World of Criminal Justice by
This addition to the successful "World of... Series covers the theories, concepts and people related to the field of criminal justice that have demonstrated a lasting impact on society or that are poised to have a significant affect on the future. From lawyers, criminals, judges and justices to penal reformers, criminologists and crime victims, biographical entries emphasize the major contributors to the field, including women, minorities and lesser-known figures, while topical entries investigate the circumstances of discovery and processes of development of theories and events.
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780787649593Publication Date: 2001-09-12
Credits
This guide was developed by Leslie Murtha, Atlantic Cape Community College Libraries.
Published February 2021.