Black Lives Matter!: Teaching Resources
Teaching Resources
- Black Lives Matter, the Killing of George Floyd, and the Long Fight for Racial JusticeCurriculum Resources from Brown University
- Teaching Ideas and Resources to Help Students Make Sense of the George Floyd ProtestsFrom the New York Times. All Atlantic Cape students, faculty, and staff have access to the Times.
- Teaching about Racism, Violence, Inequity and the Criminal Justice SystemFrom the AntiDefamation League.
- Reflecting on George Floyd’s Death and Police Violence towards Black AmericansFrom Facing History and Ourselves.
- More Resources on Race in US HistoryFrom Facing History and Ourselves.
- Talking About RaceFrom the National Museum of African American History and Culture.
- Teaching About Race, Racism and Police ViolenceClassroom resources from Teaching Tolerance.
- Guide for Inclusive Teaching at Columbia From Center for Teaching and Learning, 2020.
Books
Race in the College Classroom by
Did affirmative action programs solve the problem of race on American college campuses, as several recent books would have us believe? If so, why does talking about race in anything more than a superficial way make so many students uncomfortable? Written by college instructors from many disciplines, this volume of essays takes a bold first step toward a nationwide conversation. Each of the twenty-nine contributors addresses one central question: what are the challenges facing a college professor who believes that teaching responsibly requires an honest and searching examination of race? Professors from the humanities, social sciences, sciences, and education consider topics such as how the classroom environment is structured by race; the temptation to retreat from challenging students when faced with possible reprisals in the form of complaints or negative evaluations; the implications of using standardized evaluations in faculty tenure and promotion when the course subject is intimately connected with race; and the varying ways in which white faculty and faculty of color are impacted by teaching about race.
Call Number: ML LC212.42 .R33 2002ISBN: 9780813531083Publication Date: 2002-08-07
Teaching about Race and Racism in the College Classroom by
Teaching about race and racism can be a difficult business. Students and instructors alike often struggle with strong emotions, and many people have robust preexisting beliefs about race. At the same time, this is a moment that demands a clear understanding of racism. It is important for students to learn how we got here and how racism is more than just individual acts of meanness. Students also need to understand that colorblindness is not an effective anti-racism strategy. In this book, Cyndi Kernahan argues that you can be honest and unflinching in your teaching about racism while also providing a compassionate learning environment that allows for mistakes and avoids shaming students. She provides evidence for how learning works with respect to race and racism along with practical teaching strategies rooted in that evidence to help instructors feel more confident. She also differentiates between how white students and students of color are likely to experience the classroom, helping instructors provide a more effective learning experience for all students.
Call Number: ML LB 2331 .K42 2019ISBN: 9781949199239Publication Date: 2019-12-01
Critical Pedagogy by
Critical pedagogy refers to the means and methods of testing and attempting to change the structures of schools that allow inequities. It is a cultural-political tool that takes seriously the notion of human differences, particularly those related to race, class, and gender. Critical pedagogy seeks to release the oppressed and unite people in a shared language of critique, struggle, and hope, to end various forms of human suffering. In this revised edition, Kanpol takes the pre- and in-service educators along some initial steps to becoming critical pedagogists. As before, university professors and public school teachers alike will learn how to address their own prophetic commitments to belief and faith in the fight against despair, institutional chaos, oppression, death of spirit, and exile.
Call Number: eBook Academic Collection (EBSCOhost)ISBN: 9780897895538Publication Date: 1999-04-30
Multiculturalism on Campus by
As the diversity of the students on campus increases, the importance for everyone in authority to understand students' distinct cultures and how they perceive our institutions, and equally, to understand our own privilege, and often unconscious cultural assumptions, has never been greater. This book presents a comprehensive set of resources to guide students of education, faculty, higher education administrators, and student affairs leaders in creating an inclusive environment for under-represented groups on campus. It is intended as a guide to gaining a deeper understanding of the various multicultural groups on college campuses for faculty in the classroom and professional staff who desire to understand the complexity of the students they serve, as well as reflect on their own values and motivations. The contributors introduce the reader to the relevant theory, models, practices, and assessment methods to prepare for, and implement, a genuinely multicultural environment. Recognizing that cultural identity is more than a matter of ethnicity and race, they equally address factors such as gender, age, religion, and sexual orientation. In the process, they ask the reader to assess his or her own levels of multicultural sensitivity, awareness, and competence. The book approaches multiculturalism from three perspectives, each of which comprises a separate section: awareness; cultural populations; and cultural competence practice. Section One defines multiculturalism and multicultural competence, considers changing student demographics, explores the impact environment has on culture, and provides the readers with criteria for assessing their cultural competence and awareness of their own racial identity. Section Two addresses the cultural characteristics of specific ethnic or cultural populations, emphasizing their commonalities, and describing programs and practices that have successfully promoted their development. Each chapter includes discussion questions, and/or suggested activities that practitioners can undertake on their own campuses. Individual chapters respectively cover the culture and experiences of African Americans, Asian and Pacific Island Americans, Latinas/os, Native Americans, biracial and multiracial students, the disabled, international students, non-traditional students, students of faith, women, lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender students, and analyze White Americans' attitudes to issues of privilege, racial identity, and social justice. The inclusion of a chapter on the cultural characteristics of White students provides an opportunity for members of the majority culture to perceive of themselves in a cultural sense, and to appreciate their own culture as a first step in allowing them to recognize and appreciate other cultures. The concluding section offers suggestions on how to use the book's insights to achieve systemic change in the college environment. The book is intended as a text for students, and as a practical guide for faculty, academic administrators, student affairs professionals, and others who want to foster an environment in which all students can succeed. It includes case studies, discussion questions, examples of best practice, and recommends resources to use in the classroom.
Call Number: eBook Academic Collection (EBSCOhost)ISBN: 9781579224639Publication Date: 2011-02-03
Classroom in Conflict by
This book transcends recent debates about political correctness to address the underlying problems of teaching controversial subjects in the college and university history classroom. The author criticizes both sides of the debate, rejecting, on the one hand, calls for a uniform, chronological history curriculum and, on the other hand, claims that only ethnic or racial "insiders" are qualified to teach about their communities. In chapters on colonial, comparative, and African history, Williams applies the concept of "Gandhian truth" to historical subjects, moving through tentative and flexible perspectives to achieve a complex picture of historical episodes. And in chapters on imperialism, nationalism, racism, and the problem of "the other," he discusses the difficult and contingent nature of conceptual language. In the second half of the book, he addresses framing rules of discussion by which sensitive issues can be discussed with diverse audiences, the relationship of American pluralism to a world perspective, and what can be accomplished through an education in pluralism.
Call Number: eBook Academic Collection (EBSCOhost)ISBN: 9780791421192Publication Date: 1994-09-20
The Emperor Has No Clothes by
A volume in Educational Leadership for Social Justice Series Editor Jeffrey S. Brooks, University of Missouri-Columbia, Denise E. Armstrong, Brock University; Ira Bogotch, Florida Atlantic University; Sandra Harris, Lamar University; Whitney H. Sherman, Virginia Commonwealth University; George Theoharis, Syracuse University The Emperor Has No Clothes: Teaching About Race and Racism to People Who Don't Want to Know offers theoretical grounding and practical approaches for leaders and teachers interested in effectively addressing racism and other oppressive constructs. The book draws both on the author's extensive experience teaching about race and racism in classroom and community settings and from the theory and practice of a wide range of educators, activists, and researchers committed to social justice. The first chapter looks at the toxic consequences of our western cultural insistence on profit, binary thinking, and individualism to establish the theoretical framework for teaching about race and racism. Chapter two investigates privileged resistance, offering a psycho/social history of denial, particularly as a product of racist culture. Chapter three reviews the research on the construction and reconstruction of dominant culture both historically and now in order to establish sound strategic approaches that educators, teachers, facilitators, and activists can take as we work together to move from a culture of profit and fear to one of shared hope and love. Chapter four lays out the stages of a process that supports teaching about racist, white supremacy culture, explaining how students can be taken through an iterative process of relationshipbuilding, analysis, planning, action, and reflection. The final chapter borrows from the brilliant, brave, and incisive writer Dorothy Allison to discuss the things the author knows for sure about how to teach people to see that which we have been conditioned to fear knowing. The chapter concludes with how to encourage and support collective and collaborative action as a critical goal of the process.
Call Number: eBook Academic Collection (EBSCOhost)ISBN: 9781617351044Publication Date: 2010-08-01
Culturally Responsive Strategies for Reforming STEM Higher Education by
By the end of this decade, the U.S. economy will annually create hundreds of thousands of new jobs requiring a bachelor's degree in STEM fields, particularly computer science. This increasing need for computer scientists, coupled with an inconsistent agenda for managing dramatic shifts in the demographic landscape of higher education, compromises our competitiveness in scientific discovery and innovation. As higher education seeks to address this issue, the need for more culturally responsive approaches to undergraduate STEM teaching also increases. This book uses the power of reflection, storytelling, and data to holistically demonstrate the effectiveness of a novel professional development intervention for STEM faculty - Teaching to Increase Diversity and Equity in STEM, or TIDES - that significantly increased faculty self-efficacy in implementing culturally responsive pedagogies. In it, the editors combine the authentic voices of authors from multiple institutional contexts and individual worldviews to assimilate and synthesize broad theoretical concepts into practice in usable ways, while also offering concrete applicable examples of strategies and solutions that serve as an important comprehensive reference for all undergraduate educators and administrators. This practical guide provides a durable platform for building capacity in understanding of the cultural complexities and institutional realities of recruiting and retaining diverse students in STEM, particularly the computer sciences.
Call Number: eBook Academic Collection (EBSCOhost)ISBN: 9781787434066Publication Date: 2019-01-14
(Re)Teaching Trayvon by
The authors bring you in this edited volume a collection of essays that address the relationship between racial violence, media, the criminal justice system, and education. This book is unique in that it brings together the perspectives of university professors, artists, poets, community activists, classroom teachers, and legal experts. With the Trayvon Martin murder and legal proceedings at the center of reflection and analysis, authors poignantly provide insight into how racial violence is institutionalized and consumed by the mass public. Authors borrow from educational theory, history, gender studies, sociology, cultural studies, the arts, legal scholarship, and personal reflection to begin the dialogue on how to move toward education for racial and social justice. The book is recommended for secondary educators, community organizers, undergraduate and graduate social science and education courses.
Call Number: eBook Collection (EBSCOhost)ISBN: 9789462097834Publication Date: 2014-01-01
Social Justice Education by
This book addresses the combination of pedagogical, curricular, and institutional commitments necessary to create and sustain diversity on campus. Its premise is that the socially just classroom flourishes in the context of a socially just institution, and it invites faculty and administrators to create such classrooms and institutions. This book grew out of a project - involving deans and directors of teaching centers and diversity offices from six institutions - to instigate discussions among teachers and administrators about implementing socially just practices in their classrooms, departments, and offices. The purpose was to explore how best to foster such conversations across departments and functions within an institution, as well as between institutions. This book presents the theoretical framework used, and many of the successful projects to which it gave rise. Recognizing that many faculty have little preparation for teaching students whose backgrounds, culture, and educational socialization differ from theirs, the opening foundational section asks teachers to attend closely to their and their students' relative power and positionality in the classroom, and to the impact of the materials, resources and pedagogical approaches employed. Further chapters offer analytical tools to promote inquiry and change. The concluding sections of the book demonstrate how intra- and inter-institutional collaborations inspired teachers to rise to the challenge of their campuses' commitments to diversity. Among the examples presented is an initiative involving the faculty development coordinator, and faculty from a wide range of domains at DePauw University, who built upon an existing ethics initiative to embed social justice across the curriculum. In another, professors of mathematics from three institutions describe how they collaborated to create socially just classrooms that both serve mathematical learning, and support service learning or community-based learning activities. The final essay by a student from the Maldives, describing how she navigated the chasm between life in an American college and her family circumstances, will reinforce the reader's commitment to establishing social justice in the academy. This book provides individual faculty, faculty developers and diversity officers with the concepts, reflective tools, and collaborative models, as well as a wealth of examples, to confidently embark on the path to transforming educational practice.
Call Number: eBook Academic Collection (EBSCOhost)ISBN: 9781579223601Publication Date: 2010-08-24
I Have Been Waiting by
While much progress has been made towards the quest for racial equality in the education system, there is still much work to be done. In 'I Have Been Waiting', Jennifer Simpson pays explicit attention to the ways in which systems of higher education have excluded people of colour, and how white students and teachers might better address issues of race and racism in educational settings. Simpson's argument is wide-ranging and incisive. She examines the role of history and the link between racial agency and racial memories; she probes epistemology, claims to authority, and the limits of a knowledge base that draws primarily on what white people know; she analyzes cross-racial dialogues - including barriers and steps to implementation - to reveal the prevalence of assimilationist approaches; and she reiterates the importance of making whiteness visible. Methodologically, Simpson draws heavily on autoethnography and social analysis, but also provides an excellent historical overview of the issues central to race and higher education, as well a rigorous examination of theoretical discourse from fields including pedagogy, whiteness studies, and feminist thought. 'I Have Been Waiting' is an important work, confirming that sustained attention to issues of race in higher education is both difficult and necessary. Suitable for course use, each chapter addresses a particular challenge in the area of race and education, and offers practical guidelines for those interested in anti-racist change. An appendix provides discussion, questions, exercise, and assignments.
Call Number: eBook Academic Collection (EBSCOhost)ISBN: 9780802085696Publication Date: 2003-09-27
Teaching Resistance: Radicals, Revolutionaries, and Cultural Subversives in the Classroom by Call Number: eBook Academic Collection (EBSCOhost)ISBN: 9781629637099Publication Date: 2019-10-01
Credits
This guide was developed by Leslie Murtha, Atlantic Cape Community College Libraries.
Published February 2021.