Clemente Course in the Humanities: Research Databases
Library Databases
Off Campus access username and password can be found in Blackboard on the
Institution Page. Students: look for Student Tools to Stay Connected at Atlantic Cape. Faculty: look for Key information about Libraries and Tutoring. Or you can contact the library for username and password.
-
Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Large interdisciplinary database that contains articles from over 17,000 scholarly journals, trade magazines, and popular magazines.
It offers broad subject coverage, including anthropology biology chemistry, computer science, ethnic and multicultural studies, food science, general science, geography, law, mathematics, music, physics, psychology, religion, women's studies, and many more.
-
Literary Reference Source This link opens in a new window
Provides information on approximately 140,000 authors from a wide range of literary disciplines and time frames as well as plot summaries, synopses, and overviews of their works. In addition, it also includes 14,500 short stories and 54,000 poems.
-
SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Covers scholarly publications in sociology, social work, and related fields. Contains 2.3 million articles and other materials (64% in full text) with deep coverage from 1960 and some back to 1882.
-
Military and Government Collection This link opens in a new window
Includes periodicals, academic journals, full-text books and pamphlets on military topics. Provides full text for nearly 300 periodicals and 245 pamphlets and indexes and abstracts nearly 400 titles. Some government publications are included in this database.
-
Points of View Reference Center This link opens in a new window
Covers controversial issues of many descriptions. Contains many core topics, each with an overview (objective background / description), point (argument), and counterpoint (opposing argument). Links to additional full-text articles. For best results, use the Browse Topics feature.
Free Open Access Databases
-
Arts and Humanities Commons This link opens in a new window
A free collection of research on arts and humanities. Includes peer-reviewed journal articles, book chapters, dissertations, working papers, conference proceedings, and other original scholarly work.
-
Philosophy Commons This link opens in a new window
A free international collection of research on philosophy. Includes peer-reviewed journal articles, book chapters, dissertations, working papers, conference proceedings, and other original scholarly work.
-
Military and Government Collection This link opens in a new window
Includes periodicals, academic journals, full-text books and pamphlets on military topics. Provides full text for nearly 300 periodicals and 245 pamphlets and indexes and abstracts nearly 400 titles. Some government publications are included in this database.
-
History Commons This link opens in a new window
A free international collection of research on history worldwide. Covers cultural and physical anthropology, folklore, linguistics, and other topics. Includes peer-reviewed journal articles, book chapters, dissertations, working papers, conference proceedings, and other original scholarly work.
-
United States History Commons This link opens in a new window
An open-access collection of scholarly research in American history. Includes peer-reviewed journal articles, book chapters, dissertations, working papers, conference proceedings, and other original scholarly work.
-
Making of America This link opens in a new window
Civil War and Reconstruction-era magazines from the collections of the University of Michigan. Free access.
A-Z Database List button
Choose a resource from the list of all databases and other online resources from the Atlantic Cape library
Off Campus database access
► Databases and eBooks can be accessed from Off Campus through the Off Campus Proxy Server ◄
Find the user name and password in Blackboard on the Institution page.
- Students: Look under Student Tools to Stay Connected at Atlantic Cape.
- Faculty: Look under Key information about Libraries and Tutoring.
or you can email library@atlanticcape.edu for username and password.
♦ Off-campus access is limited to current students, faculty and staff of Atlantic Cape Community College ♦