Child Development Resources: Books - eBooks
eBooks
Read our ebooks while off campus. Use the link below for off campus access to the ebook collections.
Off Campus access username and password can be found in Blackboard on the
Institution Page section for Student Tools to Stay Connected at Atlantic Cape or you can Contact the library for username and password.
Storytime by
The author draws on his own extensive research in urban classrooms to present a comprehensive, grounded theoretical model of children's understanding of picture storybooks--the first to focus specifically on young children. Advancing a much broader and deeper theory of literary understanding, the author suggests that children respond in five different ways during picture storybook readalouds; that these responses reveal that children are engaged in different types of literary meaning-making; and that these types of meaning-making are examples of five foundational aspects of literary understanding. Capturing the liveliness of children's responses, this dynamic volume: Describes picture storybooks as sophisticated aesthetic objects worthy of children's literary critical abilities. Offers a theory of literary understanding that is relevant to contemporary young children from a wide variety of ethnic, racial, and socioeconomic backgrounds. Includes a wealth of examples of children's responses to literature and how teachers scaffold their interpretation of stories. Examines the significance of young children's literary interpretation, factors that influence literary understanding, and implications for practice and further research.
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780807748282Publication Date: 2007-11-23
The Role of the Adult in Early Years Settings by
Search this title via EBSCOhost's E-Book collection
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780335242313Publication Date: 2012-04-01
Social Pedagogy and Working with Children and Young People by
Search this title via EBSCOhost's E-Book collection
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780857002327Publication Date: 2011-01-01
Early Childhood Assessment by
Search this title via EBSCOhost's E-Book collection.
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780309124652Publication Date: 2008-12-05
Child Development for Child Care and Protection Workers by
Search this title via EBSCOhost's E-Book collection
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780857002457Publication Date: 2011-02-12
Child Development from Birth to Eight by
Search this title via EBSCOhost's E-Book collection
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780335235230Publication Date: 2007-12-01
Books
Children As Readers in Children's Literature by
We are fascinated by text and we are fascinated by reading. Is this because we are in a time of textual change? Given that young people always seem to be in the vanguard of technological change, questions about what and how they read are the subject of intense debate. Children as Readers in Children's Literature explores these questions by looking at the literature that is written for children and young people to see what it tells us about them as readers. The contributors to this book are a group of distinguished children's literature scholars, literacy and media specialists who contemplate the multiple images of children as readers and how they reflect the power and purpose of texts and literacy. Contributors to this wide-ranging text consider: How books shape the readers we become Cognitive and affective responses to representation of books and reading　　　 The relationship between love-stories and reading as a cultural activity　 Reading as 'Protection and Enlightenment' Picturebooks as stage sets for acts of reading Readers' perceptions of a writer This portrayal of books and reading also reveals adults' beliefs about childhood and literacy and how they are changing. It is a theme of crucial significance in the shaping of future generations of readers given these beliefs influence not only ideas about the teaching of literature but also about the role of digital technologies. This text is a must-read for any individual interested in the importance of keeping literature alive through reading.
Call Number: Z 1037.A1 C465 2016 (ML)ISBN: 9781138806702Publication Date: 2015-10-05
Search the catalog
Interlibrary Loan
Did you find an article not available in full text? How about a book not owned by Atlantic Cape or the Atlantic County Library System.
All is not lost. The library may be able to get your article or book from another library. The Interlibrary loan service is free to all current students, faculty and staff of Atlantic Cape.
- Don't wait too long to make your request. Books may take 7-10 days to arrive. Articles may take up to 7 days.
Please be sure to provide as complete a citation as possible, so the lending library can quickly locate your request.
Interlibrary Loan for Articles
- Loan periods are set by the lending library.
Off Campus database access
► Databases and eBooks can be accessed from Off Campus through the Off Campus Proxy Server ◄
The username and password can be found in Blackboard on the Institution Page section for Student Tools to Stay Connected at Atlantic Cape or you can email library@atlanticcape.edu for username and password.
♦ Limited to current students, faculty and staff of Atlantic Cape Community College ♦