ESL Resources: Books - eBooks
Resources for students learning English
Selection of ESL Books
Read any good books lately? The library has lots of books for language learners. You'll find books to help you expand your vocabulary, improve your grammar, and polish your writing and speaking skills. We've also got lots of good stories.
- On campus, check out the ESL collection in the library in Atlantic City, or use the boxes below to explore. Don't forget, we've got ebooks, too.
- See Your Library Card to learn how to register your student Id card to borrow materials from the libraries of Atlantic Cape.
- For off-campus access to ebboks, contact the library for the user name and password.
- Looking for a good story to read? Check out our guide to books for English language learners.
Search the catalog
ESL textbooks
Selection of General ESL Textbooks
Communication Beginnings: An Introductory Listening and Speaking Text for English Language Learners by
This open access textbook is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 4.0 International License. CC BY NC
This textbook is designed for advanced beginning-intermediate English language learners in an academic English program. It is composed of 7 chapters, each of which covers specific speaking and listening learning objectives and includes dialogues, interviews, discussions and conversation activities. Each chapter also focuses on 10 target words from the New General Service List of English vocabulary and reviews basic grammar points. The textbook includes an audio component that consists of recorded conversations of native and non-native English speakers, as well as links to additional listening resources on the web.
Audio files are also available online via PSU Mediaspace.
Call Number: OER textbook from Portland UniversityPublication Date: 2018; updated 2019
Achieving Competency in English by
Achieving Competency in English is a life skills text for newcomers to the United States. A unique feature of the book are the cultural competencies included in this book, such as common courtesies, meeting people, emergencies, community services, getting a job, minding one's money, finding a place to live, staying healthy, food and nutrition, and education. Each of the book's ten chapters begins with a Reading Readiness opener, with pictures that introduce the theme and vocabulary of the chapter in a non-threatening way. Chapters also contain reading passages, real-life situations for discussion, realia and writing components, visual literacy practice, and suggestions for outside study. CASAS correlations are included This is a revised edition from the book titled Competency in English by Planaria J. Price. Planaria J. Price is an instructor, Evans Adult School, Los Angeles.
Call Number: AC PE 1128 .P72 2005ISBN: 9780472030439Publication Date: 2005-08-15
IGCSE English as a Second Language by
Written by an experienced IGCSE teacher and CIE teacher trainer, English as a Second Language offers clear, practical support for students. The second edition was revised in 2005 to fit the syllabus and according to comments made by practising teachers worldwide. The content of the book matches the syllabus and is endorsed by the University of Cambridge International Examinations for use with the syllabus. It is divided into succinct units based on the specific skill areas of the IGCSE examination. The units adopt a lively approach to the subject, utilising a diverse range of stimulus material. They also include imaginative and stimulating exercises designed to build confidence and develop the skills needed to succeed in the examination. A Teacher's book and student workbook are also available.
Call Number: AC PE1128.A3 L83 2004ISBN: 9780521546942Publication Date: 2004-07-01
English Simplified by
English Simplified, 11/e - at only 72 pages - is a concise, inexpensive grammar handbook that continues to provide comprehensive coverage of grammar, punctuation, mechanics, spelling, word choice, and includes tips for ESL writers. The book also offers easy-to-read tables that clarify verb tenses and forms, the latest updates on documentation style, and material on note-taking, source evaluation, and avoiding plagiarism.
Call Number: AC PE1112 .E43 2007ISBN: 9780321410696Publication Date: 2006-03-20
English for Foreign Language Speakers the Easy Way by
Students of English as a second language will value this book as an excellent self-instruction guide, or alternately, as a handy workbook to supplement their formal ESL course. Many ESL teachers will also value this volume as their preferred textbook or textbook supplement. Following a diagnostic pretest, the author guides students through the details of reading, writing, developing vocabulary and grammar, listening, speaking, and correct pronunciation of American style English. She devotes separate chapters to each of the parts of speech, as well as to sentence structure, punctuation, capitalization, word roots, homonyms and synonyms, idioms, rules for academic writing in English, and more. Each chapter contains a list of vocabulary words carefully selected to expand every ESL student's word power in English. The book concludes with a set of comprehensive vocabulary review exercises and a lengthy comprehensive English exam with answers. Students who master these final two chapters can feel confident regarding their command of English.
Call Number: AC PE 1128 .L336 2008ISBN: 9780764137365Publication Date: 2008-02-01
Off Campus access username and password can be found in Blackboard on the
Institution Page. Students: look for Student Tools to Stay Connected at Atlantic Cape. Faculty: look for Key information about Libraries and Tutoring. Or you can contact the library for username and password.
Let's Communicate by This book is designed as an ESL textbook/workbook for college students
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781944131791Publication Date: 2015-11-30
ESL Vocabulary books
A Selection of Vocabulary Books
Practice Makes Perfect by
Introduces you to hundreds of useful words and helps you build the skills and confidence needed to use them correctly in conversation. This title includes many useful exercises that provide you with word-building practice. It teaches how to rapidly analyze new words you may encounter and incorporate them into your vocabulary.
Call Number: AC PE 1128 .Y35 2006ISBN: 9780071460859Publication Date: 2006-07-13
Essential Idioms in English by
From catching a cold to landing on your feet, idiomatic expressions add color and style to the English language. The latest edition of Essential Idioms in English remains the resource of choice for mastering more than 500 common English idioms, phrasal verbs, and collocations. Essential Idioms in English thoroughly defines and illustrates each idiom, then reinforces its meaning and usage with multiple-choice, true-false, fill-in-the-blank, and matching exercises.
Call Number: AC PE1128 .D513 2004ISBN: 9780131411760Publication Date: 2003-09-04
Improving Vocabulary Skills by Call Number: AC PE1449 .N5 2002ISBN: 9780944210130Publication Date: 2002-01-01
Building Academic Vocabulary by
Building Academic Vocabulary was written because English for Academic Purposes (EAP) students often complain that they don't have the vocabularies they need for college courses. Building Academic Vocabulary will help students develop lexical precision as they work in such often exercised modes as cause-effect, general description, description of processes, or comparison/contrast. Each unit focuses on 10-15 key vocabulary items within a certain essential meaning area. Each unit also highlights--and lightly exercises--20-25 additional vocabulary items that provide a broader and more diverse second level of learning. The nine meaning areas addressed were carefully selected for their usefulness in the writing and speaking most common in EAP classes. Similarly, the comments about usage and syntactic restrictions in the text have been referenced to two widely used corpora. Building Academic Vocabulary is usable as either a self-study tool for advanced students (or professionals eager to refine their English) or as a course book. It makes an excellent supplement to a course or text that focuses on rhetorical modes, either reading or writing.
Call Number: AC ESL PE 1449 .Z86 2002ISBN: 9780472085897Publication Date: 2002-05-07
English Vocabulary in Use Elementary with Answers by
An updated edition of the best-selling vocabulary practice book. Whether you're studying on your own or in class, English Vocabulary in Use Elementary covers all the words and phrases you need at this level to understand and be understood in English. This new edition is fully updated to make the book even more relevant and accessible. This 'with answers' edition of this best-selling vocabulary book is ideal for self-study.
Call Number: AC ESL PE 1128 .M3817 2010ISBN: 9780521136174Publication Date: 2010-03-11
Off Campus access username and password can be found in Blackboard on the
Institution Page. Students: look for Student Tools to Stay Connected at Atlantic Cape. Faculty: look for Key information about Libraries and Tutoring. Or you can contact the library for username and password.
English Vocabulary Made Easy by
This book contains an introductory page exclusively about the author, his brief life sketch, notable works and achievements along with word meanings of difficult words on each page marked and highlighted in the text for the students' convenience and easy understanding of the story. There is also an Exercise part after each story titled as 'An Understanding' containing four or five Questions which the reader/student has to answer making the book all the more interesting and reader-friendly. Therefore, these books are a must read for all the students, irrespective of their age, education and social background. Even the teachers may find it interesting and can recommend the books for the senior classes as supplementary reading. #v&spublishers
Call Number: Ebsco eBook CollectionISBN: 9789350570791Publication Date: 2013-10-31
Which Word to Use? by Call Number: Ebsco eBook C ollectionISBN: 9781935124542Publication Date: 2011-01-31
2000 Bilingual Phrases by Call Number: Ebsco eBook Academic CollectionISBN: 9781417581047Publication Date: 2003-01-01
500 Words, Phrases and Idioms for the TOEFL iBT Plus Typing Strategies by
This is the 2019 edition. HOW IS THIS TOEFL BOOK DIFFERENT? This TOEFL book is different because it uses an integrated vocabulary learning system called recycling. Recycling is simple. Each exercise is divided into four quizzes. Quiz 1, a multiple-choice vocabulary quiz, introduces ten new words. Next, you will do Quiz 2. Quiz 2 is a sentence-completion quiz based on the ten words in Quiz 1. Next, you will do Quiz 3, a spelling quiz. The speaker on the audio file will say the same ten words in turn. You will then have ten seconds to spell each word by saying it and typing it. Finally, you will do Quiz 4. Quiz 4 is a 60-word typing test based on the ten new words you have been recycling through Quizzes 1, 2 and 3, plus words, phrases and idioms recycled from previous exercises. BONUS MATERIAL Learn essential rhetorical strategies and a test-proven way to develop opinion-based and fact-based TOEFL essays. Audio included through Internet download.
Call Number: Ebsco eBook Academic CollectionISBN: 9781889057712Publication Date: 2010-02-01
Specialized Vocabulary
Barron's ESL Guide to American Business English by
Focused especially to fit the needs of ESL students, this handbook for communicating in business situations describes a wide variety of business writings, and recommends appropriate styles and formats for each. Samples and instruction cover sales and public relations letters, reports and proposals, resumes, job applications, and much more. A section on usage reviews basics of English grammar, emphasizing sentence construction and verb forms. Students of English as a second language who plan to do business in North America can become confused by jargon and formalisms that sometimes invade business correspondence. Author Andrea Geffner's advice to them is to relax and stop worrying about sounding "business-like" or "official." Correct but relaxed English is always preferable. This book will meet the needs of all ESL students--especially those in business schools--but can also serve as a general quick reference guide in any business office.
Call Number: AC PE 1115 .G38 1998ISBN: 9780764105944Publication Date: 1998-10-01
English in Medicine by
English in Medicine is a course for doctors, medical students and other medical professionals who need to communicate with patients and medical colleagues. Each of the seven units focuses on one area of doctor-patient communication, from history-taking and examination to diagnosis and treatment. The course develops all four skills through a wide variety of activities. The third edition is now in full colour and has been updated to take account of developments in medicine and the impact of new information technology. The course does not require specialist knowledge on the part of the teacher.
Call Number: AC PE1127.M4 G56 2005ISBN: 9780521606660Publication Date: 2005-01-06
ESL Conversation eBooks
Off Campus access username and password can be found in Blackboard on the
Institution Page. Students: look for Student Tools to Stay Connected at Atlantic Cape. Faculty: look for Key information about Libraries and Tutoring. Or you can contact the library for username and password.
Concise Dictionary of Phrases by
The book deals exhaustively with the varied nuances of etiquette and good manners for all important occasions. A handy guide for people of all age-groups to constantly cultivate the acumen for polished behaviour, in order to outshine in all spheres of life. Children are inquisitive and imitative by nature. Let their perception absorb the bonhomie, cheerfulness and courtesy all around for an overall growth of their personalities. #v&spublishers
Call Number: Ebsco eBook CollectionISBN: 9789350571477Publication Date: 2014-04-09
Hello-- and Now What? by Call Number: Ebsco eBook Academic CollectionISBN: 9788478733903Publication Date: 2004-01-01
ESL Advanced Study eBooks
Advanced ESL eBooks
Off Campus access username and password can be found in Blackboard on the
Institution Page. Students: look for Student Tools to Stay Connected at Atlantic Cape. Faculty: look for Key information about Libraries and Tutoring. Or you can contact the library for username and password.
Introducing English Linguistics by
Are you looking for a genuine introduction to the linguistics of English that provides a broad overview of the subject that sustains students' interest and avoids excessive detail? Introducing English Linguistics accomplishes this goal in two ways. First, it takes a top-down approach to language, beginning with the largest unit of linguistic structure, the text, and working its way down through successively smaller structures (sentences, words, and finally speech sounds). The advantage of presenting language this way is that students are first given the larger picture - they study language in context - and then see how the smaller pieces of language are a consequence of the larger goals of linguistic communication. Second, the book does not contain invented examples, as is the case with most comparable texts, but instead takes its sample materials from the major computerised databases of spoken and written English, giving students a more realistic view of language.
Call Number: Ebsco eBook Academic CollectionISBN: 9780521833509Publication Date: 2009-05-14
ESL Academic success
Academic Success
Living in the USA by
From the Publisher: As William Gay, distinguished adviser to the last edition of Living in the U.S.A., so aptly noted, the United States is a country that is never what you think it is. Since that edition was introduced nearly ten years ago, the country has been struggling with troubling, divisive events and issues, especially the September 11, 2001 attacks and the resulting War on Terror. Despite these extraordinary times, the United States still holds promise and opportunity for those who take the time to understand it. Jef Davis, a seasoned interculturalist and long-time adviser to international travelers, provides us a revised edition of Living in the U.S.A. that will guide you through the confusing, conflicted, exciting country and its diverse population...
Call Number: E169.Z83 L355 2005 (WO ESL)ISBN: 1931930198Publication Date: 2005
What Every ESL Student Should Know by
This book teaches English language learners about language learning and classroom expectations. It is a compilation of advice, experiences, suggestions, strategies, and learning theories collected over many years of teaching this population. What Every ESL Student Should Know was written to help English language learners be successful in community college and college classrooms--specifically, how to prepare students for expectations and behavior within the classroom and how to help them to be good students, how to participate in class, what to expect from the class, and what to do to learn English. Learning strategies and language theories are presented in brief. This text is ideal for orientations or pre-college workshops for international or immigrant students.
Call Number: PE1128.A2 F572 2008 (WO ESL)ISBN: 9780472032860Publication Date: 2008-01-31
Beyond the Answer Sheet by
You've come a great distance to study in a new land, but now that you're here, you've discovered that education is very different in the West. You fear that you do not have the skills to succeed in this new environment. Fear no longer. Here is your guide to all things academic in the West, from educational philosophy to life in the classroom, to relationships with professors. As you read, you will learn how to organize your time, complete a variety of assignments, navigate the library, produce high quality research essays and write examinations with confidence. I admire international students. You have courage. You have motivation. You have endurance. There is every reason for you to do well if you have the proper understanding of Western education. This handbook is intended to help you gain that understanding, accomplish all your educational goals and graduate triumphantly.
Call Number: LB 2375 .B33 2003 (WO ESL)ISBN: 9780595271962Publication Date: 2003-03-15
Search Atlantic Cape eBook Collections
Off Campus access username and password can be found in Blackboard on the
Institution Page. Students: look for Student Tools to Stay Connected at Atlantic Cape. Faculty: look for Key information about Libraries and Tutoring. Or you can contact the library for username and password.
ESL Grammer Books
A Selection of Grammar Books
English Grammar for ESL Learners by
Continuing the success of the bestselling Practice Makes Perfect series,Practice Makes Perfect English Grammar for ESL Learnersfeatures well-organized presentations, skill-building exercises, and a focus on practical conversational skills. Here you will find clear explanations accompanied by highlighted examples and boxed summaries of key points. You also get numerous exercises in a variety of formats, including fill-inthe-blank sentences and passages, translations, multiple-choice questions, sentence rewriting, and creative writing exercises. Answers to all questions are provided in the back of the book.
Call Number: PE 1128 .S977 2005ISBN: 9780071441322Publication Date: 2004-12-07- Practice Makes Perfect by
Introduces you to hundreds of useful words and helps you build the skills and confidence needed to use them correctly in conversation. This title includes many useful exercises that provide you with word-building practice. It teaches how to rapidly analyze new words you may encounter and incorporate them into your vocabulary.
Call Number: PE 1128 .Y35 2006ISBN: 9780071460859Publication Date: 2006-07-13
McGraw-Hill's Essential ESL Grammar by
Master American English and communicate with confidence As an experienced student of English, you know the language can be a tricky one to learn with its complex grammar and its many "exceptions to the rule" rules. Written by ESL guru Mark Lester--author of Grammar and Usage in the Classroom--this authoritative reference unravels these mysteries so you can take your English-language skills to the next level. You'll gain the confidence to speak English in any setting: in the workplace, at school, in social situations, and at home. Master those troublesome subjects that baffle even native speakers of English: articles * determiners * predicate adjective complements * post-noun modifiers * conjunctions * word order * verb tenses * modals * noun clauses
Call Number: PE 1128 .L456 2008ISBN: 9780071496421Publication Date: 2008-04-11
How English Works by
This book makes grammar practice interesting by presenting rules that are easy to understand and remember, with exercises that entertain as they teach.
Call Number: PE1128 .S836 1997ISBN: 9780194314565Publication Date: 1997-11-06
Grammar by
Premium Edition with CD! ESL Grammar is designed for intermediate and advanced high school and college-level non-native speakers of English who need to improve their ESL (English as a Second Language) grammar skills. ESL Intermediate/Advanced Grammar provides students with simple explanations of grammar, skill-building exercises, detailed answer keys, and test-taking techniques. It's the perfect companion for classroom use or self-guided studies in ESL. This new Premium Edition includes a CD-ROM containing versatile Vocabulary-Building games plus a Vocabulary Enhancer chart, helping ESL students to sharpen their grammar skills even further! DETAILS - Grammar-oriented exercises with simple explanations that allow students to master concepts through extensive practice - Test-taking techniques featuring strategies for success on ESL tests - Comprehensive Glossary - Includes CD-ROM with Vocabulary-Building Games and Vocabulary Enhancer chart - Superb preparation for students taking the TOEFL (Test of English as a Foreign Language) REA...Real review, Real practice, Real results.
Call Number: PE 1128 .M763 2009ISBN: 9780738604688Publication Date: 2008-09-15
Schaum's Outline of Punctuation, Capitalization and Spelling by
Confusing Textbooks? Missed Lectures? Tough Test Questions? Fortunately for you, there's Schaum's Outlines. More than 40 million students have trusted Schaum's to help them succeed in the classroom and on exams. Schaum's is the key to faster learning and higher grades in every subject. Each Outline presents all the essential course information in an easy-to-follow, topic-by-topic format. You also get hundreds of examples, solved problems, and practice exercises to test your skills. This Schaum's Outline gives you Practice problems with full explanations that reinforce knowledge Coverage of the most up-to-date developments in your course field In-depth review of practices and applications Fully compatible with your classroom text, Schaum's highlights all the important facts you need to know. Use Schaum's to shorten your study time-and get your best test scores! Schaum's Outlines-Problem Solved.
Call Number: PE1450 .E5 1992ISBN: 9780070194878Publication Date: 1992-01-22
Off Campus access username and password can be found in Blackboard on the
Institution Page. Students: look for Student Tools to Stay Connected at Atlantic Cape. Faculty: look for Key information about Libraries and Tutoring. Or you can contact the library for username and password.
Understanding English Grammar by
Language is primarily a tool for communication, yet many textbooks still treat English grammar as simply a set of rules and facts to be memorised by rote. This new textbook is made for students who are frustrated with this approach and would like instead to understand grammar and how it works. Why are there two future tenses in English? What are auxiliaries and why are they so confusing? Why are English motion verbs hard to use? Why are determiners so important in English? These and many other frequently asked questions are answered in this handy guide. Student learning is supported with numerous exercises, chapter summaries and suggestions for further reading. An accompanying website offers further resources, including additional classroom exercises and a chance to interact with the author. It is the essential grammar toolkit for students of English language and linguistics and future teachers of English as a Second Language.
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780521763295Publication Date: 2010-12-09
English Prepositions Explained by
This completely revised and expanded edition of English Prepositions Explained (EPE), originally published in 1998, covers approximately 100 simple, compound, and phrasal English prepositions of space and time - with the focus being on short prepositions such as at, by, in, and on. Its target readership includes teachers of ESOL, pre-service translators and interpreters, undergraduates in English linguistics programs, studious advanced learners and users of English, and anyone who is inquisitive about the English language. The overall aim is to explain how and why meaning changes when one preposition is swapped for another in the same context. While retaining most of the structure of the original, this edition says more about more prepositions. It includes many more figures - virtually all new. The exposition draws on recent research, and is substantially founded on evidence from digitalized corpora, including frequency data. EPE gives information and insights that will not be found in dictionaries and grammar handbooks.
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9789027211736Publication Date: 2010-08-11
Guide to Prepositions by
...Prologue English prepositions are one of the most difficult points of the English language for those who want to acquire a thorough knowledge of the language. Very often English prepositions do not correspond to their homologues in other languages, in this case, Spanish. • I am waiting for Peter. • Estoy esperando a Pedro. In other cases, there may be a preposition in one language where there is ...
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9788478732722Publication Date: 2003-01-01
ESL Speaking, Listening, Presenting Books-eBooks
Speaking, Listening, and Presenting
Focus on Pronunciation, Beginning by
Focus on Pronunciation 1 gives beginning to high-beginning students the tools, tips, and techniques to help them speak English clearly and accurately. The variety of activities and accessible style makes learning fun. A five-part structure allows focused practice in individual sound areas: Vowels; Consonants; Syllables and Stress in Words; Rhythms; and Intonation. Features Clear explanations and diagrams make the text easy to use. Engaging activities, including games and high-interest listening and speaking tasks, guide students from controlled practice to communicative interaction. Self-study material and audio CDs offer students a wealth of practice outside the classroom.
Call Number: AC PE 1137 .L22 2005ISBN: 9780130978738Publication Date: 2004-06-04
Clear Speech by
Pronunciation and Listening Comprehension in North American English. This is a revised and expanded version of the highly successful and innovative pronunciation text for intermediate to high-intermediate students of North American English. The Clear Speech, Third Edition, Student's Book provides learners with visual representations of important pronunciation features, such as voicing and syllable length. It features a reordered table of contents, a greater emphasis on listening recognition, and more coverage of vowel sounds. It also contains a Student Audio CD, so students can practice many of the exercises on their own.
Call Number: AC PE1128 .G52 2005ISBN: 9780521543545Publication Date: 2004-11-29
Cheater's Guide to Speaking English Like a Native by
Native English-speakers use a large number of proverbs and colloquial expressions in their daily conversations. These common sayings, which evolved over the centuries, are like "codes" that reveal the cultural values and attitudes of the speakers. To fully understand and communicate in English, it's necessary to be familiar with these expressions and know how and when to use them. The Cheater's Guide to Speaking English like a Native is a shortcut to achieving that goal.
Call Number: AC PE 1460 .D43 2007ISBN: 9780804836821Publication Date: 2007-08-15
Speech Communication Made Simple by
This is a practical course that motivates advanced students to speak confidently and effectively. With its lighthearted and engaging self-help book approach, the text helps students acquire speech communication and listening skills that they can apply immediately and throughout their lives.
Call Number: AC PN4129.15 .D33 2006ISBN: 9780131955448Publication Date: 2006-04-10
Academic Listening Encounters - Life in Society by
The Academic Encounters series uses a sustained content approach to teach skills necessary for taking academic courses in English. There are two books for each content area. Academic Listening Encounters: Life in Society engages students through interviews and academic lectures on stimulating topics from the field of sociology. Topics include culture shock, gender roles, and ways of solving crime. Students practice crucial listening skills, such as listening for main ideas and details and listening for signal words. They also practice note-taking skills, discuss content, conduct interviews, and make presentations. A Student Audio CD with the lecture portion of the audio program is included. Topics correspond with those in Academic Encounters: American Studies. The books may be used independently or together.
Call Number: AC PE1128 .S218 2004ISBN: 9780521754835Publication Date: 2004-04-19
Off Campus access username and password can be found in Blackboard on the
Institution Page. Students: look for Student Tools to Stay Connected at Atlantic Cape. Faculty: look for Key information about Libraries and Tutoring. Or you can contact the library for username and password.
English Made Easy by Call Number: Ebsco eBook Academic CollectionISBN: 9780804845243Publication Date: 2015-11-10
English Made Easy Volume Two by Call Number: Ebsco eBook Academic CollectionISBN: 9780804845250Publication Date: 2016-03-29
ESL Reading & Writing Books-eBooks
Reading and Writing
Study Reading by
Study Reading is a course for learners of intermediate level or above who need to advance their reading skills for study purposes. Study Reading: * adopts a learner centred approach suitable for classroom as well as self-study use. * has clearly labelled sections which allow users to select and focus on the skills areas most appropriate to their needs. * includes authentic texts from textbooks, journals, reference works and study guides currently used in universities, colleges, and other institutions of higher learning. * encourages students to refine their reading strategies through a variety of task-based and problem-solving activities. * gives direct advice on how to improve reading efficiency. This Second edition has been updated to include not only more recent texts in the disciplines represented but also to take account of new media with the growth of on-line resources. For the first time too, activities are included for IELTS practice.
Call Number: AC LB2395.3 .G57 2004ISBN: 9780521547765Publication Date: 2004-10-14
Ready to Write by
Good writing is a network of skills that can be taught, practiced, and mastered. This book presents paragraph development and composition skills in clear, teachable steps.
Call Number: AC PE1128 .B58 2002ISBN: 9780130424631Publication Date: 2002-07-31
Writing Better English for ESL Learners by
Write in English like a native speaker! Taking a developmental approach to improvingwriting skills, Writing Better English helps you increase your levels of proficiency in both grammar and vocabulary. Before tackling sentence structures, the book helps you reinforce those grammar elements you may have trouble with, like verb tenses and pronouns. You'll then expand your written communication abilities through comprehensive explanations, skill-building exercises, and practical writing activities.
Call Number: AC ESL PE 1128 .S978 2009ISBN: 9780071628037Publication Date: 2009-05-20
Write to Be Read by
This is a revision of a successful high-intermediate to low-advanced writing book that teaches students to write academic essays with greater fluency. This book helps students develop their academic writing skills. Using thought-provoking, authentic readings that challenge students to think critically and clearly, this widely used text guides students through the processes of reading, reflection, writing, and revision.
Call Number: AC PE1128 .S5816 2005ISBN: 9780521547468Publication Date: 2005-02-07
Writing the Easy Way by
Here is the latest edition of a practical self-teaching manual that can also be used in courses that teach writing fundamentals on a high school or college-101 level. The book's open and friendly style and constant references to the real world make it especially suitable for corporate training programs. Guidelines and style rules cover term papers, essays, business and personal letters, office memos and reports, and other forms of correspondence. Also covered in detail are general rules governing written English grammar, punctuation, sentence structure, paragraph structure, and correct word usage. Writing samples demonstrate the do's and don'ts of correct and effective written English.
Call Number: AC WRITING PE 1408 .D87 2000ISBN: 9780764112065Publication Date: 2000-02-01
Writing Academic English by
The Longman Academic Writing series is the essential course to prepare students for academic success
Call Number: AC WRITING PE1408 .O73 2006ISBN: 9780131523593Publication Date: 2005-10-27
College ESL Writers: Applied Grammar and Composing Strategies for Success by
Licensed under a Creative Commons license
CC BY NC SA
College ESL Writers: Applied Grammar and Composing Strategies for Success is designed as a comprehensive grammar and writing etext for high intermediate and advanced level non-native speakers of English. We open the text with a discussion on the sentence and then break it down into its elemental components, before reconstructing them into effective sentences with paragraphs and larger academic assignments. Following that, we provide instruction in paragraph and essay writing with several opportunities to both review the fundamentals as well as to demonstrate mastery and move on to more challenging assignments.
We have structured the etext into three basic parts. Part I, Composing Strategies and Techniques, includes a sequenced discussion from composing effective sentences through paragraph and essay writing. This includes the prewriting and planning stages of writing as well as the revising and editing stage in the first five chapters. Part II, Language Use, Grammar, and Mechanics, is meant to be used as a grammar and mechanics handbook as well as the practice and review of idiomatic wording. Part III, All About Writing: Samples, Topics, and Rubrics, has chapters with additional writing topics for practice, sample student papers, and rubrics for evaluating writing.
Call Number: OER Textbook from University of GeorgiaPublication Date: 2018
About Writing: A Guide by
Licensed under Creative Commons
CC BY
This writer's reference condenses and covers everything a beginning writing student should need to successfully compose college-level work. The book covers the basics of composition and revising, including how to build a strong thesis, how to peer review a fellow student's work, and a handy checklist for revision, before moving on to a broad overview of academic writing. Included for those students who need writing help at the most basic level are comprehensive sections on sentence style and grammar, verbs, nouns and other tenets of basic grammar. Finally, the sections on research and citation should help any student find solid evidence for their school work and cite it correctly, as well as encouraging an understanding of why citation is so important in the first place. This is a guide that is useful to writing students of all levels, either as a direct teaching tool or a simple reference.
Call Number: OER textbook from Klamath Community CollegePublication Date: 2016
Credits
This guide was developed by Leslie Murtha (2014) and revised by Robert Mast (2019), Atlantic Cape Community College Libraries.
Published 2014. Last updated August 2021.