All Atlantic Cape library pages have a new web address. Please update any bookmarks you may have.
Religion: Internet Resources
Searchable Sacred Texts
- The Bible Gateway Includes over 100 versions in 50 languages
- Islamicity Quran Search
- Includes word search, topic search, arabic phonetic search, and audio recitations of verses of the Quran.
- The Hebrew Bible in English
- Internet Secred Text Archive
- Features an extensive collection of transcriptions of complete books on Native American, Pacific, African, Asian and other religious and spiritual practices, mythology, and folklore.
Internet Resources
American Theological Library Association (ATLA) Digital Library
The Association of Religion Data Archives (ARDA)
- The Association of Religion Data Archives (ARDA) strives to democratize access to the best data on religion and includs American and international collections and developing features for educators, journalists, religious congregations, and researchers. Data included in the ARDA are submitted by the foremost religion scholars and research centers in the world
Citing the ARDA When using ARDA data in publications and presentations, the author should acknowledge the Association of Religion Data Archives and the original collector(s) of the data (e.g., The data were downloaded from the Association of Religion Data Archives, www.theARDA.com, and were collected by [name of principal investigator(s)]).
Pew Research Cetner - Religion and Public Life
- Pew Research Center is a nonpartisan fact tank that informs the public about the issues, attitudes and trends shaping the world. It conducts public opinion polling, demographic research, media content analysis and other empirical social science research. Pew Research Center does not take policy positions. It is a subsidiary of The Pew Charitable Trusts.
CIA World Factbook - Religions
- Entries are an ordered listing of religions by adherents starting with the largest group and sometimes includes the percent of total population. The core characteristics and beliefs of the world's major religions are described.
- Offers high-quality educational content, including short lessons, full courses from leading universities, and inspiring videos from global thought leaders
- This web site, in existence since 1995, focuses on free (open-access) internet resources ( bibliographies/indexes, library and archive catalogues, dictionaries/encyclopedias, e-texts and journals) supporting the academic study of religion. It is compiled by Cheryl Adams, Library of Congress and Saundra Lipton, University of Calgary Library.