Computers-Programming: Systems
Operating Systems
Operating Systems by
Designed as a "teach-yourself" text, the book provides a step-by-step approach to clarify all of the key concepts, architectures, and components of operating systems. The book covers all of the topics from the basics to the latest mobile devices, and features key operating systems e.g., Android, iOS, Linux, and Windows 10. This book would be very useful not only as an introductory text for undergraduate students of computer science, but also for those professionals who need to review modern operating systems. Features: * A chapter on the latest mobile operating systems, e.g., Android, iOS, and Windows * Covers basic concepts such as architecture, CPU scheduling, memory management, file systems, I/O, and more * Features a separate chapter on Windows 10 including shortcut keys, system tabs for settings, and security * Additional chapter on the Linux operating system with detailed explanation of its architecture, components, main features, and also Red Hat Linux * Designed as a teach-yourself text with integrated "self-quizzes" and end of chapter exercises to reinforce concepts.
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781942270386Publication Date: 2017-02-28
Understanding Operating Systems by
UNDERSTANDING OPERATING SYSTEMS provides a basic understanding of operating systems theory, a comparison of the major operating systems in use, and a description of the technical and operational tradeoffs inherent in each. The effective two-part organization covers the theory of operating systems, their historical roots, and their conceptual basis (which does not change substantially), culminating with how these theories are applied in the specifics of five operating systems (which evolve constantly). The authors explain this technical subject in a not-so-technical manner, providing enough detail to illustrate the complexities of stand-alone and networked operating systems. UNDERSTANDING OPERATING SYSTEMS is written in a clear, conversational style with concrete examples and illustrations that readers easily grasp.
Call Number: QA76.76.O63 F59 2001ISBN: 9780534376666Publication Date: 2000-11-22
Linux Clearly Explained by
This work offers comprehensive coverage of the Linux Operating System, presented with a practical presentation. The author details the steps to loading and configuring the Linux OS and offers insight into running the Windows programme
Call Number: QA76.76.O63 P434 1999ISBN: 9780125531696Publication Date: 1999-07-01
- Linux JournalLinux Journal covers all aspects of the operating system and the emerging technologies adjacent to it. As the Original Magazine of the Linux Community, Linux Journal engages with a wide readership--from home automation hobbyists to Free Software advocates to hard-core hackers to high-level systems architects--seeking to explore the trending, timeless and practical in Linux and related technologies.
- Programmers HeavenProgrammers’ Heaven could best be described as a links warehouse. The site do not host much original content, instead it provides value by collecting links to code and articles and organizing them into categories. Programmers’ Heaven also hosts a set of active message boards and produces a bimonthly e-mail newsletter.
Off Campus access username and password can be found in Blackboard on the
Institution Page. Students: look for Student Tools to Stay Connected at Atlantic Cape. Faculty: look for Key information about Libraries and Tutoring. Or you can contact the library for username and password.
Networks
TCP/IP Clearly Explained by
TCP/IP Clearly Explained, Second Edition provides a clear and complete introduction to the most widely used TCP/IP protocols, in plain language that makes complicated networking concepts accessible to readers without computer science background. A comprehensive introduction to all important topics related to TCP/IP, this book is for anyone interested in learning how the Internet works from a nuts and bolts perspective. Features: * Presents increased coverage of the WWW, and Web related applicaions, protocols and specifications such as HTTP, HTML, Java, and Active X * Introduces TCP/IP in a clear, concise, and complete manner * Includes all important topics related to TCP/IP, and are explained in context of actual applications and products that use the protocols described therein * Contains clear illustrations of protocol headers and network traffic flow
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780124558267Publication Date: 1999-07-13
Designing Campus Networks by
Nine-year-old Oskar Schell is an inventor, amateur entomologist, Francophile, letter writer, pacifist, natural historian, percussionist, romantic, Great Explorer, jeweller, detective, vegan, and collector of butterflies. When his father is killed in the September 11th attacks on the World Trade Centre, Oskar sets out to solve the mystery of a key he disovers in his father's closet. & It is a search which leads him into the lives of strangers, through the five boroughs of New York, into history, to the bombings of Dresden and Hiroshima, and on an inward journey which brings him ever closer to some kind of peace.
Call Number: TK5105.7.Q56 1998 (Mays Landing)ISBN: 9781578700301Publication Date: 1998-01-22
Off Campus access username and password can be found in Blackboard on the
Institution Page. Students: look for Student Tools to Stay Connected at Atlantic Cape. Faculty: look for Key information about Libraries and Tutoring. Or you can contact the library for username and password.
Networks by
No previous knowledge of data communications and related fields is required for understanding this text. It begins with the basic components of telephone and computer networks and their interaction, centralized and distributive processing networks, Local Area Networks (LANs), Metropolitan Area Networks (MANs), Wide Area Networks (WANs), the International Standards Organization (OSI) Management Model, network devices that operate at different layers of the OSI model, and the IEEE 802 Standards. This text also introduces several protocols including X.25, TCP/IP, IPX/SPX, NetBEUI, AppleTalk, and DNA. The physical topologies, bus, star, ring, and mesh are discussed, and the ARCNet, Ethernet, Token Ring, and Fiber Distributed Data Interface (FDDI) are described in detail. Wiring types and network adapters are well covered, and a detailed discussion on wired and wireless transmissions including Bluetooth and Wi-Fi is included. An entire chapter is devoted to the various types of networks that one can select and use for his needs, the hardware and software required, and tasks such as security and safeguarding data from internal and external disasters that the network administrator must perform to maintain the network(s) he is responsible for. Two chapters serve as introductions to the Simple Network Management Protocol (SNMP) and Remote Monitoring (RMON). This text includes also five appendices with very useful information on how computers use numbers to condition and distribute data from source to destination, and a design example to find the optimum path for connecting distant facilities. Each chapter includes True-False, Multiple-Choice, and problems to test the reader's understanding. Answers are also provided.
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781934404157Publication Date: 2009-01-01
Practical Network Automation by
Get More from your Network with Automation tools to increase its effectiveness.About This Book* Get started with network automation (and different automation tasks) with relevant use cases* Apply software design principles such as Continuous Integration and DevOps to your network toolkit* Guides you through some best practices in automationWho This Book Is ForIf you are a network engineer looking for an extensive guide to help you automate and manage your network efficiently, then this book is for you. What You Will Learn* Get the detailed analysis of Network automation* Trigger automations through available data factors* Improve data center robustness and security through specific access and data digging* Get an Access to APIs from Excel for dynamic reporting* Set up a communication with SSH-based devices using netmiko* Make full use of practical use cases and best practices to get accustomed with the various aspects of network automationIn DetailNetwork automation is the use of IT controls to supervise and carry out every-day network management functions. It plays a key role in network virtualization technologies and network functions.The book starts by providing an introduction to network automation, SDN, and its applications, which include integrating DevOps tools to automate the network efficiently. It then guides you through different network automation tasks and covers various data digging and reporting methodologies such as IPv6 migration, DC relocations, and interface parsing, all the while retaining security and improving data center robustness. The book then moves on to the use of Python and the management of SSH keys for machine-to-machine (M2M) communication, all followed by practical use cases. The book also covers the importance of Ansible for network automation including best practices in automation, ways to test automated networks using different tools, and other important techniques.By the end of the book, you will be well acquainted with the various aspects of network automation.Style and approachA clear, concise, and straightforward book that will enable you to automate networks and improve performance.
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781788299466Publication Date: 2017-11-16
Project Manaagment
The Balanced Scorecard by
The Balanced Scorecard translates a company's vision and strategy into a coherent set of performance measures. The four perspectives of the scorecard--financial measures, customer knowledge, internal business processes, and learning and growth--offer a balance between short-term and long-term objectives, between outcomes desired and performance drivers of those outcomes, and between hard objective measures and softer, more subjective measures. In the first part, Kaplan and Norton provide the theoretical foundations for the Balanced Scorecard; in the second part, they describe the steps organizations must take to build their own Scorecards; and, finally, they discuss how the Balanced Scorecard can be used as a driver of change.
Call Number: HD 56 .K35 1996ISBN: 9780875846514Publication Date: 1996-09-01
Off Campus access username and password can be found in Blackboard on the
Institution Page. Students: look for Student Tools to Stay Connected at Atlantic Cape. Faculty: look for Key information about Libraries and Tutoring. Or you can contact the library for username and password.
Planning and Control Using Microsoft Project 2013, 2016 or 2019 and PMBOK Guide Sixth Edition by
This book is principally a Microsoft Project book aimed at Project Management Professionals who understand the PMBOK Guide Sixth Edition processes and wish to learn how to use Microsoft Office Project 2013, 2016 or 2019 to plan and control their projects in a PMBOK Guide environment and discover how to gain the most from the software.The book is designed for users Microsoft Project 2013, 2016 or 2019 to upgrade their skills and for new planners to learn the software. It starts with the basics required to create a schedule, through resource planning and on to more advanced features. There is also a new chapter which introduces the Microsoft Project Server functions.A Microsoft Project user guide and training manual written for Project Management Professionals following the PMBOK Guide Sixth Edition who wish to learn how to schedule projects in a single project environment with or without Resources with Microsoft Project. The book is packed with screen shots, constructive tips and is suitable as a training course handout, for learning the software or as a reference book. The book contains workshops with solutions at the end of each chapter for the reader to practice the skills taught in the chapter.
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781925185676Publication Date: 2019-02-19
Fundamentals of Project Management by
"...a great resource for helping a project manager or other team member to learn new tools and techniques or refresh their knowledge. "-PM World Journal A project management bestseller-revised and better than ever. Boasting sales of more than 200,000 copies, Fundamentals of Project Management has helped generations of project managers navigate the ins and outs of every aspect of this complex discipline. But much has changed in recent years. Fully updated in accordance with the latest version of the Project Management Body of Knowledge (PMBOK(R)), the fifth edition of this classic text remains the perfect introduction to the subject, showing readers how to: Clarify project goals and objectives * Develop a work breakdown structure * Create a project risk plan * Produce a realistic schedule * Manage change requests * Control and evaluate progress at every stage * Lead the project team The book contains new information and expanded coverage on topics including estimating; stakeholder management; procurement management; creating a communication plan; project closure; requirements for PMP certification; and much more. Chock full of tools, techniques, examples, and instructive exercises, this up-to-the-minute guide will help you plan and execute projects on time, on budget-and with maximum efficiency.
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780814437360Publication Date: 2016-08-16
Project Management for IT-Related Projects by
This book explains the principles of IT-related project management, including project planning, monitoring and control, change management, risk management and communication between project stakeholders. Each chapter includes detailed discussion of the syllabus content, activities and multiple choice questions for self-assessment in line with the BCS Foundation Certificate in IS Project Management. This new edition introduces the latest project management thinking, terminology and standards.
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781780174846Publication Date: 2019-08-27
Databases
Database Design - 2nd EditionCall Number: Open Educational Resource
Off Campus access username and password can be found in Blackboard on the
Institution Page. Students: look for Student Tools to Stay Connected at Atlantic Cape. Faculty: look for Key information about Libraries and Tutoring. Or you can contact the library for username and password.
Relational Database Design and Implementation by
Fully revised, updated, and expanded, Relational Database Design and Implementation, Third Edition is the most lucid and effective introduction to the subject available for IT/IS professionals interested in honing their skills in database design, implementation, and administration. This book provides the conceptual and practical information necessary to develop a design and management scheme that ensures data accuracy and user satisfaction while optimizing performance, regardless of experience level or choice of DBMS. The book begins by reviewing basic concepts of databases and database design, then briefly reviews the SQL one would use to create databases. Topics such as the relational data model, normalization, data entities and Codd's Rules (and why they are important) are covered clearly and concisely but without resorting to "Dummies"-style talking down to the reader. Supporting the book's step-by-step instruction are three NEW case studies illustrating database planning, analysis, design, and management practices. In addition to these real-world examples, which include object-relational design techniques, an entirely NEW section consisting of three chapters is devoted to database implementation and management issues.
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780123747303Publication Date: 2009-09-02
Database Management Systems by
More and more, the advance of enterprise computing and cloud technologies means that managers are responsible for retrieving data ad-hoc and constructing business reports for decision-making and storytelling. The technical competencies necessary for such tasks can be daunting, and most database teaching methods do little to mitigate the confusion. They tend to follow traditional computer science methods that expose all computational and matrix theory complexities as well as various design theories, and in so doing, they present an excess of information that unnecessarily complicates the learning process for business-minded readers. Zygiaris simplifies his teaching method in order to provide an accessible walkthrough of all technological advances of databases in the business environment. Readers learn how to design, develop, and use databases to provide business analytical reports with the three major database management systems: Microsoft Access, Oracle Express and MariaDB (formerly MySQL). This is all delivered through clearly structured, streamlined chapters, all of which link to online videos that demonstrate visually, in step-by-step tutorials, how to implement the processes outlined in the book. All of these features help the non-IT student or manager to understand the importance of databases in the business environment and to learn how to use those databases to solve real-world problems. This book is of particular interest to students of management and to business managers, and it is of keen interest to anyone who works with major business database systems.
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781787566965Publication Date: 2018-08-23
