Sociology : Books - eBooks
Where are the Sociology Books?
The textbook for your sociology course may be on reserve.
Check with the circulation desk. You will need your current student ID card, that has been registered with the library to use the book. Reserve books can only be used while in the library
The libraries of Atlantic Cape use the Library of Congress classification system to organize the print collection on the library shelves.
The general call numbers for books on sociology include :
- HM 433-477 History of Sociology
- HM 481-554 Theory
- HM 621-656 Culture
- HM 811-821 Deviant Behavior
- HM 831-901 Social Change
- HM 1176-1281 Social Influence
Need Help Locating a Book? - Ask a Librarian
Reserve Textbook - Mays Landing
Sociology by
Sociology: A Brief Introduction invites students to take sociology with them in their daily lives. This successful franchise includes strong coverage of race, ethnicity, and globalization. Paired with a personal and adaptive learning experience, students learn to apply sociology's three theoretical frameworks to the world around them. Connect is the only integrated learning system that empowers students by continuously adapting to deliver precisely what they need, when they need it, and how they need it, so that your class time is more engaging and effective.
Call Number: Reserve Mays LandingISBN: 9780078027109Publication Date: 2014-08-19
Books - eBooks
The Sociology of Gender by
An ideal "essentials" text for introductory courses, The Sociology of Gender, Third Edition, provides a concise - yet also in-depth - overview of basic sociological concepts and perspectives on gender. Focusing primarily on the contemporary United States, author Laura Kramer integrateshistory, theory, and research in order to examine the current gender system and the ways in which macro-, middle-, and micro-level societal forces have changed that system over time.Featuring an exceptionally accessible and engaging writing style, The Sociology of Gender explores how race, ethnicity, and social class affect the meaning of gender. A chapter on culture provides a close look at traditionally dominant versions of femininities and masculinities and how they arecommunicated through language, mass media, and religion. The concepts of individual agency and resistance, introduced in the first chapter, resurface throughout in discussions of culture and socialization.
Call Number: HQ 1075.5ISBN: 9780195389289Publication Date: 2010-01-27
Death and Dying by
This stimulating new book provides a sophisticated introduction to the key issues in the sociology of death and dying. In recent years, the social sciences have seen an upsurge of interest in death and dying. The fascination with death is reflected in popular media such as newspapers, television documentaries, films and soaps, and, moreover, in the multiplying range of professional roles associated with dying and death. Yet despite its ubiquitous significance, the majority of texts in the field have been written primarily for health professionals. This book breaks with that tradition. It provides a cutting edge, comprehensive discussion of the key topics in death and dying and in so doing demonstrates that the study of mortality is germane to all areas of sociology. The book is organised thematically, utilising empirical material from cross-national and cross-cultural perspectives. It carefully addresses questions about social attitudes to mortality, the social nature of death and dying, explanations for change and diversity in approaches, and traditional, modern and postmodern experiences of death. Death and Dying will appeal to students across the social sciences, as well as professionals whose work brings them into contact with dying or bereaved people.
Call Number: HQ 1073.H69ISBN: 9780745625331Publication Date: 2007-01-16
African American Pioneers of Sociology by
In African American Pioneers of Sociology, Pierre Saint-Arnaud examines the lasting contributions that African Americans have made to the field of sociology. Arguing that science is anything but a neutral construct, he defends the radical stances taken by early African American sociologists from accusations of intellectual infirmity by foregrounding the racist historical context of the time these influential works were produced. Examining key figures such as W.E.B. Du Bois, Edward Franklin Frazier, Charles Spurgeon Johnson, Horace Roscoe Cayton, J.G. St. Clair Drake, and Oliver Cromwell Cox, Saint-Arnaudreveals the ways in which many aspects of modern sociology emerged from these authors' radical views on race, gender, religion, and class. Beautifully translated from its original French, African American Pioneers of Sociology is a stunning examination of the influence of African American intellectuals and an essential work for understanding the origins of sociology as a modern discipline.
Call Number: HM 477.U6 S2513ISBN: 9780802094056Publication Date: 2009-02-07
Classical Sociological Theory by
This comprehensive collection of classical sociological theory is a definitive guide to the roots of sociology from its undisciplined beginnings to its current guideposts and reference points in contemporary sociological debate. A definitive guide to the roots of sociology through a collection of key writings from the founders of the discipline Explores influential works of Marx, Durkheim, Weber, Mead, Simmel, Freud, Du Bois, Adorno, Marcuse, Parsons, and Merton Editorial introductions lend historical and intellectual perspective to the substantial readings Includes a new section with new readings on the immediate "pre-history" of sociological theory, including the Enlightenment and de Tocqueville Individual reading selections are updated throughout
Call Number: HM 435.C53ISBN: 9781405148542Publication Date: 2011-08-02
Boricua Power by
Where does power come from? Why does it sometimes disappear? How do groups, like the Puerto Rican community, become impoverished, lose social influence, and become marginal to the rest of society? How do they turn things around, increase their wealth, and become better able to successfully influence and defend themselves? Boricua Power explains the creation and loss of power as a product of human efforts to enter, keep or end relationships with others in an attempt to satisfy passions and interests, using a theoretical and historical case study of one community-Puerto Ricans in the United States. Using archival, historical and empirical data, Boricua Power demonstrates that power rose and fell for this community with fluctuations in the passions and interests that defined the relationship between Puerto Ricans and the larger U.S. society.
Call Number: E184 .P85 S25 2007 (ML)ISBN: 9780814798485Publication Date: 2007-03-01
Off Campus access username and password can be found in Blackboard on the
Institution Page. Students: look for Student Tools to Stay Connected at Atlantic Cape. Faculty: look for Key information about Libraries and Tutoring. Or you can contact the library for username and password.
Invisible Women by
#1 International Bestseller "A rallying cry to fight back." --Sunday Times (London) Winner, 2019 Financial Times and McKinsey Business Book of the Year Award Winner, 2019 Royal Society Science Book Prize Data is fundamental to the modern world. From economic development, to healthcare, to education and public policy, we rely on numbers to allocate resources and make crucial decisions. But because so much data fails to take into account gender, because it treats men as the default and women as atypical, bias and discrimination are baked into our systems. And women pay tremendous costs for this bias in time, money, and sometimes with their lives. Celebrated feminist advocate Caroline Criado Perez investigates the shocking root cause of gender inequality and research in Invisible Women, diving into women's lives at home, the workplace, the public square, the doctor's office, and more. Chapters here include: Can Snow-Clearing Be Sexist The Myth of Meritocracy The Henry Higgins Effect One-Size-Fits-Men Yentl Syndrome From Purse to Wallet Women's Rights Are Human Rights Perez writes in her preface, "It's when women are able to step out from the shadows with their voices and their bodies that things start to shift. The gaps close. And so, at heart, Invisible Women is also a call for change. For too long we have positioned women as a deviation from standard humanity and this is why they have been allowed to become invisible. It's time for a change in perspective. It's time for women to be seen." Built on hundreds of studies in the US, the UK, and around the world, and written with energy, wit, and sparkling intelligence, this is a groundbreaking, unforgettable exposé that will change the way you look at the world.
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781419729072Publication Date: 2019-03-12
The Hardhat Riot by
The nail-biting story of when the hardhats of downtown Manhattan beat scores of hippies bloody in May 1970, four days after Kent State, and how the nation reacted. In May 1970, four days after Kent State, construction workers chased students through downtown Manhattan, beating scores of protestors bloody. As hardhats clashed with hippies, it soon became clear that something larger was happening; Democrats were at war with themselves. In The Hardhat Riot, David Paul Kuhn tells the fateful story-how chaotic it was, when it began, when the white working class first turned against liberalism, when Richard Nixon seized the breach, and America was forever changed. It was unthinkable one generation before: FDR's "forgotten man" siding with the party of Big Business and, ultimately, paving the way for presidencies from Ronald Reagan to Donald Trump. In the shadow of the half-built Twin Towers, on the same day the Knicks rallied against the odds and won their first championship, we relive the schism that tore liberalism apart. We experience the tumult of Nixon's America and John Lindsay's New York City, as festering division explodes into violence. Nixon's advisors realize that this tragic turn is their chance, that the Democratic coalition has collapsed and that "these, quite candidly, are our people now." In this nail-biting story, Kuhn delivers on meticulous research and reporting, drawing from thousands of pages of never-before-seen records. We go back to a harrowing day that explains the politics of today. We experience the battle between two tribes fighting different wars, soon to become different Americas, ultimately reliving a liberal war that maimed both sides. We come to see how it all was laid bare one brutal day, when the Democratic Party's future was bludgeoned by its past, as if it was a last gasp to say that we once mattered too.
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780190064716Publication Date: 2020-07-01
Sociology by
Georg Simmel's highly original take on the newly revived field of sociology succeeded in making the field far more sophisticated than it had been beforehand. He took insights from dialectical thought and Kantian epistemology to develop a form sociology method that remains implicit in the field a century later. Forms include such patterns of interaction as inequality, secrecy, membership in multiple groups, organization size, and coalition formation. While today texts and professional societies are organized around contents rather than forms, a fresh reading of Simmel's chapters on forms suggests original avenues of inquiry into each of the contents--family, business, religion, politics, labor relations, leisure.
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9789004173217Publication Date: 2009-02-23
Sociology on Film by
After World War II, Hollywood's "social problem films"--tackling topical issues that included racism, crime, mental illness, and drug abuse--were hits with critics and general moviegoers alike. In an era of film famed for its reliance on pop psychology, these movies were a form of popular sociology, bringing the academic discipline's concerns to a much broader audience. Sociology on Film examines how the postwar "problem film" translated contemporary policy debates and intellectual discussions into cinematic form in order to become one of the preeminent genres of prestige drama. Chris Cagle chronicles how these movies were often politically fractious, the work of progressive directors and screenwriters who drew scrutiny from the House Un-American Activities Committee. Yet he also proposes that the genre helped to construct an abstract discourse of "society" that served to unify a middlebrow American audience. As he considers the many forms of print media that served to inspire social problem films, including journalism, realist novels, and sociological texts, Cagle also explores their distinctive cinematic aesthetics. Through a close analysis of films like Gentleman's Agreement, The Lost Weekend, and Intruder in the Dust, he presents a compelling case that the visual style of these films was intimately connected to their more expressly political and sociological aspirations. Sociology on Film demonstrates how the social problem picture both shaped and reflected the middle-class viewer's national self-image, making a lasting impact on Hollywood's aesthetic direction.
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780813576947Publication Date: 2016-12-28
Sociology of Globalization by
A rich collection of diverse voices, Sociology of Globalization examines the processes of globalization as well as its impact on people around the world. It looks beyond the headlines, stereotypes, and hype and features a balanced selection of classic scholarship and theory, cutting-edge research, and engaging journalism. Key pieces from prominent scholars, journalists, and theorists will resonate with students, stretch the classroom into their daily lives, and give the study of globalization concrete meaning. Each of three sections (culture, economy, and politics) begins with an original introduction from the editor which familiarizes readers with essential themes and concepts and provides necessary context for the readings that follow. Useful resources for further research, including websites, films, and class exercises, are also provided to exemplify and add relevance to major topics. Accessible and expansive, this is the ideal primary reader or supplement for undergraduate courses on the sociology of globalization.n the sociology of globalization.
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780813346694Publication Date: 2012-03-29
What Happens Next? by
What is life about but the continuous posing of the questions: what happens next, and what do we make of it when it arrives? In these highly evocative personal essays, Douglas Bauer weaves together the stories of his own and his parents' lives, the meals they ate, the work and rewards and regrets that defined them, and the inevitable betrayal by their bodies as they aged. His collection features at its center a long and memory-rich piece seasoned with sensory descriptions of the midday dinners his mother cooked for her farmer husband and father-in-law every noon for many years. It's this memoir in miniature that sets the table for the other stories that surround it--of love and bitterness, of hungers served and denied. Good food and marvelous meals would take on other revelatory meanings for Bauer as a young man, when he met, became lifelong friends with, and was tutored in the pleasures of an appetite for life by M. F. K. Fisher, the century's finest writer in English on "the art of eating," to borrow one of her titles. The unavoidable companion of the sensual joys of food and friendship is the fragility and ultimately the mortality of the body. As a teenager, Bauer courted sports injuries to impress others, sometimes with his toughness and other times with his vulnerability. And as happens to all of us, eventually his body began to show the common signs of wear--cataracts, an irregular heartbeat, an arthritic knee. That these events might mark the arc of his life became clear when his mother, a few months shy of eighty-seven, slipped on some ice and injured herself. In these clear-eyed, wry and graceful essays, Douglas Bauer presents with candor and humor the dual calendars of his own mortality and that of his aging parents, evoking the regrets and affirmations inherent in being human.
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781609381837Publication Date: 2013-09-15
Pink Noises by
A collection of twenty-four interviews with women in electronic music and sound cultures, including club and radio DJs, remixers, composers, improvisers, instrument builders, and performance artists.
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780822394150Publication Date: 2010-03-23
Doing Sociology by
This successor to the well-known Using Sociology covers standard topics found in any sociology textbook. Doing Sociology walks lay readers through the steps of doing real-life sociological practices as conducted by experts in the field. The contributors to this volume range from university and college faculty, government sociologists, and practitioners from the private sector. Each of the chapters is by intention and design a personal statement, a case study illustrating how the authors practice sociology in their own words and style, giving readers a clearer understanding of what sociologists do outside of teaching in universities. And most importantly, an understanding of what they could do with sociology.Readable, relevant, and accessible, Doing Sociology is an invaluable resource as a stand-alone course reader or as a supplement to a traditional textbook.
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780739133958Publication Date: 2009-08-16
Search the catalog
Search Atlantic Cape eBook Collections
Off Campus access username and password can be found in Blackboard on the
Institution Page. Students: look for Student Tools to Stay Connected at Atlantic Cape. Faculty: look for Key information about Libraries and Tutoring. Or you can contact the library for username and password.
Reference Books
Encyclopedia of Sociology
Winner of the 1993 Dartmouth Medal, this classic reference has been updated to reflect many changes in society and in the field of sociology in recent years. Articles covering core issues such as race, poverty, violence, economics, pregnancy and abortion have been updated and expanded, and completely new articles have been written on topics such as the Internet, privacy and epidemiology.
Call Number: HM17 .E5 2000ISBN: 9780028648538Publication Date: 2000-11-16
The Blackwell Dictionary of Sociology by
This new edition of Allan G. Johnson's one-volume sociology dictionary includes 75 new entries, as well as an expanded biographical section, extensive revisions and updates, and a more thorough cross-referencing. Written by a sociologist who is also an accomplished writer and teacher, it is aimed primarily at students, but will also be of use to professionals looking for an introduction to core concepts outside their area of expertise. Its combination of clear prose, engaging examples, a single author's voice, and its minimal assumptions about the average reader's prior knowledge of sociology and its related fields, makes this a unique and valuable reference work.
Call Number: HM 17 .B62 2000ISBN: 9780631216803Publication Date: 2000-06-30
The Encyclopedia of Social Work by
Oxford University Press and The National Association of Social Workers are proud to announce that a new, completely updated, revised and expanded 20th edition of this essential work is now available in paperback. The 400 articles in this 4-volume set covers all aspects of social, work frompractice and interventions, social environments, social conditions and challenges, to social policy and history.This new edition of the Encylcopedia includes coverage of areas that have come to the fore since the 1995 publication of the 19th edition, including demographic changes from immigration, technology, the implications of managed care, faith-based assistance, evidence-based practice, gerontology, andtrauma and disaster. Each thoughtful article is written and signed by a top academic or social work practitioner and includes a bibliography for further reading. For even further ease of use, all volumes are fully cross-referenced and includes a complete Index.
Call Number: HV 12 .E53 2008ISBN: 9780195310368Publication Date: 2010-11-03
Encyclopedia of Social and Cultural Anthropology by
Written by leading scholars in the field, this comprehensive and readable resource gives anthropology students a unique guide to the ideas, arguments and history of the discipline. The fully revised and expanded second edition reflects major changes in anthropology in the past decade.
Call Number: GN 307 .E525 2010ISBN: 9780415409780Publication Date: 2010-01-20
Off Campus access username and password can be found in Blackboard on the
Institution Page. Students: look for Student Tools to Stay Connected at Atlantic Cape. Faculty: look for Key information about Libraries and Tutoring. Or you can contact the library for username and password.
Issues in Sociology by
Sociology is the systematic study of the taken-for-granted assumptions that people make about everyday life. This book explores a triumvirate of important concepts in sociology: power, trust and globalisation. These concepts and examples need to be studied so assumptions masquerading as "fact" can be debunked by critical sociological questioning. We explore domains such as politics and government, health and community care as well as global financial issues, which are all centrally relevant issues in modern Sociology.
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781628082111Publication Date: 2013-01-01- Sociology of Globalization by
A rich collection of diverse voices, Sociology of Globalization examines the processes of globalization as well as its impact on people around the world. It looks beyond the headlines, stereotypes, and hype and features a balanced selection of classic scholarship and theory, cutting-edge research, and engaging journalism. Key pieces from prominent scholars, journalists, and theorists will resonate with students, stretch the classroom into their daily lives, and give the study of globalization concrete meaning. Each of three sections (culture, economy, and politics) begins with an original introduction from the editor which familiarizes readers with essential themes and concepts and provides necessary context for the readings that follow. Useful resources for further research, including websites, films, and class exercises, are also provided to exemplify and add relevance to major topics. Accessible and expansive, this is the ideal primary reader or supplement for undergraduate courses on the sociology of globalization.n the sociology of globalization.
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780813346694Publication Date: 2012-03-29
Urban Sociology by
The fifth edition of this book extends the discussion of the challenges faced by urban sociology in the global age, while covering the issues traditionally associated with urban sociology. It presents a balanced review of the ecological perspective and the political and economic contexts of the urban environment. Topics include communities in cities, minority and ethnic groups, poverty, power, crime, cities in economic development and underdevelopment, metropolitanization and urban sprawl, and urban policy and planning. The final chapter explores the significance of cyberspace, transnationalism, and global terrorism for the future of urban sociology.
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780742561755Publication Date: 2010-01-16
Sociology in America by
Though the word "sociology" was coined in Europe, the field of sociology grew most dramatically in America. Despite that disproportionate influence, American sociology has never been the subject of an extended historical examination. To remedy that situation--and to celebrate the centennial of the American Sociological Association--Craig Calhoun assembled a team of leading sociologists to produce Sociology in America. Rather than a story of great sociologists or departments, Sociology in America is a true history of an often disparate field--and a deeply considered look at the ways sociology developed intellectually and institutionally. It explores the growth of American sociology as it addressed changes and challenges throughout the twentieth century, covering topics ranging from the discipline's intellectual roots to understandings (and misunderstandings) of race and gender to the impact of the Depression and the 1960s. Sociology in America will stand as the definitive treatment of the contribution of twentieth-century American sociology and will be required reading for all sociologists. Contributors: Andrew Abbott, Daniel Breslau, Craig Calhoun, Charles Camic, Miguel A. Centeno, Patricia Hill Collins, Marjorie L. DeVault, Myra Marx Ferree, Neil Gross, Lorine A. Hughes, Michael D. Kennedy, Shamus Khan, Barbara Laslett, Patricia Lengermann, Doug McAdam, Shauna A. Morimoto, Aldon Morris, Gillian Niebrugge, Alton Phillips, James F. Short Jr., Alan Sica, James T. Sparrow, George Steinmetz, Stephen Turner, Jonathan VanAntwerpen, Immanuel Wallerstein, Pamela Barnhouse Walters, Howard Winant
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780226090955Publication Date: 2007-03-01
Interlibrary Loan
Did you find an article not available in full text? How about a book not owned by Atlantic Cape or the Atlantic County Library System.
All is not lost. The library may be able to get your article or book from another library. The Interlibrary loan service is free to all current students, faculty and staff of Atlantic Cape.
- Don't wait too long to make your request. Books may take 7-10 days to arrive. Articles may take up to 7 days.
Please be sure to provide as complete a citation as possible, so the lending library can quickly locate your request.
Interlibrary Loan for Articles
- Loan periods are set by the lending library.