Atlantic Cape Community College Libraries: ESL Resources: Resources for ESL/EFL Instructors

Professional Associations

TESOL (Teachers of English to Speakers of Other Languages) is the international professional and scholarly association of ESL/EFL instructors. They publish research and professional journals, books, and white papers, sponsor an annual convention and other professional development opportunities, publish and distribute classroom materials, and maintain an online community and career center.
The NJ chapter of TESOL
ACTFL is a professional association for language instructors.
The National Council to Teacher of English is a professional association for all teachers of English. There is no separate section or chapter for ESL/EFL instructors, but a quick search of the web site turns up many research articles on the ESL classroom.

Teaching and Professional Development Resources

The English Club provides many resources to support instructors, including teaching tips, handouts, lesson plans, and classroom activities, training and professional development, a discussion forum, and a job board.
Teaching and job resources
Resources for instructors.
Phonemic Character Keyboard

In case you need to type phonemic symbols.
Lesson plans, worksheets, videos, and more
Ron Lee's ESL Site

Near the bottom of the page, some links for instructors. Each page contains a directory of other sites with resources for instructors.

Research and Professional Literature

ERIC is one of the primary indexes to literature in all fields of education, including ESL/EFL

You can search the Federal Government ERIC Database directly or use the library subscription service EbscoHost ERIC to search the database with enhanced search options.

Need help with your research? Ask a librarian. We're always glad to help.

TESOL Quarterly is a refereed professional journal, that fosters inquiry into English language teaching and learning by providing a forum for TESOL professionals to share their research findings and explore ideas and relationships in the field. TQ's readership includes ESOL teacher educators, teacher learners, researchers, applied linguists, and ESOL teachers.
To obtain articles please request an Interlibrary Loan.
TESOL Journal is a scholarly journal of current research and theory on topics related to learning English as a second language. Published by TESOL International. Selectively indexed by ERIC.
To obtain articles, please request an Interlibrary Loan.
ELT Journal is a quarterly journal for ESL/EFL instructors, published by Oxford University Press. Selectively indexed by ERIC
To obtain articles, please request an Interlibary Loan.
The Internet TESL Journal was an online professional journal for instructors of ESL/EFL, published between 1995 and 2010. The archive can be browsed by year or broad topic area, or searched by keyword. TESL.org also offers a variety of lessons and classroom activities, teaching tips, and other resources for instructors, as well as activities and information for students.

Social Media

TESL-L

An e-mail community for ESL/EFL professionals, based at City University of New York.

Send the following information in the body of your email

SUB TESL-L (your e-mail address) (your first & last name)
Send the e-mail to LISTSERV@CUNYVM.CUNY.EDU.
Once you've subscribed to this main TESL-L listserve you can also subscribe to the related lists
by sending the SUB message (with your first and last name only, you don't need to repeat
your e-mail address) to the listserv name of your choice:

Related lists:

TESLCA-L (CALL and computer applications)
TESLJB-L(Jobs and Employment)
TESLFF-L (Fluency First/Whole Language)
TESLMW-L (Materials Writers)
TESLIE-L (Intensive English Programs)
TESP-L (English for Specific Purposes)

Ken Wilson's Blog

A place for active discussion of ESL classroom issues and techniques.