All Atlantic Cape library pages have a new web address. Please update any bookmarks you may have.
ESL Resources: Look it Up
Resources for students learning English
In the Library at WACC
Words and Phrases
The Compact Oxford English Dictionary by
The Compact Edition of the OED reproduces micrographically, in a single volume, the complete text of the highly acclaimed Second Edition of The Oxford English Dictionary. In this edition, nine pages of the original fit onto just one. This volume comes in a slipcase with a magnifying glass anda new user's guide which explains the conventions of the OED.
Call Number: Reference PE 1625 .O87 2007ISBN: 9780198612582Publication Date: 2007
Cambridge Advanced Learner's Dictionary
Ideal for FCE, CAE, CPE, BEC and IELTS preparation A fully updated edition of the Cambridge Advanced Learner's Dictionary and CD-ROM, with new, up-to-date vocabulary (e.g. sex up, speed-dating, whiteboard), new 'mini-collocation' boxes, and new frequency information to highlight the most important words to learn.
Call Number: Reference PE 1628 .C23 2005ISBN: 9780521604994Publication Date: 2005-04-07
Oxford Elementary Learner's Dictionary by
An ideal first dictionary that gives learners all the help they need to use new vocabulary correctly.
Call Number: Reference PE 1628.5 .O93 1994ISBN: 9780194312752Publication Date: 1994-10-13
The Oxford Dictionary of American English
The Oxford Dictionary of American English responds to the unique needs of the learner by providing explanations, illustrations, and related information not given in ordinary dictionaries. All entries use carefully worded definitions and provide contextual examples of usage, grammar, and idioms. The Oxford Dictionary of American English Genie comes with the Dictionary, and is a unique electronic dictionary that sits on the desktop. It displays definitions instantly and gives their pronunciation for every word in the Dictionary. It contains hundreds of exercises and full-color illustrations that help build vocabulary. It operates on PC computers.
Call Number: Reference PE 2835 .O93 2005ISBN: 9780194317146Publication Date: 2005-03-24
Random House Webster's Easy English Dictionary Beginner by
The Random House Webster's Easy English Dictionary series features tens of thousands of words, phrases, and grammar for the non-native speakers, their teachers, and business professionals. The beginner level dictionary includes: • Over 13,000 basic words, phrases, and idioms with full definitions • Specially-labeled Test Of English as a Foreign Language (TOEFL) vocabulary words • Over 400 illustrations showing easily confused synonyms, prepositions, and verbs • Smart study section covering adjectives, contractions, and numbers
Call Number: PE 1628 .R2944 2001ISBN: 9780375722110Publication Date: 2007-01-09
Random House Webster's Easy English Dictionary Advanced by
Random House Webster's Easy English Dictionary Advanced is specially written and composed for advanced learners of English, with broad coverage of American English. This comprehensive volume features: -Thorough, detailed grammatical information -Hundreds of entries for common English roots, each with a list of words derived from the root -Guide to the dictionary in Spanish, Japanese, Korean, and Chinese
Call Number: PE 1628 .R2944 2001ISBN: 9780375722134Publication Date: 2001
McGraw-Hill's Dictionary of American Idioms and Phrasal Verbs by
McGraw-Hill's Dictionary of American Idioms is the most comprehensive reference of its kind, bar none. It puts the competition to shame, by giving both ESL learners and professional writers the complete low-down on more than 24,000 entries and almost 27,000 senses. Entries include idiomatic expressions (e.g. the best of both worlds), proverbs (the best things in life are free), and clich e s (the best-case scenario). Particular attention is paid to verbal expressions, an area where ordinary dictionaries are deficient. The dictionary also includes a handy Phrase-Finder Index that lets users find a phrase by looking up any major word appearing in it.
Call Number: Reference PE 2839 .S63 2005ISBN: 9780071408585Publication Date: 2004-12-31
In the eBook Collection
Off Campus access username and password can be found in Blackboard on the
Institution Page section for Student Tools to Stay Connected at Atlantic Cape or you can Contact the library for username and password.
Words and Phrases
The Cambridge Thesaurus of American English by
This major thesaurus, first published in 1994 is carefully designed and easy-to-use. It contains an original collection in A-Z format of over 200,000 synonyms and antonyms. It has been compiled by William Lutz, author of Doublespeak and a renowned expert on language use. Instead of indiscriminately listing every word associated with the headword, as many other thesauruses do, The Cambridge Thesaurus selects those that are synonyms or near synonyms in the widest range of contexts, labelling any that are slang or otherwise restricted in usage. Synonyms are listed according to their commonness and appropriateness, as are antonyms, and are distinguished by sense. In those cases where the distinction between senses in not clear, a brief definition is provided. Special attention has been given to phrasal entries such as come out (transpire), fall apart (collapse), look down on (disparage). The Cambridge Thesaurus of American English will be welcomed by both students of language and general readers interested in, or coming into contact with, American English.
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780521414272Publication Date: 1994-02-25
Curious English Words and Phrases by
Have you ever wondered where terms like 'end of your tether', 'gets my goat' or 'letting ones hair down' come from? Or why we call some people 'geezers', 'sugar daddies' or 'lounge lizards'? Or where the words 'eavesdropping', 'nickname' and 'D-Day' come from? They are just a few of the many words and phrases that language expert Max Cryer examines in this fact-filled and fun new book. Max explains where these curious expressions come from, what they mean and how they are used. Along the way he tells a host of colourful anecdotes and dispels quite a few myths - Did Churchill originate the phrase 'black dog'? And if 'ivory tower' can be found in the Bible, why has its meaning changed so drastically?'Curious English Words and Phrases' is a treasure trove for lovers of language. Informative, amusing and value for money, this book is 'the real McCoy'. From 'couch potato' to 'Bob's your uncle', you'll find the explanation here!
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781921966019Publication Date: 2015-04-15
Grammar
The BBI Combinatory Dictionary of English by
Speak and write perfect English! * BBI teaches you how to combine words with words to form phrases (so you can say " mortgaged to the hilt; I want something badly"). * BBI also teaches you how to combine words into structures to form clauses and sentences (so you can say "I want you to go = What I want is for you to go"). * So BBI helps you with both vocabulary and grammar. * BBI shows you important vocabulary and grammatical differences between American and British English. * BBI gives you plenty of examples that can serve as models for your own use of English. * Some of these examples are authentic quotations from works of American and British literature. This Third Edition of the BBI Combinatory Dictionary of English is an expanded and updated version of the First Edition (1986) and its Revised Edition (1997), both of which were favorably received. In this third edition, the contents of the BBI have been increased by over 20%. In the selection and presentation of new material, many sources have been used, including: * Internet searches; * The British National Corpus; * Reading and listening to English-language material; * For Grammatical Patterns: A Comprehensive Grammar of the English Language (Randolph Quirck et al.); * For Collocations: Lists of Lexical Functions (compiled by Igor Mel'cuk et al.). The BBI has been "highly recommended" by the English-Speaking Union. Using the BBI: A workbook with exercises is now available online at: http://dx.doi.org/10.1075/z.bbi.workbook
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9789027232601Publication Date: 2010-03-19
A Dictionary of Modern English Usage by
No book had more influence on twentieth-century attitudes to the English language in Britain than Henry Fowler's Dictionary of Modern English Usage. It rapidly became the standard work of reference for the correct use of English in terms of choice of words, grammar, and style. Much loved forhis firm opinions, passion, and dry humour, Fowler has stood the test of time and is still considered the best arbiter of good practice. Now one of today's leading experts on the language, David Crystal, has reassessed Fowler's contribution in this fascinating new edition.Crystal goes beyond the popular mythology surrounding Fowler's reputation to retrace his method and practice and arrive at a fresh evaluation of his place in the history of linguistic thought. With a wealth of entertaining examples he looks at Fowler's stated principles and the tensions between hisprescriptive and descriptive temperaments. He reaches some surprising conclusions and shows that the Dictionary does a great deal more than make normative recommendations and express private opinions. In addition he offers a modern perspective in notes on some 300 entries, in which he shows howEnglish has changed since the 1920s, including the pronunciation of certain words.
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780199535347Publication Date: 2009-11-23
In the Library at WACC and ebooks
Bilingual
Off Campus access username and password can be found in Blackboard on the
Institution Page section for Student Tools to Stay Connected at Atlantic Cape or you can Contact the library for username and password.
Available in:
Arabic PJ 6640 .G64 2009
Brazilian Portuguese PC 5328 .A345 2009
Chinese PL 1455 .A34 2009
Farsi PE 1629 .A23 2009
French PC 2640 .A33 2009
Haitian Creole PC 4629 .A345 2009
Japanese PL 676 .A34 2009
Korean PL 939 .S52 2009
Russian PG 2640 .A33 2009
Spanish PC 4629 .A345 2009
Thai PE 1629 .S52 2009
Urdu PE 1628 .A298 2009
Vietnamese PL 4376 .S5 2009
Oxford Picture Dictionary by
These remarkable new editions of the bestselling bilingual Oxford Picture Dictionary feature over 4,000 words and phrases illustrated with all new vibrant, crystal-clear artwork. The topics, based on extensive input from teachers and students, have been thoroughly updated to meet the needs oftoday's English language learners. Colour coding and topic icons make finding words easier than ever, and practice activities at the foot of each page ensure accurate and effective use of words.
Call Number: PE 1628 .A298 2009ISBN: 9780194740210Publication Date: 2008-07-23
Concise Oxford English-Arabic Dictionary of Current Usage by
ConciseDesigned to meet the needs both of the Arabic speaker who is learning English and of the English speaker who is learning Arabic.BL Records the different levels of usage met with in newspapers, radio, television, and films.BL Where familiar, colloquial, and slang levels are indicated, the major Arabic dialectal equivalents are given.
Call Number: Reference PJ 6640 .O93 1982ISBN: 9780198643210Publication Date: 1983-02-03
The Oxford Chinese Minidictionary by
This language reference is an instant-access, completely portable dictionary for anyone with a general curiosity about the Chinese language. Whether you're studying, working, or just interested in Chinese as it is used today, this is the only book you need for a complete introduction to the language. It includes thousands of words, phrases, and translations; thousands of examples drawn from real-life situations; and headwords in simplified Chinese script, as well as in Pinyin romanization to aid better pronunciation. In addition to a detailed introduction, there is a section on how to use the dictionary, ideal for any beginner. This volume also includes tones in Mandarin Chinese, an index of Chinese characters, a Chinese-to-English dictionary, and an English-to-Chinese dictionary. Designed specifically for English speakers learning Chinese, this Minidictionary is the essential resource for all those wishing to better understand the beauty of the language, and the perfect companion for a trip to a Chinese-speaking country.
Call Number: Reference PL 1455 .O89 2001ISBN: 9780198603641Publication Date: 2001-06-28
The Bantam New College French and English Dictionary by
With more than 85,000 entries--no other portable French and English paperback dictionary offers you so much at so reasonable a price. Newly revised and expanded, The Bantam New College French & English Dictionary is the finest low-priced dictionary you can own, the most complete, and the most convenient to use. Designed by foremost authorities, it includes thousands of modern words and definitions you are not likely to find elsewhere. Plus invaluable special features such as: *A concise reference grammar * Handy usage tips for adjectives and verbs * A table for all irregular verbs * Easy-to-use pronunciation guide * Many new meaning discriminations and connotations * Essential current slang terms--and much more! All in one easy-to-carry compact volume.
Call Number: Reference PC 2640 .S7 1989ISBN: 9780553274110Publication Date: 1988-12-01
Concise Spanish Dictionary by
* Extensive coverage of the most frequently used words, including Internet terminology, slang, and idiomatic phrases * Thousands of sample phrases that show the various meanings of words * Special features such as pronunciation guides, tables of irregular verbs, and a comprehensive communication guide
Call Number: Reference PC 4640 .W42 2006ISBN: 9780471748366Publication Date: 2006-01-13
Credits
This guide was developed by Leslie Murtha (2014) and revised by Robert Mast (2019), Atlantic Cape Community College Libraries.
Published 2014. Last updated August 2021.