ESL Resources: Articles
Off Campus database access
► Databases and eBooks can be accessed from Off Campus through the Off Campus Proxy Server ◄
Find the user name and password in Blackboard on the Institution page.
- Students: Look under Student Tools to Stay Connected at Atlantic Cape.
- Faculty: Look under Key information about Libraries and Tutoring.
or you can email library@atlanticcape.edu for username and password.
♦ Off-campus access is limited to current students, faculty and staff of Atlantic Cape Community College ♦
Magazines for ESL Students
Find Articles for Assignments
Need to find articles for an assignment? The library has many databases that can help you find good information for your projects.
Off Campus access username and password can be found in Blackboard on the
Institution Page. Students: look for Student Tools to Stay Connected at Atlantic Cape. Faculty: look for Key information about Libraries and Tutoring. Or you can contact the library for username and password.
- Referencia Latina This link opens in a new window
A collection of Spanish-language sources, primarily introductory reference books, but also including a variety of popular magazines and a few scholarly journals.
- Press of Atlantic City This link opens in a new window
Our local newspaper. Full text coverage 1988+; images available 2018+
- Access Multicultural News This link opens in a new window
Newspapers and news sources from many cultural perspectives.
- Access World News This link opens in a new window
Newspapers from the United States and around the world.
- Points of View Reference Center This link opens in a new window
Covers controversial issues of many descriptions. Contains many core topics, each with an overview (objective background / description), point (argument), and counterpoint (opposing argument). Links to additional full-text articles. For best results, use the Browse Topics feature.
- Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center This link opens in a new window
A full-text databases providing differing points of view on current social issues, such as affirmative action, censorship, ecology, mental health, and many more. For best results, use the Browse Topics feature. All content requires critical thinking.
Ready to try out some more advanced research? Go to the Library's Find Articles page, for links to research tools for all subjects. Not sure what to pick, or how to get started? Ask a librarian for help.
News from Home
Check out these sites for links to newspapers and other news media from around the world.
Credits
This guide was developed by Leslie Murtha (2014) and revised by Robert Mast (2019), Atlantic Cape Community College Libraries.
Published 2014. Last updated August 2021.