Global Events: Articles

► Databases and eBooks can be accessed from Off Campus through the Off Campus Proxy Server ◄

The username and password can be found in Blackboard on the Institution Page section for Student Tools to Stay Connected at Atlantic Cape or you can email library@atlanticcape.edu for username and password.

♦ Limited to current students, faculty and staff of Atlantic Cape Community College ♦

Articles are an important source of research information. Articles from newspapers and news magazines provide up-to-date information on developments. News sources also publish more in-depth analysis and political commentary.

Political magazines publish articles that represent their position on issues of global importance. Examples of political magazines include The New Yorker , The Nation, New Republic, National Review, Tikkun, and Mother Jones, to name just a few.

Academic (scholarly) journals publish research that expands our base of knowledge. They provide reliable evidence about causes, effects, and conditions that relate to global issues. Global issues are studied by economists, sociologists, political scientists, historians, criminologists, health scientists, educators, environmental scientists, and legal scholars, among others.

Use our research databases to search for articles from academic journals and newspapers. (When off campus use the Off Campus Database Access login).

Newspaper Articles

• America's Newspapers

  Provides full text access to Press of Atlantic City and and 2,601 sources, including newspapers from all 50 states and 5 territories. Content includes print and online newspapers, blogs, journals, newswires, broadcast transcripts and videos.

Magazines

• Academic Search Premier

  Covers many news, political, and general interest magazines.

• MasterFile Elite

  More than 960 full-text magazines and journals, 40 full-text reference books, and over 1.8 million photos, maps and flags. MasterFILE Elite provides full text for magazines and publications covering many general interest topics including business, health, education, general science and multicultural issues.

Opinion Publications

• Opposing Viewpoints

  Publishes articles from substantive and politically oriented magazines, as well as essays and speeches from prominent political figures. Keep in mind that these are opinion pieces, and not always well-supported by facts.

• Points of View

  is another source of opinion-based articles and essays.

Scholarly Research

• Academic Search Premier

  Contains the widest range of research articles dealing with global issues, but other databases from our other research databases may also be useful. Talk to a librarian for research help.