Skip to Main Content

Artificial Intelligence: Article Archive - April-June 2023

Resources for research and use of AI tools Chatgpt, Dall-E and others

April 2023

Work Life Job scams powered by ChatGPT
zdnet.com by Jada Jones March 30, 2023
NIST launches new trustworthy artificial intelligence resource center
fedscoop by John Hewutt Jones March 30, 2023
ChatGPT could rival human intelligence with next-level upgrade
tom's guide By Andy Sansom published 1 day ago
(Archive)
Okay, so ChatGPT just debugged my code. For real.
zdnet Written by David Gewirtz, Senior Contributing Editor on April 3, 2023
ChatGPT happy to write ransomware, just really bad at it
malwarebytes Posted: March 28, 2023 by Mark Stockley (Archive)
Can Turnitin Cure Higher Ed’s AI Fever?
insidehightered Liam Knox April 3, 2023
ChatGPT banned in Italy
mashable By Alex Perry on March 31, 2023
(Archive)
Are Job Seekers Cheating When They Use ChatGPT to Craft Resumes and Cover Letters?
higheredjobs by Katie Navarra, from SHRM.org Monday, April 3, 2023

Generative AI and Entertainment
From Variety (Archive)

ChatGPT is more like an 'alien intelligence' than a human brain, says futurist
zdnet Written by Dan Patterson, Contributor on April 6, 2023 (Archive)
The Robots Have Finally Come for My Job
Wall Street Journal April 6, 2023
Australian mayor readies world's first defamation lawsuit over ChatGPT content
Reuters April 5, 2023 By Byron Kaye
Prepare to See More Ads on Microsoft's AI-Powered Bing Chat
pcmag By Michael Kan March 30, 2023
How to use ChatGPT to create an app
zdner Written by David Gewirtz, Senior Contributing Editor on April 5, 2023 (Archive)
Expedia’s new ChatGPT travel planning tool is a litmus test for the future of AI and humanity
geekwire BY TODD BISHOP on April 4, 2023 at 10:46 am
New AI Tools Shake Hollywood’s Creative Foundation
Wall street Journal April 5, 2023
Bing AI Chat Expands to Android Apps With SwiftKey Integration
pcmag By Michael Kan April 6, 2023
The best AI art generators: DALL-E 2 and other fun alternatives to try
zdnet Written by Sabrina Ortiz, Associate Editor on April 6, 2023 (Archive)
Alibaba Unveils ChatGPT Rival With Chinese and English Capabilities
cnet Steven Musil April 10, 2023
A better ChatGPT app: Poe wants to build the universal AI messaging client / The
the verge David Pierce April 10, 2023
Generative AI will change the world—but won’t put creative jobs at risk
fast company by Ross Clugston 4/10/2023
Samsung Software Engineers Busted for Pasting Proprietary Code Into ChatGPT
pcmasg By Emily Dreibelbis April 7, 2023
How to write better ChatGPT prompts (and this applies to most other text-based AIs, too)
zdnet Written by David Gewirtz, April 10, 2023
Making Courses Resistant to ChatGPT Plagiarism
higheredjobs Advice & News | by Dr. Sarah Ruth Jacobs Thursday, March 30, 2023
OpenAI Gives ChatGPT a Revolutionary Upgrade
bloomburg by Brooke Sample April 8, 2023
ChatGPT made up its own language to expand its memory
digitaltrednds By Alan Truly April 11, 2023
Users who spot bugs in ChatGPT can now make up to $20,000
mashaable by Cecily Mauran April 11, 2023
Bard Who? Google Tackles Bing AI Problem With New 'Magi' Search Engine
pc mag y Stephanie Mlot April 17, 2023
A professor hired by OpenAI to test GPT-4 says there's 'significant risk' of people using it to do 'dangerous chemistry'
business insider Sawdah Bhaimiya Apr 14, 202
What is Auto-GPT? Everything to know about the next powerful AI tool
zdnet Written by Sabrina Ortiz, Associate Editor on April 14, 2023
Amazon CEO Andy Jassy Can’t Stop Talking About Generative A.I.
observer By Sissi Cao April 14, 2023
Chinese Company Ditches Human Creatives for ChatGPT-Style AI
pcmag by Marco Marcelline April 15, 2023
APA How to cite ChatGPT
From the APA : April 7, 2023 (Archive)
MLA How do I cite generative AI in MLA style?
Large, creative AI models will transform lives and labour markets
the Economist April 22, 2023
Home Innovation Artificial Intelligence The 5 biggest risks of generative AI, according to an expert
ZDNet by Sabrina Ortiz April 25, 2023
I tested Google Bard's new coding skills. It didn't go well
zdnet
Written by David Gewirtz, Senior Contributing Editor on April 24, 2023
Homeland Security Dept. Wants to Use AI to Screen Cargo, Find Drugs
pcmag by Michael Kan April 21, 2023
Homeland Security chief Mayorkas announces 90-day China sprint and AI task force The secretary of homeland security warned that China, AI, and cyber pose some of the biggest threats to the United States. BY CHRISTIAN VASQUEZ APRIL 21, 2023 U.S. Departmen
cyberscoop by Christian Vaquez April 21, 2023
Google Bard Can Now Help You Write Code in Over 20 Programming Languages
pcmag by Matthew Humphries April 21, 2023
Home Tech Wearables A team of ex-Apple employees wants to replace smartphones with this AI projector
zdnet by June Wan April 21, 2023
7 ways ChatGPT is already being used as an everyday cheat code
techradar by Hamish Hector April 10, 2023 (Archive)
DIA looks to launch ‘AI DIE’ — a new enterprise-level artificial intelligence hub
defence scoop by Brandi Vincent April 20, 2023
EXCLUSIVE: WATCH HUMANE’S WEARABLE AI PROJECTOR IN ACTION
inverse by Raymond Wong April 21, 2023
This new technology could blow away GPT-4 and everything like it
zdnet Written by Tiernan Ray, Contributing Writer on April 20, 2023
ChatGPT’s other risk: Oversharing confidential data
gcn By Susan Miller, APRIL 20, 2023
AWS Debuts 'Bedrock' Generative AI Tool
aws insider.net By David Ramel04/17/2023
Snapchat making AI chatbot similar to ChatGPT available to every user
guardian Alex Hern 19 Apr 2023
AI-generated music strikes chord and discord
axios Apr 28, 2023 Ina Fried
Former OpenAI Researcher: There’s a 50% Chance AI Ends in 'Catastrophe'
Decrypt Jose Antonio Lanz April 28, 2023
An AI Clone Fooled My Bank and Family
wsj april 29
The Latest AI Tech Needs AKey Contributor: You
wsj april 29
ChatGPT Doctors Will See You Now
wsj april 29
7 ChatGPT Alternatives Ready to Answer Your Burning Questions
pcmag by Chandra Steele April 24, 2023
Generative AI helps spot malicious open-source code
gcn By Chris Teale, April 26, 2023 (Archive)
A.I. might not replace you, but a person who uses A.I. could
fortune by Paolo Confind and Amber Burton April 25, 2023
This AI chatbot can sum up any PDF and answer any question you have about it
zdnet by Sabrina Ortiz April 26, 2023
OpenAI rolls out 'incognito mode' on ChatGPT
rueters By Jeffrey Dastin and Anna Tong April 25, 2023
PricewaterhouseCoopers to Pour $1 Billion Into Generative AI
wsj By Angus Loten April 26, 2023
OpenAI Now Lets You Turn Off Chat History for ChatGPT
pcmag by Michael Kan April 25, 2023
Leak: TikTok is launching generative AI avatars, and here’s what they look like
verge by Jay Peters April 25, 2023

May 2923

‘The Godfather of A.I.’ Leaves Google and Warns of Danger Ahead
new york times by Cade Metz May 1, 2023 (Archive)
Group identifies dozens of news sites created by AI chatbots: report
the hill BY LAUREN SFORZA - 05/01/23 3:55 PM ET
Man Gives All His Financial Info to AI and Lets It Make Decisions
futureism YESTERDAY by VICTOR TANGERMANN
AI chatbot outperforms human doctors in responding to patient questions
the hill BY JULIA MUELLER - 05/01/23 4:00 PM ET
NEXT GEN INVESTING Banking in the metaverse? A.I. could be about to change the way you manage your money
cnbc sophie Kiderlin May 2, 2023
The Morning After: The Godfather of AI leaves Google amid ethical concerns
engadget Mat Smith |May 2, 2023 7:15 AM (Archive)
Yes, someone used AI to create Aliens: The Musical — and it’s terrifying
digital trends By Blair Marnell May 1, 2023
OpenAI threatens legal action against the developer of a free GPT4-powered chatbot for sneaking past its paywall
pcmag By Jorge Jimenez published 1 day ago
5 Ways to Detect Text Written by ChatGPT and Other AI Tools
pcmag by Chandra Steele May 1, 2023 (Archive)
Home Innovation Artificial Intelligence AI might enable us to talk to animals soon. Here's how
zdnet Maria Diaz, Staff Writer on May 1, 2023
AI project targets hidden tax shelters
GCN Stephanie Kanowitz,MAY 1, 2023
OPM tests chatbot for retirement services
FCW Adam Mazmanian,MAY 1, 2023
'Half Pepperoni, Half Exorcist': Nightmarish AI-Generated Pizza Commercial Goes Viral On Social Media
entrapaneur BY EMILY RELLA • MAY 4, 2023 (archive)
AI offers new tools for making games, but developers worry about their jobs
verge By Shannon Liao May 4, 2023 (Archive)
Coming to DEF CON 31: Hacking AI models
cyberscoop BY ELIAS GROLL MAY 4, 2023
Home Innovation Artificial Intelligence The new AI-powered Bing is now open to everyone - with some serious upgrades
zdnet Written by Sabrina Ortiz, Associate Editor on May 4, 2023
Silo’s Creator Says Same-Day AI Movies Are Coming Soon
wired MARAH EAKINCULTUREMAY 3, 2023 7:00
Meta says ChatGPT-related malware is on the rise
reuters By Katie Paul may 3, 2023
Can AI Write a Funny ‘30 Rock’ Scene?
hollywood reporter BY LESLEY GOLDBERG MAY 3, 2023
The 6 biggest AI features to expect from Google I/O 2023
zdnet Written by Sabrina Ortiz, Associate Editor on May 3, 2023
5 Ways to Detect Text Written by ChatGPT and Other AI Tools
pcmag By Chandra Steele May 1, 2023
How Generative AI Will Enable Personalized Learning Experiences
campus technology Rhea Kelly04/25/23
National Science Foundation to establish 7 new AI research institutes
fedscoop BY JOHN HEWITT JONES MAY 4, 2023
Vice President Harris tells tech CEOs they have a moral responsibility to safeguard AI
engagdet Jon Fingas|@jonfingas|May 4, 2023 5:10 PM
Apple CEO Tim Cook says AI is "huge," but care is needed
axios may 4
Beware the AI Scams: Meta Blocks 1,000+ Links Tied to ChatGPT-Themed Malware
pcmag y Michael Kan May 3, 2023
A Doctor Published Several Research Papers With Breakneck Speed. ChatGPT Wrote Them All.
daily beast Tony Ho Tran May. 07, 2023
Agencies opting for bots see more efficiency—and resistance
GCN By Chris Teale, MAY 9, 2023
I asked ChatGPT, Bing, and Bard what worries them. Google's AI went Terminator on me
ZDNet Written by David Gewirtz, Senior Contributing Editor on May 8, 2023
Meet the New Google Search: AI-Generated Results Get Top Billing
pcmag y Michael Kan May 10, 2023
Rethinking democracy for the age of AI
cyberscoop BY BRUCE SCHNEIER MAY 10, 2023
Class.com Working On ChatGPT-Powered AI Teaching Assistant
THEJournalKristal Kuykendall04/18/23
AI Is an Ally: Saving Teachers Time with ChatGPT
THEJournal y Katie Novak05/11/23
Librarians as AI Prompt Engineers
April 27, 2023 By David Lee King
More than Half of Students Will Use AI Writing Tools Even if Prohibited by Their Institution
campustechnology Rhea Kelly04/26/23 (Archive)
AI 'prompt engineer' jobs can pay up to $375,000 a year and don't always require a background in tech
business insider Britney Nguyen May 1, 2023, 11:34 AM EDT
OpenAI's ChatGPT Finally Comes to Smartphones With iOS App
pcmag By Michael Kan May 18, 2023
Home Innovation Artificial Intelligence 6 harmful ways ChatGPT can be used by bad actors, according to a new study
zdnet Written by Sabrina Ortiz, Associate Editor on May 17, 2023 (Archive)
Lynne Parker proposes council to oversee and coordinate govt use of AI
fedscoop by Nihal Krishan May 16, 2023
What Are ChatGPT Plugins? The Next Phase of Conversational AI Is Here
pcmag by Emily Dreibelbis May 18, 2023 (Archive)
ChatGPT’s chief calls for new federal agency to regulate AI
federal times By Matt O'Brien May 16, 2023
Don’t Tell ChatGPT Anything You Wouldn’t Want to See on a Billboard
pcmag by Neil J. Rubenking May 15, 2023
Admissions Offices, Cautiously, Start Using AI
inside higher ed By Scott Jaschik May 15
Claude AI Can Digest 75,000 Words in Under a Minute
pcmag By Matthew Humphries May 12, 2023
Why Google's New ChatGPT-Style Search Could Kill the Websites That Feed It
pcmag by Emily Dreibelbis May 13, 2023
Why Google is reinventing the internet search Generative AI is here. Let’s hope we’re ready
vox By Sara Morrisonsara@vox.com Updated May 11, 2023, 5:14pm EDT
Apple Is the Latest Tech Firm to Block Employees From Using ChatGPT
pcmag by Michael Kan May 19, 2023 (Archive)
New AI research lets you click and drag images to manipulate them in seconds
verge by James Vincent May 19, 2023
Apple Ramps Up Hiring of Generative AI Experts
macrumors Monday May 22, 2023 by Hartley Charlton
Ice Cube Talks “Demonic” A.I. Music: “I Don’t Wanna Hear That Bullsh*t”
vibe by Marc Griffin MAY 22, 2023
Regulators dust off rule books to tackle generative AI like ChatGPT
rueters 4 minute readMay 22, 202312:54 PM EDTLast Updated 20 hours ago By Martin Coulter and Supantha Mukherjee
Education Department Issues Recommendations on AI
inside higher ed Susan D’Agostino May 25, 2023
Google’s ChatGPT rival just launched in search. Here’s how to try it
digital trends By Alex Blake
May 26, 2023
Professors Plan Summer AI Upskilling, With or Without Support
inside hergh er By Susan D’Agostino May 26, 2023
Google is starting to let users into its AI search experiment
theverge by David Pierce May 25, 2023
ChatGPT Plus is getting a massive upgrade — here’s what’s coming
toms guide By Malcolm McMillan last updated 6 days ago may 23
Carnegie Mellon Leads NSF AI Institute for Societal Decision Making
cmu may 6
Nvidia, Microsoft Open the Door to Running AI Programs on Windows PCs
pcmag By Michael Kan May 23, 2023
Windows AI Copilot Rolls Out in Preview Next Month, Plug-Ins Coming to Bing AI
pcmag by Michael Muchmore May 23, 2023
ChatGPT Adding Bing as Its Default Search Experience
pcmag by Michael Muchmore May 23, 2023
DOD aims to leverage AI and automation in records management
fcw By Chris Riotta, may 23
The Future of Libraries: AI and Machine Learning
Fordham Library News By Hannah Herrlich, Emerging Technologies Librari May 23
OpenAI is exploring collective decisions on AI, like Wikipedia entries
reuters by Jeffrey Dastin and Anna Tong May 22, 2023
Adobe adds generative AI to Photoshop
NBC News May 23, 2023, 9:12 AM EDT
By Jacob Ward, Xavier Rangel and Sara Ruberg
Home Innovation Artificial Intelligence Microsoft just supercharged ChatGPT with Bing's AI-powered search
zdnet Written by Sabrina Ortiz, Associate Editor on May 23, 2023

June 2023

Brace for the AI “tidal wave”
chronicile of higher ed by Goldie Blumenstyk, June 20, 2023
Biden meeting with technology leaders, academics on AI regulation
fedscoop by Madison Alder June 20, 2023
The AI voice-generating platform that shocked the world is getting an update to fight abuse
zdnet en by Sabrina Ortiz June 20, 2023
Conversation With ChatGPT Was Enough to Develop Part of a CPU
tom's hardware Francisco Pires June17, 2023
Mercedes-Benz Takes ChatGPT for a Spin With Infotainment System Integration
pcmag Michael Kan June 15, 2023
Nurses Clash With AI Over Patient Care
wall street journal LISA BANNON June 16, 2023
What is the EU AI Act?
European Union Ai Act
Blueprint for an AI Bill of Rights
The White HouseThe Office of Science and Technology Policy (OSTP)
Everything You Need to Know About the EU's Game-Changing AI Legislation
pcmag Emily Dreibelbis June 14, 2023
How ChatGPT and Generative AI Could Foster Science Denial
gizmodo Gale Sinatra and Barbara K. Hofer, The ConversationJune 11, 2023
Scientists claim >99 percent identification rate of ChatGPT content
the register Katyanna Quach
Thu 8 Jun 2023 // 06:27 UTC
USC Initiative to Integrate AI and Digital Literacy Skills for All Students
campus technology Kate Lucariello05/16/23
5 ways to explore the use of generative AI at work
zdnet by Mark Samuels, June 12, 2023
Generative AI Tools: A Petting Zoo
From an A.I. webinar
A.I. Search Tools Collection
from perltrees
AI Policy Statements/Guidance, documentation and Deterction
from perltrees
Classroom Policies for AI Generative Tools
from AI Webinar
How Easy Is It to Fool A.I.-Detection Tools?
New York Times by Stuart A. Thompson and Tiffany Hsu June 28, 2023
In Milan, Putting an A.I. Travel Adviser to the Test
New York Times By Ceylan Yeginsu June 14, 2023
OpenAI Sued for Using 'Stolen' Data, Violating Your Privacy With ChatGPT
pcmag By Michael Kan June 29, 2023
The ChatGPT Commencement Address
inside higher ed By Josh Moody June 29, 2023
AI-Generated Images of Titan Submersible Debris Hit Twitter, Facebook
pcmag by Michael Kan June 23, 2023
NIST launches public working group aimed at generative AI
fedscoop BECCA HEILWEIL
JUNE 22, 2023