Artificial Intelligence: Article Archive January-March 2023
Resources for research and use of AI tools Chatgpt, Dall-E and others
January 2023
- Nearly a Third of White-Collar Workers Have Tried ChatGPT or Other AI Programs, According to a New Surveytime.com by Jo Constantz / Bloomberg January 19, 2023
- Workers want more AI to get rid of their office busywork, says Microsoft surveyZDNet.com by Liam Tung January. 27, 2023
- OpenAI is hiring developers to make ChatGPT better at codingZDNet.com by Stephanie Condon January 30, 2023
- AI has caused a renaissance of tech industry R&D, says Meta's chief AI scientistZDNet.com Written by Tiernan Ray, Contributing Writer on Jan. 30, 2023
- ChatGPT bug temporarily exposes AI chat histories to other usersthe verge By JON PORTER / @jonporty
(Archive)
- Why Writers Know Using ChatGPT is a Bad IdeaFrom PC Magazine by Jill Duffy, January 25, 2023
- Will ChatGPT Exacerbate Cheating on College Writing?: Probable Less Than You ThinkPsychology Today by Liz Stillwaggon Swan PhD, January 9, 2023
- Shameless Realtors are Already Grinding out Property Listings with ChatGptFrom Futerism Byte by NOOR AL-SIBAI January 30,2023
- Meet MathGPT: a Chatbot Tutor Built Specific to a Math TextbookTHE Journal by Kristal Kuykendall January 1, 2023
(Archive) - Performance of ChatGPT on USMLE: Potential for AI-Assisted Medical Education Using Large Language ModelsFrom MedrXiv. December 21, 2022. This article is a preprint and has not been peer-reviewed.
- Schools Shouldn't Ban Access to ChatGPTFrom Time.com. By Joanne Lipman and Rebecca Distler, January 11, 2023
- With ChatGPT, Teachers Can Plan Lessons, Write Emails, and More. What's the Catch?From Education Week by Madeline Will, January 11, 2023
- Watch Out, Software Engineers: ChatGPT Is Now Finding, Fixing Bugs in CodePCmag.com by Emily Dreibelbis January 27, 2023 (Archive)
- ChatGPT: 30 incredible ways to use the AI-powered chatbotFrom Interesting Engineering by Christopher McFadden
Feb 01, 2023 - Microsoft Research Proposes BioGPT: A Domain-Specific Generative Transformer Language Model Pre-Trained on Large-Scale Biomedical LiteratureFrom Marktechpost.com by Khushboo Gupta January 31, 2023
- Predicting dementia from spontaneous speech using large language modelsPublished in PLoS by Felix Agbavor,Hualou Liang December 22, 2022
- Performance of ChatGPT on USMLE: Potential for AI-Assisted Medical Education Using Large Language ModelsFrom MedrXiv. December 21, 2022. This article is a preprint and has not been peer-reviewed.
- ChatGPT has arrived – and nothing has changedTHE Campus 1/20/2023 (Archive)
- ChatGPT listed as author on research papersFrom nature.com January 22, 2023
- Chatting and Cheating: Ensuring academic integrity in the era of ChatGPTFrom EdArXiv.org (Archive)
- Is ChatGPT Writing Your Students' Homework?From THE Journal article by David Nagel, January 17, 2023 (Archive)
- With ChatGPT’s Arrival, Should Educators Be Mourning the End of the College EssayFrom Boston University BU Today by Naomi Caselli, Christine Dobbs and Derry Wijaya, January 20, 2023
- Performance of ChatGPT on USMLEWe evaluated the performance of a large language model called ChatGPT on the United States Medical 83 Licensing Exam (USMLE) (Archive)
- The End of Online Exam Integrity(Archive)
- Death of the Short-Form Physics EssayFrom arXiv open access research (Archive)
- State of the Art Review of large Generative AIFrom arXiv open access research (Archive)
- ChatGPT Is Smart Enough to (Barely) Pass an MBA ExamPC Magazine by Michael Kan, January 25, 2023
- Why Banning ChatGPT in Class is a MistakeCampus Technology by Thomas Mennalla, January 18, 2023
- Ethical College Admissions: ‘I Am Not a Robot’Inside Higher Ed by Jim Jump, January, 9, 2023
February 2023
- Microsoft rolls out ChatGPT-powered Teams PremiumFrom Reuters February 1, 2023
- Bard is going to destroy online searchBusnessInsider Adam Rogers, Feb 9, 2023,
- Job Candidates Are "Cheating" With ChatGPT, and It's FabulousWhy not use every tool available?inc. magazine by SUZANNE LUCAS, February 8, 2023
- ChatGPT Passes Google Coding Interview for Level 3 Engineer With $183K Salarypcmag.com by Emily Dreibelbis
February 1, 2023 - 7 ways to use ChatGPT at work to boost your productivity, make your job easier, and save a ton of timeFrom Business Insider by Jacob Zinkula and Aaron Mok February 4, 2023,
- Google Reveals Bard, Its Answer to ChatGPTpcmag.com by Emily Dreibelbis February 6, 2023
- Microsoft and Google are about to Open an AI battleFrom The Verge by Tom Warren February 7, 2023
- Vanderbilt apologizes for AI-written email following Michigan State shootingBy Edscoop staff FEBRUARY 24, 2023
- ChatGPT Rewrote My Dating Profile. Look What Happenedcnet.com by Erin Carson February. 21, 2023
- AI-created images lose U.S. copyrights in test for new technologyreuters By Blake Brittain February 22, 2023
- Are You Prepared to Be Interviewed by an AI?Harvard Busiess sReview by Zahira Jaser and Dimitra Petrakaki
February 07, 2023 - More Workers Are Using ChatGPT, and They're Not Telling Their Bossespcmag.com By Michael Kan Senior Reporter February 8, 2023
- Google shares lose $100 billion after company’s AI chatbot makes an error during democnn By Catherine Thorbecke, February 9, 2023
- The Real Threat From ChatGPT Isn't AI...It's Centaurspcmag.com By Brian Westover February 13, 2023
- I asked ChatGPT to write a WordPress plugin I needed. It did, in less than 5 minutesThis is fascinating, awesome, and scary all at the same time. From ZDNet.com Written by David Gewirtz, Senior Contributing Editor February 6, 2023
- Harnessing the power of GPT-3 in scientific researchFrom VentureBeat.com by Ekta Dang, February 8, 2023 1
- Bing's AI Chat Marks a New Web Era: Please Don't Kill Itpcmag.com By Michael Muchmore February 23, 2023
- ChatGPT productivity hacks: Five ways to use chatbots to make your life easierHome Innovation AI & Robotics
ChatGPT productivity hacks: Five ways to use chatbots to make your life easier
You can harness ChatGPT's advanced capabilities to help out with simple, everyday tasks. Here's how. ZDNet.com by Sabrina Ortiz, Associate Editor on Feb. 13, 2023 - Now ChatGPT is coming to your web browser, tooOpera is gaining a new sidebar where it will put a number of generative AI services, while Microsoft's Edge is also incorporating AI features. ZDNet.com by Liam Tung, Contributing Writer on Feb. 13, 2023
- CEO of Stability AI, an OpenAI rival, reportedly told employees they were 'all going to die in 2023' as competition heats upBusiness Insider by Britney Nguyen Feb 3, 2023
- How will AI chatbots like ChatGPT affect higher education?University of Rochester February 27, 2023
- Faculty split on using ChatGPT as university prepares to confront AI boomTufts University "The Tufts Daily" by Ethan Steinberg February 16, 2023
- Faculty split on using ChatGPT as university prepares to confront AI boomTufts University "The Tufts Daily" by Ethan Steinberg February 16, 2023 (Archive)
- How will AI chatbots like ChatGPT affect higher education?University of Rochester February 27, 2023 (Archive)
- Uunversity of Bufalo Faculty, administrators weigh in on ChatGPTUBNow Univeristy of Bufalo news (Archive)
- baccalaureate ChatGPT allowed in International Baccalaureate essaysThe Guardian by Dan Milmo Global technology editor February 27, 2023
- Students can quote ChatGPT in essays as long as they do not pass the work off as their own, international qualification body saysbusiness insider by Beatrice Nolan February 27, 2023
- Mediocrity Is Over: The ChatGPT Threat To Average Instructional Designforbes.com by David James February 24, 2023
(Archive) - Chatbot + AI Webinaryoutube recording of webinar co-hosted with the Chronicle of Higher Education discussing how chatbots and AI are being used in higher education. February 18, 2023
(Archive) - AI Bots Can Seem Sentient. Students Need Guardrails.Inside Higher Ed by Susan D'Agostino February 22, 2023
- Generative AI and Copyright: An Interview with Jonathan BandAssociation of Research Libraries by Judy Ruttenberg | February 8, 2023 (Archive)
- As OpenAI’s ChatGPT Scores a C+ at Law School, Educators Wonder What’s NextThe 74 is a nonprofit news organization covering America’s education system from early childhood through college and career.by By Greg Toppo February 7, 2023
- ChatGPT created a lesson plan on the American Civil War, but educators who looked at it warned the subject might be more than AI can handlebusinessinsider.com Jordan Hart and Sam Tabahriti February 16, 2023
- AI Bots Can Seem Sentient. Students Need Guardrails.Inside Higher Ed by Susan D'Agostino February 22, 2023 (Archive)
- Chatbot + AI Webinaryoutube recording of webinar co-hosted with the Chronicle of Higher Education discussing how chatbots and AI are being used in higher education. February 18, 2023
- Mediocrity Is Over: The ChatGPT Threat To Average Instructional Designforbes.com by David James February 24, 2023
- Students can quote ChatGPT in essays as long as they do not pass the work off as their own, international qualification body saysbusiness insider by Beatrice Nolan February 27, 2023 (Archive)
- Hands On With Microsoft's ChatGPT-Powered Bing: A New Kind of SearchFRom pcmag.com by Michael Kan February 8, 2023
- We asked ChatGPT and Bing 20 different questions and compared their responses — and found Bing did better on a few key topicsBusinessinsider by Aaron Mok and Sindhu Sundar Feb 12, 2023,
- ChatGPT vs. Google Search: In Head-to-Head Battle, Which One Is Smarter?pcmag.com By Eric Griffith February 14, 2023 (Archive)
- Google is losing controlFrom Techcrunch.com by Devin Coldewey February 10, 2023
- China's First ChatGPT Rival Crashes a Few Hours After Launchingpcmag.com By Matthew Humphries February 21, 2023
- Home Innovation Artificial Intelligence I asked Microsoft's new Bing with ChatGPT about Microsoft and oh, it had opinionsZDNet.com by Chris Matyszczyk February. 19, 2023
(Archive) - AI Chatbot Spontaneously Develops A Theory of MindDiscover magazine The Physics arXiv Blog February 17, 2023
- Home Innovation Artificial Intelligence ChatGPT performs like a 9-year-old child in 'theory of mind' testZDNet.com by Liam Tung February. 16, 2023
- ChatGPT launches boom in AI-written e-books on AmazonReuters February 21, 2013 By Greg Bensinger
(Archive) - I asked ChatGPT to help me plan a vacation. Here’s what happened nextCNBC.com by Monica Pitrelli February 26, 2023
- What Elon Musk, Bill Gates, and 12 other business leaders think about AI tools like ChatGPTbusiness insider Aaron Mok February 26, 2023
- ChatGPT Solved A Fortnite Mystery ChatGPT is at it once again.gamespot.com by Luis Joshua Gutierrez February 27, 2023
- baccalaureate ChatGPT allowed in International Baccalaureate essaysThe Guardian by Dan Milmo Global technology editor February 27, 2023 (Archive)
- ChatGPT lies about scientific results, needs open-source alternatives, say researchersZDnet.com by Tiernan Ray, Contributing Writer February 15, 2023
- ChatGPT created a lesson plan on the American Civil War, but educators who looked at it warned the subject might be more than AI can handlebusinessinsider.com Jordan Hart and Sam Tabahriti February 16, 2023 (Archive)
- As OpenAI’s ChatGPT Scores a C+ at Law School, Educators Wonder What’s NextThe 74 is a nonprofit news organization covering America’s education system from early childhood through college and career.by By Greg Toppo February 7, 2023
- Generative AI and Copyright: An Interview with Jonathan BandAssociation of Research Libraries by Judy Ruttenberg | February 8, 2023
- Here are the 10 roles that AI is most likely to replace.From Business Insider by Aaron Mok and Jacob Zinkula Feb 2, 2023
- ChatGPT’s ‘jailbreak’ tries to make the A.I. break its own rules, or dieFrom CNBC.com by Rohan Goswami February 6, 2023
- Write a Positive Poem About Trump? ChatGPT Gets Ensnared in Culture WarsFrom pcmag.com. ChatGPT prompts scrutiny over how the AI program answers politically sensitive topics, with some critics accusing it of bias, by Michael Kan February 2, 2023
- What Is ChatGPT? And Is It Going to Take Your Job?From pcmag.com by Chandra Steele February 1, 2023
- Foreign Correspondent: American DeepfakeThis program with reporter Hamish Macdonald looks into a new generation of deepfake videos that have Hollywood excited...and Washington worried.
From Films on Demand
(Archive) - Father of internet warns: Don’t rush investments into A.I. just because ChatGPT is ‘really cool’CNBC by Jennifer Elias February 14, 2023
- Home Business Companies Microsoft The future of programming? GitHub's OpenAI-powered developer tool has arrivedZDNet.com by Liam Tung, February. 15, 2023 (Archive)
- ChatGPT launches boom in AI-written e-books on AmazonReuters February 21, 2013 By Greg Bensinger
- Bosses to Coders Are Experimenting With AI ProgramsWall Street Journal by Sarah Krouse and Alexandra Bruell February 21, 2023 (Archive)
- Facebook Parent, Snap Embrace AI Technology That Powers ChatGPT ChatbotWall Street Journal Meghan Bobrowsky February. 27, 2023
- Generative AI's money gameaxios.com by Scott Rosenberg February 27, 2023
- Investors are going nuts for ChatGPT-ish artificial intelligenceThe Economist February 28, 2023
March 2023
- ‘ChatGPT said I did not exist’: how artists and writers are fighting back against AIThe Guardian Vanessa Thorpe Arts and Media Correspondent
Sat 18 Mar 2023 12.00 EDT - AI Is Impacting Education, but the Best Is Yet to Comeinside education by Ray Schroeder
March 15, 2023 - I’m an ER doctor: Here’s what I found when I asked ChatGPT to diagnose my patientsfastcompany BY JOSHUA TAMAYO-SARVER5 MINUTE READ March 13,2023
Launched in November 1995 by Alan Webber and Bill Taylor, two former Harvard Business Review editors, Fast Company magazine was founded on a single premise: A global revolution was changing business, and business was changing the world. Discarding the old rules of business, Fast Company set out to chronicle how changing companies create and compete, to highlight new business practices, and to showcase the teams and individuals who are inventing the future and reinventing business. - Microsoft subsidiary Nuance is using GPT-4 for a new physician notes appgeekwire BY CHARLOTTE SCHUBERT on March 20, 2023 at 10:24 am
- ChatGPT bug temporarily exposes AI chat histories to other usersthe verge By JON PORTER / @jonporty
- STANFORD SCIENTISTS PRETTY MUCH CLONED OPENAI'S GPT FOR A MEASLY $600futureism byNOOR AL-SIBAI
/ ARTIFICIA March 19, 2023 - With DALL-E Integration, AI-Powered Bing Can Also Generate Imagespcmag y Michael Kan
March 21, 2023
(Opens in a new window) - Google Opens Bard ChatGPT Competitor for Public Testing: Here's How to Get Itpcmag By Emily Dreibelbis
Updated March 21, 2023
(Opens in a new window) - made ChatGPT talk to itself - and the results weren’t what I expectedtechradar By Christian Guyton March 27, 2023
- Bing’s showing ‘AI-generated stories’ in some search resultsthe verge By MITCHELL CLARK
Mar 24, 2023, - ChatGPT and Higher Education: Initial Prevalence and Areas of Interesteducause George Veletsianos, Royce Kimmons and Fanny Bondah
Published:
Wednesday, March 15, 2023
Columns:
E - Is GPT-4 Worth the Subscription? Here’s What You Should Knowwired REECE ROGERS march 24,2023
- And the Oscar Goes to, ChatGPT? Don't Bet on It, Writers Guild of America Sayspcmag By Stephanie Mlot
Stephanie Mlot
Contributing Writer
My Experience
B.A. in Journalism & Public Relations with minor in Communications Media from Indiana University of Pennsylvania (IUP)
READ FULL BIO
March 23, 2023
(Opens in a new window) - OpenAI: Sorry, ChatGPT Bug Leaked Payment Info to Other Userspcmag
By Michael Kan
Michael Kan
Senior Reporter
My Experience
I've been with PCMag since October 2017, covering a wide range of topics, including consumer electronics, cybersecurity, social media, networking, and gaming. Prior to working at PCMag, I was a foreign correspondent in Beijing for over five years, covering the tech scene in Asia.
READ FULL BIO
March 24, 2023 - ChatGPT vs. Google Bard vs. Bing: Which AI Chatbot Gives the Best Answers?pcmag
By Emily Dreibelbis
March 23, 202 (Archive) - I tested Google Bard. It was surprising -- in a bad wayzdnet Written by Sabrina Ortiz, Associate Editor on March 22, 2023
- The best AI chatbots: ChatGPT and other cutting-edge alternatives to tryzdnet Written by Sabrina Ortiz, Associate Editor on March 24, 2023
- ChatGPT vs. Bing Chat: Which AI chatbot should you use?zdnet Written by Sabrina Ortiz, Associate Editor on March 23, 2023
- OpenAI connects ChatGPT to the internettechcrunch Kyle Wiggers@kyle_l_wiggers / 1:35 PM EDT•March 23, 2023
- In absence of University-wide guidance, Penn professors vary approaches to AI in academicsThe Daily Pennsylvanian In absence of University-wide guidance, Penn professors vary approaches to AI in academics
By Ben Binday March 28, 2023 - AI Seen as Doing Work Of Many Professionswall street journal March 29, 2023
- Elon Musk and Tech Leaders Urge Pause in AI Boom, Citing 'Profound Risks'cnet.com Sareena Dayaram headshot
Sareena Dayaram
March 29, 2023 (Archive) - AI Seen as Doing Work Of Many Professionswall street journal March 29, 2023 (Archive)
- ChatGPT and Higher Education: Initial Prevalence and Areas of Interesteducause.com by George Veletsianos, Royce Kimmons and Fanny Bondah March 15, 2023
- How to make ChatGPT provide sources and citationszdnet David Gewirtz March 13, 2023
- ChatGPT and Fake CitationsDuke University Libraries News by Aaron Welborn March 9, 2023
- ChatGPT Libeled Me. Can I Sue?wall street journal March 17, 2023
- Duolingo's Max Subscription Uses GPT-4 for AI-Powered Language Learningpcmag Stephanie Mlot March 17, 2023
- 50% of librarians do not believe students who use AI are cheatinglibrary technology guides press release from Helper Systems March 13, 2023
- Teachers and students warm up to ChatGPTaxios.com Jennifer A. Kingson March 6, 2023
- Can Artificial intelligence replicate our souls? ChatGPT raising questions| Ohio State profColumbus Dispatch by Jessica A. Johnsont March 7, 2023
- Teachers are using ChatGPT more than students. Here's howZDNet.com by Sabrina Ortiz March 7, 2023
- When ChatGPT Reads Roald DahlCharles Schifano blog March 3, 2023
- Up to 80% of US jobs could be impacted by ChatGPTStudy by Pamela Mishkin, University of Pennsylvania March 27, 2023