Artificial Intelligence: Article Archive January-March 2024
Resources for research and use of AI tools Chatgpt, Dall-E and others
January 2024
- AI Is Dominating CES 2024. You Can Blame ChatGPT for Thatcnet by Imad Khan January 11, 2024 (Archive)
- Caltech Science Exchange - Artificial IntellegenceAt Caltech, scientists and scholars are working at the leading edge of AI research, expanding the boundaries of its capabilities and exploring its impacts on society. Discover what defines artificial intelligence, how it is developed and deployed, and what the field holds for the future. (Archive)
- Comedian George Carlin's Daughter Slams AI-Generated Comedy Special Imitating Her Late Fatherign by Yan Dinsdale: January 11, 2024 (Archive)
- Thousands of AI experts are torn about what they’ve created, new study findsvox By Kelsey Piper Jan 10, 2024 (Archive)
- New Nonprofit Launches to ‘Certify’ Copyright-Friendly AI PracticesPublishers Weekly By Andrew Albanese January 17, 2024
- OpenAI launches GPT Store but revenue sharing is still to comeventurebeat by Carl Franzen January 10, 2024
- The Best AI Chatbots for 2024pc mag By Emily Dreibelbis & Jill Duffy January 8, 2024
(Archive) - From AI to Wild Displays: The 4 Biggest Trends From CES 2024pc mag By Iyaz Akhtar January 10, 2024
(Archive) - New Amazon Study Reveals How AI Will Transform the Workplace in Five Yearscampus technology b Kate Lucariello January 2, 2024
- AI Front and Center in Samsung’s 2024 TV Lineupsound and vision by Bob Ankosko January 8, 2024 (Archive)
- Bipartisan bill protects artists’ and individuals’ likenesses from AI duplicationNextGov FCW By Alexandra Kelley January 10, 2024
- DOD’s AI adoption efforts are starting to pay off, Pentagon official saysNextGov/FCW by Edward Graham January 10, 2024
(Arfchive) - Researchers develop AI-driven machine-checking method for verifying software codTechXplor by University of Massachusetts Amherst January 4, 2024 (Archive)
- AI watermarking could be exploited by bad actors to spread misinformation. But experts say the tech still must be adopted quicklyfedscoop By Ninihal Krishan January 3, 2024 (Archive)
- Roberts: Legal field will be ‘significantly affected by AI’nextgov/fcw By Alexandra Kelley January 2, 2024 (Archive)
- Microsoft to Unveil AI-Focused Surface Laptops at CESextreme trech By Ryan Whitwam December 29, 2023
(Archive) - Android Auto Will Summarize Your Noisy Text Threads With AIpcmag By Josh Hendrickson
December 29, 2023 - Camera Companies Fight AI-Generated Images With 'Verify' Watermark Techpcmag by Emily Price January 1, 2024
- Pioneering AI-Driven Instructional Design in Small College Settingscampus technology by Gopu Kiron January 16, 2024
- Arizona State University Partners with OpenAI to Explore Gen AI Potential in Educationcampus technology by Rhea Kelly January 18, 2024 (Archive)
- OpenAI Bans Developer for Creating Bot Representing a Presidential Hopefulpcmag by Emily Price January 21, 2024
- Amazon Eyes June Launch for Paid Version of Alexapcmag by Emily Price January 22, 2024 (Archive)
- How tech professionals can survive and thrive at work in the time of AIzdnet by Joe McKendrick January 22, 2024 (Archive)
- 4 AI Imperatives for Higher Education in 2024campus technology by Rhea Kelly January 22, 2024 (Archive)
- ED Awards $7.6 Million Grant to Georgia State U and Partner Schools to Study AI Chatbots and Student Outcomescampus technology by y Kate Lucariello January 29, 2024 (Archive)
- WHO Paper Raises Concerns about Multimodal Gen AI Modelscampus technology By Gladys Rama January 25, 2024
- This new iPhone app fuses AI with web search, saving you time and energyzdnet by Lance Whitney January 29, 2024
- DISA plots 'concierge AI' to help staffersnextgov/fcw by Edward Graham January 26, 2024
DISA is Defense Information Systems Agency - Arc Search combines browser, search engine, and AI into something new and differentthe verge By David Pierce January 28, 2024 (Archive)
- OpenAI announces ChatGPT price changes, embedding models and API updatesgeeky gadgets by Julian Horsey January 26, 2024
- The State of AI in EducationCampus Technology by Rhea Kelly January 31, 2024 (Archive)
- CDC eyeing ‘model cards’ to detail generative AI tool informationfedscoop by Madison Alder January 31, 2024
- The future of AI: What to expect in the next 5 yearstechtarget by Michael Bennett, Northeastern University Published: 25 Jan 2024 (Archive)
- The State of AI in Educationcampus technology by Rhea Kelly January 31, 2024
- Guidelines for Artificial Intelligence in Medicine: Literature Review and Content Analysis of FrameworksPaper from PubMed National Library of Medicine. Published August 2022 (ARchive)
February 2024
- A Guide to Uncovering the Best Channel To Message Hard To Reach Target Audiences Using ChatGPTDo you feel like you’re playing a rigged game of hide and seek as you try to figure out how Super Library Marketing February 5, 2024. to reach target audiences. This is where robots can be helpful. You can use ChatGPT to figure out the channels your target audience uses.(Archive)
- Kurzweil Claims That the Singularity Will Happen by 2045 Get ready for humanity 2.0.futureism by CHRISTIANNA REEDY February 5, 2024
(Archive) - Taking Back Control Of The SingularityForbes by Calum Chace "The AI guy" (Archive)
- Now we know what OpenAI’s superalignment team has been up toMIT Technology Review by Will Douglas December 14, 2023
- What is ‘AI alignment’? Silicon Valley’s favourite way to think about AI safety misses the real issuesTeh Conversation by Aaron J. Snoswell July 11, 2023 (Archive)
- AI Act: Shaping Europe’s digital futureEU Commission Act overview (Archive)
- Final draft (2024)EU Artificial Intelligence Act January 21, 2024
- European Publishers Praise New EU AI LawPW by Ed Nawotka February 2, 2024 (Archive)
- Survey: 59% of AI Early Adopters Accelerating Its Use, But 40% Lag Behindcampus technology by Kate Lucariello February 5, 2024 (Archive)
- D2L Expands Generative AI Beta Programcampus technology by Kate Lucariello February 5, 2024
D2L has expanded its generative AI program with the ability to generate practice and quiz questions based on current course content. (Archive) - First Neuralink Brain-Computer Interface Implanted in a Personpsychology today by Cami Rosso February 1, 2024
(Archive) - Want to work in AI? How to pivot your career in 5 stepszdnet by David Gewirtz February 7, 2024 (Archive)
- You can try Google's new 'AI Premium Plan' for free. Here's how (and why you'll want to)zdnet by Sabrina Ortiz February 8, 2024 (Archive)
- ChatGPT Rakes In More Monthly Users Than Netflix, and These Other AI Tools Aren't Far Behindpcmag by Emily Dreibelbis February 6, 2024 (Archive)
- How risky is ChatGPT? Depends which federal agency you askfedscoop by Madison Alder and Rebecca Heilweil February 5, 2024 (Archive)
- Got ChatGPT Plus? How to Create Your Own Custom GPT Chatbotpcmag by Lance Whitney February 5, 2024
(Archive) - Google’s Gemini assistant is a fantastic and frustrating glimpse of the AI futuretheVerge by Allison Johnson February 9, 2024
(Archive) - Professors Cautious of Tools to Detect AI-Generated Writinginsidehighered by Lauren Coffey February 9, 2024
- 3 AI Imperatives for Schools in 2024THE Journal by Rhea Kelly February 6, 2024 (Archive)
- GPT-3 transforms chemical researchphys.org by Ecole Polytechnique Federale de Lausanne February 6, 2024 (Archive)
- AI breakthrough enables scientists to read Roman scrolls once buried by Mount Vesuviuszdnet by Erin Carson February 6, 2024 (Archive)
- Google Renames Bard, Introduces Tiered Models and Pricingcampus technology by Gladys Rama Februlary 9, 2024
- Court Trims Authors’ Copyright Lawsuit Against Open AIPW Bb Andrew Albanese February 14, 2024 (Archive)
- Apple Keyframer generates AI animation from a still image and text prompt9TO5Mac by Ben Lovejoy February 14, 2024 (Archive)
- AI Is Starting to Threaten White-Collar Jobs. Few Industries Are Immune.Wall Street Journal by Ray A. Smith February 12, 2024 (Archive)
- How AI Has Begun Changing University Roles, ResponsibilitiesInside Higher Ed by Lauren Coffey February 13, 2024
(Archive) - How to Detect Text Written by ChatGPT and Other AI Toolspcmag by Chandra Steele February 8, 2024 (Archive)
- Legal ethics in the age of AI: Insights from the Brooklyn Bar Association and Kaylin WhittinghamThe Brooklyn Eagle, through Newsbank by: Robert Abruzzese February 10, 2024
(Archive) - University at Albany to Install First IBM Prototype AI Hardware in the World on a Higher Education Campuscampus technology by Kate Lucariello February 14, 2024 (Archive)
- My AI Boyfriend Is Boring Me to Deathpcmag by Emily Dreibelbis February 6, 2024 (Archive)
- What Is Copilot? Microsoft's AI Assistant Explainedpcmag by Michael Muchmore February 13, 2024 (Archive)
- State-backed hackers are experimenting with OpenAI modelscyberscoop by Elias Groll February 14, 2024 (Archive)
- MITRE researched air traffic language AI tool for FAA, documents showfedscoop by Rebecca Heilweil February 14, 2024
(Archive) - Hands On With Nvidia's Chat With RTX: Leverage Your GeForce Card for Local AIpcmag by Michael Justin Allen Sexton
February 13, 2024 (Archive) - Senate lawmakers look to set standards for educating America’s AI workforcenextgov/fcw by Alexandra Kelley February 14, 2024 (Archive)
- SchoolAI and Utah School District Partner to Bring AI Into All ClassroomsTHE Journal by Kate Lucariello February 13, 2024 (Archive)
- ChatGPT Piloting Selective 'Memory' Featurecampus technology by Gladys Rama February 15, 2024 (Archive)
- Microsoft, OpenAI Shut Down State-Sponsored Hackers Using OpenAI LLMscampus technology By Gladys Rama February 15, 2024 (Archive)
- Lawmakers urge VA to tread carefully with AIgovernment executive by Dward Graham February 21, 2024
- OPM announces survey to analyze AI in government jobsgovernment executive by Erich Wagner February 20, 2024
- House leaders announce new, bipartisan AI task forcefedscoop by Caroline Nihill February 20, 2024 (Archive)
- ChatGPT-val: Sailor claims AI helped write annual performance evalmilitary times by Zamone Perez February 20, 2024
- OpenAI Unleashes Realistic Text-to-Video 'Sora' AIpcmag by Kate Irwin February 15, 2024
- FTC cracks down on AI impersonation scammersnextgov/fcw by Alexandra Kelley February 15, 2024
(Archive) - NCTM Releases New Position Statement on Artificial Intelligence and Mathematics TeachingNational Council of Teachers of Mathematics February 14, 2024
- ARTIFICIAL INTELLIGENCE IN MATHEMATICAL MODELING National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine. 1991. Research Directions in Computational Mechanics. Washington, DC: The National Academies Press. https://doi.org/10.17226/1909.Research Directions in Computational Mechanics, National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine. 1991 Chapter 4 (Archive)
- Galaxy AI Coming to Samsung S23, Z Flip, Z Fold 5, and Galaxy Tabletspcmag by Iyaz Akhtar February 22, 2024
(Archive) - Commerce opens comments on regulating certain influential AI modelsfedscoop by Rebecca Heilweil February 21, 2024
(Archive) - CEO SAYS LATER THIS YEAR, YOUR AI WILL BE ABLE TO ATTEND MEETINGS FOR YOUfuturism the byte by Maggie Harrison Dupre 2/20/2024
(Archive) - Creating Guidelines for the Use of Gen AI Across Campuscampus technology by Rhea Kelly February 21, 2024
(Archive) - Survey Suggests Higher Ed Institutions Are Not Ready for Generative AIcampus technology by Kate Lucariello February 22, 2024 (Archive)
- Want generative AI? Just ‘pilot, scale, adopt,’ says McKinseystatescoop by Sophia Fox-Sowell February 22, 2024 (Archive)
- Why ChatGPT answered queries in gibberish on Tuesdayzdnet by Steven Vaughan-Nichols February 22, 2024 (Archive)
- The White House weighs in on the AI copyright debate for the first timebusiness insider by Kali Hays February 1, 2024
- Music labels are still suing the internet companies. That's a warning for the AI industry.business insider by Peter Kafka February 21, 2024
(Archive) - 16-State Commission on Artificial Intelligence and Education Establishedcampus technology By Kate Lucariello February 21, 2024 (Archive)
- Teaching Tip: Navigating AI in the Classroominside higher ed Ashley Mowreader February 6, 2024
(Archive) - OPM outlines incentives to attract, retain federal AI workforcefedscoop by Madison Alder February 27, 2024
- OPM gives agencies an AI hiring playbooKnextgov/FCW by Natalie Alms February 27, 2024
- Police open investigation after students report AI-generated nudes to school districtabc News by ByYi-Jin Yu February 26, 2024
- Microsoft made a $16M investment in Mistral AItechcrunch by Romain Dillet February 27, 2024
(Archive) - Google.org, USDR to aid state, local governments on generative AIstatescoop by Keely Quinlan February 23, 2024
(Archive) - Windows Is Getting Its Own Magic Erase AI Toolpcmag by Josh Hendrickson February 23, 2024 (Archive)
- Google Translate vs. ChatGPT: Which One Is the Best Language Translator?pcmag by Emily Dreibelbis February 23, 2024
(Archive) - Stop saying that ChatGPT “hallucinates”BigThink by Adam Frank February 23, 2024 (Archive)
- Using AI to fight fraud is paying off, Treasury saysgovernment executive by Natalie Alms February 29, 2024
March 2024
- Nvidia CEO Jensen Huang says AI could pass most human tests in 5 yearsfoxbusiness by Eric Revell FOXBusiness March 3, 2024
- New Malware Worm Can Poison ChatGPT, Gemini-Powered Assistantspcmag by Kate Irwin March 1, 2024
- Amazon-Backed Anthropic Launches Claude 3 AI Models to Rival ChatGPTpcmag By Kate Irwin March 5, 2024 (Archive)
- How to Use Microsoft's Copilot AI, and 10 Things to Try Right Awaypcmag By Lance Whitney March 7, 2024 (Archive)
- Doing Your Taxes? Steer Clear of These AI Scamspcmag by Kim Key March 14, 2024 (Archive)
- Google DeepMind co-founder joins Microsoft as CEO of its new AI divisiontehverge by Emma Roth March 19, 2024
(Archive) - How to Use Google Gemini AI: 14 Ways It Can Make Your Life Easierpcmag by Lance Whitney March 19, 2024 (Archive)
- DHS unveils new AI roadmapNextGov/FCW by Alexandra Kelley March 18, 2024
(Archive) - Newest S&P 500 Entrant Makes AI SplashWall Street Journal March 18, 2024
Once under the radar, server maker Super Micro Computer has become a go-to supplier for companies and governments eager to participate in the AI rush. Runaway sales of its servers filled with Nvidia’s AI chips are projected to double the company’s revenue this year and have leapfrogged it ahead of some of its biggest competitors. - Is AI Ruining Etsy? Loosening Definition of 'Handmade' Frustrates Artists, Buyerspcmag by Emily Dreibelbis March 15, 2024
(Archive) - Apple Buys DarwinAI Ahead of Major Generative AI Updates Coming in iOS 18MacRumors by Juli Clover March 14, 2024 (Archive)
- OpenAI Made Video Clips Good Enough to Freak Us OutWall Street Journal March 14, 2024
- Europe Gets Tough On AI With New LawWall Street Journal March 14, 2024 (Archive)
- UN passes first standalone AI resolutionfedscoop by Caroline Nihill March 21, 2024 (Archive)
- San Jose, Calif., forms nationwide government AI coalitionstatescoop by Skylar Rispens March 21, 2024 (Archive)
- Pace University to Launch New AI LabCampus Technology by Kate Lucariello March 26, 2024
- The Future of Postsecondary Education in the Age of AIOpen access from Educational Sciences published by MDPI, Basil Switzerland Volume 24 Issue 3 March 2024 (Archive)
- How state lawmakers, election officials are fighting AI deepfakesstatescoop by Sophia Fox-Sowell March 26, 2024 (Archive)
- Google's new AI search results promotes sites pushing malware, scamsbleeping computer By Mayank Parmar
March 25, 2024 (Archive) - White House unveils AI governance policy focused on risks, transparencyfedscoop by Madison Alder March 28, 2024 (Archive)
- AI-powered video creation at scaleHygen.com March 2024
- Congressional offices experimenting with generative AI, though widespread adoption appears limitedfedscoop by Madison Alder and Caroline Nihill March 26, 2024 (Archive)
- YouTube Forces Video Creators to Disclose AI-Generated Contentpcmag by Michael Kan March 18, 2024 (Archive)
- OpenAI's ChatGPT Store Is Flooded With Bots That Impersonate Celebritiespcmag by Kate Irwin March 20, 2024
- First Human to Receive Neuralink Implant Says It Lets Him Play Civilization VIpcmag by Michael Kan March 20, 2024 (Archive)
- NYC's Business Chatbot Is Telling Users to Break the Lawpcmag by Emily Price March 31, 2024
- Don't Get Duped! Here's How to Spot AI-Generated Video Footagepcmag by Chandra Steele March 28, 2024
(Archive) - FBI: AI-Generated Child Porn Is Illegalpcmag By Michael Kan March 29, 2024
(Archive) - OpenAI Debuts Voice-Cloning Tech, But Won't Release It Widelypcmag by Michael Kan March 29, 2024